We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
roof terrace with unique view of Mamounia gardens
roof terrace with unique view of Mamounia gardens
roof terrace with unique view of Mamounia gardens
bedrooom Orientale
open plan living space on the 1st floor
covered sun lounge on the roof
Black Bedroom Balthazar
Marrakech
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coffeefan...
Warminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful Haven amidst the mayhem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The Riad is found down a maze of small streets. As soon as you go through the front door you feel great peace and tranquility after the frenetic pace of life throughout Marrakech. The roof terrace is a wonderful space to relax and have meals. The bedrooms are all on the ground floor and have no windows but are arranged around the court yard which has a sliding roof. As a party of all girls we felt very safe and secure within the Riad walls, in fact we felt really much safer than we thought we would in Marrakech in general. The bedrooms were comfortable with open plan bathrooms which don't allow for much privacy! bedroom 3 would have been rather small for 2 people to share comfortably. All bedrooms have air con as does the living area on the first floor. Only disappointment was the lack of wifi, we managed to get a very intermittent weak signal but not good enough if you had to work whilst on holiday or need to be glued to your iPad!

Samira prepared us a very nice meal on our arrival evening, but we self catered most of the time which worked well for us. Semira Or Moona came in each morning to make us breakfast on the roof terrace which was great. Trips with Khalid can be arranged by Semira and it's definitely worth doing one or 2 to get a taste of life away from the hectic city.

All in all a great week and a relaxing haven at a reasonable price. Just remember, if you get a cab ask if the meter works before you get in - it's the only way not to be ripped off! The trip to the local carrefor supermarket only takes 5 or so minutes and shouldn't cost more than 20 dirhams.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Peaceful & cool, overlooking gardens of Marmounia Hotel
Liked least: No Wifi.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2013
Many thanks for your comments we hope to see you in the future. For those who may be workaholics you will be pleased to know that the wifi issue has now been resolved
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
pipertech
northumberland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Conveniently located for exploring Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

A neat little riad some 10 minutes walk from the main square. Tastefully decorated with an excellent roof terrace to enjoy the morning breakfasts overlooking the Mamounia gardens and Atlas Mountains.

We were welcomed by Samira on arrival with a lovely tagine meal which we repeated a week later with a larger feast which she served us. Samira and the owner, Adrienne, were extremely helpful advising on tours, restaurants, a hammam and some medicine!

The ensuite bedrooms were nice and cool - just to warn that the ensuites are not closed off from the bedrooms (but this is fairly normal and not an issue for us). The riad as a whole was well equipped with all your needs

The courtyard provided an interesting haven for birds and a tranquil musical backdrop - and can be roofed over at night.

Locating the riad on the first couple of days can be a challenge from the side street so make a mental note of the route especially for late night returns. The side street has the benefit of the King's private residence so it was well guarded and gave us peace of mind.

A couple of minor issues - there were some workmen rebuilding the riad opposite and started 8 a.m. every morning till dark, but we were out sightseeing most days. They were working at a fair speed so I expect all will be finished soon and therefore not an issue for the next riad visitors. Secondly, the alley light near the entrance provides a convenient spot for a group of local lads to hang out - 'smoking', chatting and playing loud music to the early hours. They weren't threatening and quite friendly and when asked to leave would go but return later. Something the owner does need to address but didn't mar the holiday.

We would certainly recommend the riad once these issues are sorted.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Rooftop terrace
Liked least: Youths in the alleyway
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Katravel
Harrogate
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tranquil riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Very convenient location, excellent service, stylish accommodation add up to a superb rental property. Arrangements and housekeeping were exemplary. Local shops and services added interest as well as convenience. We especially enjoyed a trip by taxi to the mountains, a hammam experience and cocktails at La Mamounia.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The rooftop terrace
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Raphael l
Paris, France
1 review
“A Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

We spent 7 nights at Riad dar Rabia.From the moment the door opened we were thrilled with our holiday home the photos do not do it justice, this place is a little paradise in Marrakesh. The house is really thoughtfully designed, beautifully decorated bedrooms a homely sitting area and a roof terrace that took our breath away with the view. The roof is the heart of this place, so peaceful and private. The location of the property is excellent, it is not too far from the square and other attractions. Samira was extremely helpful and recommended a great place for my birthday celebration called Comptoir, it was a really special night. She also organised our excursion to the Atlas Mountains that we thoroughly enjoyed with a very interesting guide. Only downside was the haggling in the square particularly with the henna tatoo ladies we found this a bit oppressive but all in all people were friendly and helpful.

Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
candi089
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Second trip just as good as first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Thank you for a wonderful holiday at Riad Dar Rabia. The location of the house is great easy walking distance to the square and the souks.The house itself is fantastic very original design, beautifully decorated and well kept. It was very hot and we much appreciated the covered salon area on the roof terrace, it was so quiet, great to relax and unwind and get away from the noise and the heat of the city. Samira looked after us very well, serving tasty breakfasts. We loved the Moroccan dinners that she prepared and ate in twice during the week. Hassan was very helpful and gave us tips on places to visit, he organised a trip to the Atlas Mountains for the day which we thoroughly enjoyed. We certainly would come back again but next time at a cooler time of the year!

4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
culturevu...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in the midst of chaos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed the 3 nights we spent at the Riad. Sameera is always polite and helpful; she cooked a delicious meal in the comfort of our own Riad (bonus when you're tired from sightseeing all day!) In addition Sameera prepared lovely breakfasts and kept the Riad really clean. The rooms were very comfortable although be aware if you're a family,there are no doors between the bedroom and bathroom! The view from the roof terrace to the Mamounia gardens was stunning, and the terrace is a great place to unwind at the end of a busy day. It was fantastic that all you could hear from the terrace was the birds chirping, despite being in the heart of Marrakech. The Riad is walking distance from the Jamaa el Fina and Kotoubia, however, there are several busy roads to cross (think mad driving and mopeds from all directions).
The only drawbacks were the lack of windows in the bedrooms and being so near a busy road.

4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
fmace2014
Rennes, France
1 review
“très beau riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
Google Translation

Nous avons passé une très bonne semaine au riad dar rabia. Le riad est spacieux et magnifique. Il est placé a 15 petites minutes de la place jemaa el fna a pied.
Très bon contact avec Adrienne, la propriétaire.

Traveling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$166
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Adrienne A
44 07940524775
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Dec 2007
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 34 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing