We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant du Red House

Restaurant du Red House
Av el yarmouk, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
+212 5244-37040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 602 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $41
Cuisines: African, Moroccan, International, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Recommeded by Gault Millau, the restaurant of THE RED HOUSE invite you to enjoy some truly fine dishes, the very best Moroccan cuisine.You can also enjoy the traditional and authenticity decor. Every night, you can appreciate the show of belly dancer and life musicians. The restaurant is open from 11:00 to 15:00 and from 19:00 to 23:30.
Bushey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Beautiful setting. Beautifully presented food and absolutely delicious. The brief show was enjoyable.
Small menu though.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    61
    28
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dining in a Moroccan Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Spacious authentic restaurant with the usual (in Marrakech) three course menu but we could switch between the French and the Moroccan alternatives. Highly recommended Tangia (like Mother used to make it) and the croustillants are very tasty.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant - very Yummy and one to one service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It was a treat for my birthday and my husband had asked our hotel to recommend a nice restaurant. The Red House was nominated. We arrived on a Sunday early afternoon to find we were the only ones in the restaurant. We thought the decor was lovely very Morrocan, but slightly apprehensive no one else was there! Especially as we had been advised to book. But it was fabulous...we were left in peace but found our plates discreetly whisked away. We had food from al la carte menu and had a choice of western or Morrocan or a mix if we wished. Delicious. And to top it all...at end of our meal...a birthday cake/gateaux was produced with a candle on it - made that morning by chef just for me....and they sang Happy Birthday to me in French. I was really touched. Was about £100 for 3 x courses and wine/and g&Ts/ bottled water. A memoral afternoon. Thank you

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great treat...a complete contrast to the medina.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

For around £40 pp (3 course including water coffee/pastry but without wine).. you can pretend to be king or queen of the land in a spectacular palace style room..with elaborate decor to rival any of the city tourist attractions. The food was fabulous.. some unexpected ingredients (such as prawns in the moroccan mixed salads) so do ask about the dishes before placing an order. You can choose from a Moroccan or International set menu. . But you can combine. All waiting staff were friendly and knowledgeable. A belly dancer usually begins her show at half 9.. not our kind of thing.. so we went just as she began. For me it was a one off.. during our week stay.. the most expensive meal but good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vada, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Try the tanjia, really delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was taken there by a taxi driver, and, although at the first sight I was skeptical, this place has revealed to serve one of the finest meals I had in Marrakech. I particularly enjoyed the tanjia, some beef stewed in a pot and served with some delicious sauce. The appetizer with goat cheese and the dessert were also really tasty. Unfortunately, I entered the restaurant when the belly-dancing was about to be over…

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant du Red House also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant du Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant du Red House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.