We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit formal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant du Red House

Restaurant du Red House
Av el yarmouk, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
+212 5244-37040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 533 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $28 - $41
Cuisines: African, Moroccan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Recommeded by Gault Millau, the restaurant of THE RED HOUSE invite you to enjoy some truly fine dishes, the very best Moroccan cuisine.You can also enjoy the traditional and authenticity decor. Every night, you can appreciate the show of belly dancer and life musicians. The restaurant is open from 11:00 to 15:00 and from 19:00 to 23:30.
london
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“a bit formal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

we had a good meal here but it was all too oppressive and formal, the decor and the service and the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    128
    35
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful building but that's where it ends!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Not sure how this place warrants its excellent reviews on TA. True, the building is fabulous but the food is terrible (mains both cold on arrival) Service is sloppy! This place is not a patch on Al Fassia and charges double the price. Really sorry to be negative about The Red House but we were extremely disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinecrest, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Having dinner at Restaurant du Red House is an experience by itself. You really feel like dining in a real PALACE at a fairly reasonable price.
We even went back for breakfast to take some pictures of that lovely "Riad". The Manager was kind enough to allow us to visit some of the rooms. Now we know where we will stay next time we go to Marrakech. We could have have a 2 bedrooms suite for 4 people for what it costs us to stay at the Sofitel Palais Imperial.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent set menu, musician and belly dancer to boot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Eating out in Marrakesh isn't cheap and this is no exception, but at least the food is well presented, tastes good and doesn't give you tummy upsets! The amuse bouche at the start brought a smile to our faces. Staff are brilliant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent surroundings and food to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Great Moroccan food and hospitality. The salad selection to start followed by veal and chicken tagines were the best we had in Marrakech. The live entertainment was icing on the cake. Reasonably priced for Marrakech and a restaurant we would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant du Red House also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant du Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant du Red House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.