We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and spectacular decor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant du Red House

Restaurant du Red House
Av el yarmouk, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
+212 5244-37040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 610 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $28 - $41
Cuisines: African, Moroccan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Recommeded by Gault Millau, the restaurant of THE RED HOUSE invite you to enjoy some truly fine dishes, the very best Moroccan cuisine.You can also enjoy the traditional and authenticity decor. Every night, you can appreciate the show of belly dancer and life musicians. The restaurant is open from 11:00 to 15:00 and from 19:00 to 23:30.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food and spectacular decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I had a real feast here as part of a large group of professors. The meat with plums, starters, and desert were all especially delicious. The atmosphere is also beautiful, and there is a belly dancer. A great place for a big splurge.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    47
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An excellent surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Suggested by the Hotel El Andalous, it apperas as an excellente surprise. Well located, nice hospitality, small but good menu. The service excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic restaurant, food was delicious and decor was amazing. Shame it wasn't a bit busier to add atmosphere but we have a lovely evening all the same. There is live music and a belly dancer. It was a set menu which was about £35 per head for two courses. Would recommend a visit to this restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming old fashioned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

In a superb , but rather dark dining salon, we ate excellent pastillas.
The hotel seems totally outdated
Rather expensive

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Han: " it felt like our private palace an we were the King and Queen"

Mart: Just a little out of the way, this was well worth the visit. The walk up to the building and the decor within really set the tone for what to expect. The decor is intricate and fascinating, the staff welcoming and professional. We were presented with free appetisers on arrival which I thought was a very nice touch. There is an aire of formality to the place but, having read other reviews, we came expecting this. The tables are sparse with plenty of space so don't expect to be thrust into a bustling environment. Here you will hear This is for someone who wants to actually talk to their dinner companion. There was gently performed Moroccan guitar music performed throughout - save for a brief but enjoyable performance by the belly dancer.

The food was absolutely delicious. We only managed two courses from the Moroccan set menu ( pigeon then veal/lamb tagine ) which was absolutely delicious - but there is also an international menu. The Moroccan wine we had was light and complemented the food well - and my glass was NEVER empty.

It was close to a perfect evening, save for our waiter choosing to remind us as we paid, that service was not included. This didn't need to be said and came off a little cheap. We were planning to tip well for what was a fantastic evening and did so - but this is our choice...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant du Red House also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant du Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant du Red House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.