We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Francine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant du Red House

Restaurant du Red House
Av el yarmouk, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
+212 5244-37040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $41
Cuisines: African, Moroccan, International, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Recommeded by Gault Millau, the restaurant of THE RED HOUSE invite you to enjoy some truly fine dishes, the very best Moroccan cuisine.You can also enjoy the traditional and authenticity decor. Every night, you can appreciate the show of belly dancer and life musicians. The restaurant is open from 11:00 to 15:00 and from 19:00 to 23:30.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Francine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful building, good service BUT very average food. We were actually quite disapointed as no real ambiance a sweet old man playing the guitar but it was completely lost on the enourmous room, the belly dancer was sweet but was very young and as on her own it was hard for her to get an atmosphere going. Not the most memoranle night of our stay which was a shame as it was the most expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    61
    28
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I booked this resturant on line before we arrived for my Husbands birthday. I mentioned it was his birthday and would they do a special dessert.
We arrived and had a lovely table in the corner, the decor is beautiful, we both ordered from the Marakech menu, pigeon parcels were tasty and I had the mixed sea food and meat parcels also very nice. For our main meal we had lamb tagine with prunes and cous cous it was so tender and delicious.
The manager came and asked if I had per booked on line and if I found it easy.
They asked us for our dessert choice and I was wondering if they had forgotten the birthday.
However the musician started to play and all the staff came out singing with a wonderful chocolate cake, which they told us was a gift ! It really was good.
My husband had a lovely birthday and we would definitely return when next in Marrakech

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great traditional Moroccan restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We discovered the Red House through a Trip Advisor search for a special valentines day dinner and we were definitely not disappointed! After a fun filled but exhausting day in the souks we arrived more than an hour early for our reservation but were warmly welcomed and led to a comfortable living room where we were invited to have a pre-dinner drink and I was presented with a red rose. The staff were all very friendly and even lit a fire for us and invited us to play the piano or guitar if we wished -luckily for them we declined! The dining room was impressive with ornate tiling and authentic Moroccan decor. We chose the Moroccan themed set menu at 400 dirhams per person which included a traditional pigeon stuffed pastilla, chicken and lamb tagines, cous cous etc and were brought a little seafood mousse as a taster in the shape of a heart in celebration of st valentine. The food was all delicious and the Moroccan Cabernet Sauvignon rosé wine was a perfect compliment and not too expensive. Rashid and the rest of the waiting staff were all very attentive and happy to spend time talking to us during the evening. Live music was played throughout the evening with a belly dancer appearing later on for a brief spell. All in all we had a great evening and would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Tardis like building - looks nothing form the outside, but inside wow! Moroccan menu and simply the best tajine in Marrakech (possibly Morocco but I need to do some more research!). Not to be missed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward heath, United kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I had a fabulous evening at the Red House. We had booked a table because of the reviews in TA and we were not disappointed. On alighting from the taxi, the staff opened the main doors at the top of the stairs to greet us. We were welcome by two of them, and by beautiful live music which did not stop all evening.
We came in earlier than their opening time, but every one made us feel most welcome. They respected our privacy, whilst being always present when needed. On our request, they explained to us that the place was actually a family home which had been left as per the original design from when the family lived there. The vast three main restaurant rooms are richly adorned with traditional mosaic and stuco, with stunning chandeliers. Everything from the tiled floor to the painted ceilings is an enchantment. In the back are more westernized rooms (one of them being the guest house reception).
The food was delicious; there was a Morrocan menu and an international one, each with a choice of two or three courses. They were both set menus; we chose from the local food and it was excellent. We also enjoyed a lovely local wine, and a nice tea with biscuits and cake to finish it off.
It was a really special evening and we felt lucky to be waited on by such warm, friendly and professional staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant du Red House also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant du Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant du Red House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.