We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as it's sold on the website” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Qodwa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Qodwa to your Saves list
Riad Qodwa
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   route 2012 Sidi Abdallah Ghiat Km 12 | Route du Golf royale, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as it's sold on the website”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is run by (what seems to be) 3 young men who were friendly however communication was difficult as only one of them spoke English. I don't expect everyone to speak English but there also seemed to be poor communication between the staff. Messages did not seem to be passed on.

The shuttle was sold to us as being flexible and regular. This was not the case and therefore (in 3 days) we found ourselves 'stuck' in the hotel a couple of times with nothing around for miles. This would not have been a problem if there was a varied menu or if there had been some entertainment however the one dinner we had at the hotel took 1hr to arrive (it was only a toasted sandwich!) and there no soft drinks that night so we were obligated to eat a sandwich and drink water....hardly living it up!

The shuttle was the main issue as it ran at awkward times which meant that you either had 4-5hrs in the main square and nothing to do for dinner or you spent the day and evening in the square and come back at a sobering time of 9.30pm. Taxi's were an option however they get pricey to use everyday and especially as the hotel was sold as having a good shuttle into square.

We did try and arrange a night excursion however the transport did not arrive. It appears that they had tried to contact the hotel 3 times and when on the 3rd time someone finally answered (pushed by us) the transport was too far to collect us. Which leads me back to the lack of communication.

The pool looked great from far however close up, there was mould and grime all around the edge of the floor. I did not get in!

I have to say that the young men do work hard and did endeavour to meet all our requests however everything needed to be requested rather just being included in the service. It became tiresome. I would definitely not rate this hotel at 4* and sorry to say but will not be recommending or returning there.

Room Tip: Room 12 was nice...showers don't have much pressure. Downstairs rooms as bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    46
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
42
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

What you make of this place really depends on what you are looking for. If you are coming for a relaxing holiday close to but definitely outside Marrakesh (25 minutes out by infrequent shuttle) to chill by the pool (not in it - see below!) then this is the place for you. The building is beautiful, the rooms are big and the garden is an amazing place to have breakfast every morning. You can eat whenever you want at the Riad and the staff are friendly.

But, if you really want to experience all the city has to offer for you then think again. The last shuttle bus leaves at 9.30pm so enjoying dinner in Marrakesh and seeing the famous square after sun down is difficult and you are extremely restricted by bus times (e.g. we weren't able to spend the day in the city, come back to relax and shower and go back in the evening unless we shelled out 200 dirham each way (ca. £13) for a taxi. The riad is 25 minutes out of Marrakesh so doing this journey 4 times a day really does take up a lot of your holiday time (and can be quite stressful thinking when the shuttle bus leaves), so much so we asked to be transferred to their central hotel. Also, the pool area is beautiful, but the pool is filthy (green grime all over the floor and no chlorine and not clean water). Finally, our driver was sleeping in the car park when we arrived so wasn't at the airport - make sure you have there e-mail address/phone number and contact them if nobody is there!

So, what you make of this place really depends on what you are looking for. A week sitting by the pool in beautiful surroundings - go for it, a week to see Marrakesh and enjoy what the city has to offer, or use the pool - forget about it!

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

''Wauw'', that was the first thing my mom and I said when we arrived at Riad Qodwa.
Everything was perfect... the room, the lounge, the food, the service from the staff.
We'v stayed here for one week, to short, It was all very easy going, just African style. You can order food every time of the day, from 7 til 23 o'clock. The shuttle service to the airport and to Marrakech was good, everything was possible, in consultation with the staff, they where all very helpfull.

In short: I felt like a princes in a palace with only nice people around me... just really enjoyed the stay @Riad Qodwa!

I would recommend it to everyone.

Shokran to everybody of the staff :)

Anna....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I went with 3 other people, we had an amazing week! Met amazing people & are returning again! We went in August 2013. The food, service & people are amazing. You are able to wake up & have breakfast whenever you want, we sometimes woke up at 11am, and had a brunch! The shuttle bus is also a great help, as you don't need to worry about hiring a car!!
This is a perfect holiday if your after pure relaxation & exploring. If your after clubbing & party, its not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the sister Riad Dubai in Marrakesh Kasbah District but came out on a free transfer for a day by the pool. Staff were very helpful, transfer was free and they gave us towels to use.

We set up by the pool which was a good size although inevitably there was a bit of sand on the pool floor. Sun-loungers were comfy and we had no trouble getting a couple of parasols to keep the sun at bay. Pool water looked clean enough and I got the wiff of chlorine so am assuming it was being properly maintained.

The reception area and surrounding public rooms looked clean and well maintained but I didn't see a bedroom so can't comment on those. This is not 5 star accommodation but it is so nice, so authentic and so friendly it more than makes up for the stars.

We had a lunch which was good value and well presented - again staff courteous & helpful.

It took about 25 minutes to get from our Marrakesh Riad to this one and it seemed pretty much in the middle of nowhere with not much around it. The free transfer to Marrakesh I guess allowed you to dip in and out of the city as you wanted. The shuttle seemed to be running pretty often so I wouldn't see that as a problem.

Nice to get out of the heat of the city for a while - highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

How charming and absolutely delightful it was at the Riad Qodwa during our week's holiday in March this year. Every consideration and kindness was shown to us.The Riad Qodwa is a beautifully furnished Moroccan house situated in exquisite gardens with abundant wildlife. The food was excellent and the service was superb. We recommend the Riad Qodwa for its comfortable accommodation and tranquility, its friendly staff and its large swimming pool area.
P&Psussex.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Atlas Mountains provide a peaceful atmosphere. Rooms with a view of the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

You will not go wrong with Riad Qodwa. Thanks to Omar, Said and the team for looking after us. We stayed for 7 nights and found the place to be relaxing quiet and comfortable. The breakfast is good, the a la carte is varied and the staff will look after you very well. I recommend that you book excursions through the hotel if you are a novice visitor to Marrakeche as you will be given enough info and helpfull guidance. The pool is excellent and a welcome relief from the hot daytime temperatures. The Riad is about 25 mins from the centre not a problem with the shuttle bus service. The accomodation is basic and comfortable, the decoration is modest in an authentic way and the ground floor rooms are huge. I recomend that you go on the roof terrrace and star gaze at shooting stars.....You will also get a chance to see the breathtaking scenery of the Atlas mountains from the Riad.

Room Tip: Ground Floor for the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Qodwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Qodwa

Address: route 2012 Sidi Abdallah Ghiat Km 12 | Route du Golf royale, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Qodwa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad has 4 suites of 55sqm with private room and of 6 rooms of 25sqm. All suites and rooms have air conditioning, TV and dressing room. 4 lounges, swimming pool, 500sqm of terrace and solarium. VIP area, shop presents Moroccan crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Qodwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Qodwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.