We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant du Red House

Restaurant du Red House
Av el yarmouk, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
+212 5244-37040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 537 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $28 - $41
Cuisines: African, Moroccan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Recommeded by Gault Millau, the restaurant of THE RED HOUSE invite you to enjoy some truly fine dishes, the very best Moroccan cuisine.You can also enjoy the traditional and authenticity decor. Every night, you can appreciate the show of belly dancer and life musicians. The restaurant is open from 11:00 to 15:00 and from 19:00 to 23:30.
Essex, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic restaurant, food was delicious and decor was amazing. Shame it wasn't a bit busier to add atmosphere but we have a lovely evening all the same. There is live music and a belly dancer. It was a set menu which was about £35 per head for two courses. Would recommend a visit to this restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    128
    35
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming old fashioned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

In a superb , but rather dark dining salon, we ate excellent pastillas.
The hotel seems totally outdated
Rather expensive

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Han: " it felt like our private palace an we were the King and Queen"

Mart: Just a little out of the way, this was well worth the visit. The walk up to the building and the decor within really set the tone for what to expect. The decor is intricate and fascinating, the staff welcoming and professional. We were presented with free appetisers on arrival which I thought was a very nice touch. There is an aire of formality to the place but, having read other reviews, we came expecting this. The tables are sparse with plenty of space so don't expect to be thrust into a bustling environment. Here you will hear This is for someone who wants to actually talk to their dinner companion. There was gently performed Moroccan guitar music performed throughout - save for a brief but enjoyable performance by the belly dancer.

The food was absolutely delicious. We only managed two courses from the Moroccan set menu ( pigeon then veal/lamb tagine ) which was absolutely delicious - but there is also an international menu. The Moroccan wine we had was light and complemented the food well - and my glass was NEVER empty.

It was close to a perfect evening, save for our waiter choosing to remind us as we paid, that service was not included. This didn't need to be said and came off a little cheap. We were planning to tip well for what was a fantastic evening and did so - but this is our choice...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A real feel of Morrocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I read the previous reviews and would say that if you are prepared for a more formal night out in a wonderful location then this should be on your list of things to do. Tucked away from the madness of the main city the entrance to the wonderfully decorated interior is one of welcoming calmness. As we entered the dining room we were shown to our table in a seclued area where we relaxed to the sound of traditional music being played live. The menu was a mix of local and international dishes, we all had various tagines which were excellent and sampled some of the local red wine which held up well. The highight of the evening was the belly dancer who danced for a short period of time which topped off a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“a bit formal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

we had a good meal here but it was all too oppressive and formal, the decor and the service and the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant du Red House also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant du Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant du Red House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.