We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real feel of Morrocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant du Red House

Restaurant du Red House
Av el yarmouk, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
+212 5244-37040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $28 - $41
Cuisines: African, Moroccan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Recommeded by Gault Millau, the restaurant of THE RED HOUSE invite you to enjoy some truly fine dishes, the very best Moroccan cuisine.You can also enjoy the traditional and authenticity decor. Every night, you can appreciate the show of belly dancer and life musicians. The restaurant is open from 11:00 to 15:00 and from 19:00 to 23:30.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A real feel of Morrocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I read the previous reviews and would say that if you are prepared for a more formal night out in a wonderful location then this should be on your list of things to do. Tucked away from the madness of the main city the entrance to the wonderfully decorated interior is one of welcoming calmness. As we entered the dining room we were shown to our table in a seclued area where we relaxed to the sound of traditional music being played live. The menu was a mix of local and international dishes, we all had various tagines which were excellent and sampled some of the local red wine which held up well. The highight of the evening was the belly dancer who danced for a short period of time which topped off a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    45
    21
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“a bit formal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

we had a good meal here but it was all too oppressive and formal, the decor and the service and the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful building but that's where it ends!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Not sure how this place warrants its excellent reviews on TA. True, the building is fabulous but the food is terrible (mains both cold on arrival) Service is sloppy! This place is not a patch on Al Fassia and charges double the price. Really sorry to be negative about The Red House but we were extremely disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinecrest, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Having dinner at Restaurant du Red House is an experience by itself. You really feel like dining in a real PALACE at a fairly reasonable price.
We even went back for breakfast to take some pictures of that lovely "Riad". The Manager was kind enough to allow us to visit some of the rooms. Now we know where we will stay next time we go to Marrakech. We could have have a 2 bedrooms suite for 4 people for what it costs us to stay at the Sofitel Palais Imperial.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent set menu, musician and belly dancer to boot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Eating out in Marrakesh isn't cheap and this is no exception, but at least the food is well presented, tastes good and doesn't give you tummy upsets! The amuse bouche at the start brought a smile to our faces. Staff are brilliant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant du Red House also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant du Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant du Red House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.