We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay in Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laksiba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Laksiba
Save
You added Riad Laksiba to your Saves list
16 (bis 5) Derb Kadi | Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Stay in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I recently visited Marrakech on business and was delighted to stay at Riad Laksiba! It was the perfect setting for my first time in Morocco, and played a highly integral part in making it one of my favorite business trips ever!

To say it was just a great place to stay is to downplay Riad Laksiba’s role in a true Moroccan experience. Not only was home authentic and beautiful, but the staff was professional, friendly, and helped shape my visit into an amazing memory. The owner Simon and his family graciously welcomed me into their home and were a wealth of knowledge of the culture and area.

Riad Laksiba is the perfect retreat to come home to after a long day exploring Marrakech and all that it has to offer. Sit by the pool and enjoy the sounds of running water and birds chirping, or head up to the terrace for some sun; either way it is peaceful, serene, and just the perfect place to stay when visiting Morocco!

Dave Wester

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
37
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with a group of friends for 5 nights, earlier this month... We hired exclusive use of the riad and all had a fantastic and memorable time, it really was a home away from home. We had booked the whole riad, although, I would not hesitate to return and book individual rooms in it's B&B capacity, should I be travelling with a smaller group next time!

The riad is just inside the walls of the Kasbah district of the medina, therefore, greatly located for easily grabbing cabs (and horses and carriages!) to and from the riad which was a great bonus.

The riad is impressive with an old world charm, somehow managing to be both cosy and spacious at the same time. I organised the trip and my friends were all very impressed with my find!

The staff at the riad were the icing on the cake for us, Adil,
Abdo and Abdelhamid were all lovely guys, brilliantly friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble... and thank you too, to the beautiful Nadia and Raja for their wonderful breakfasts, they have ruined french toast/eggy bread forever for me though as any I have now will never be as good as theirs! ... And talking of cake, I was presented with a beautiful birthday cake for my 40th birthday celebration which was a fantastic surprise! :)

We ate at the riad on our first night, which was great and a perfect first night decision after our travels! We had 2 vegetarians in the group and a veggie/coeliac, nothing was a problem and the guys even helped us by writing out an explanation in Arabic for my coeliac friend to take with her to restaurants.

Booking the Riad was such an easy process, Simon the owner is English and is, again, brilliantly friendly and helpful and quick to respond to emails and all queries.

I could go on and on about how much we enjoyed our stay at Riad Laksiba... I would recommend... in fact I would INSIST that you stay at Riad Laksiba if planning a trip to Marrakech! NOT TO BE MISSED! :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

On our arrival, the owner Simon gave a very friendly welcome.He is very knowledgeable and very happy to help, he is aided by a team who are also very helpful and approachable. We felt that we were able to get the most out of our time in Marrakech ,as the team were always ready to give information and ideas. They even showed us how to approach the Medina without getting too lost, too often! We get the impression they would have come and found us if we we’d needed rescuing!
The decor of the Riad is beautiful and guaranteed not to disappoint if you are looking for a traditional riad experience.
The location is easy to find being close to one of the gates and is a good base to explore from. It is also in a quiet and safe section of the Medina.
Our room was on the ground floor and was comfortable with its own bathroom and a good shower . The beds were made and the room cleaned daily.
Breakfast was generous and always served with relaxed, friendly efficiency . It included eggs, pancakes, yoghurt , wonderful fresh croissants and the most delicious freshly squeezed orange juice.
The roof has an excellent terrace complete with Berber tent and resident tortoises.
All in all we highly recommend Riad Laksiba as a home from home in Marrakech.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Actually, I haven't been to any other riads, so I can't be sure, but it is hard to imagine more friendly and helpful owners and staff than those at Riad Laksiba. The owner, Simon, is very knowledgeable about Marrakech and speaks Arabic well, so has integrated very effectively into the local community. He and his staff made sure we got our bearings straightaway, gave us good advice for when out and about, and organised a visit to a hammam and a couple of day trips for us. The riad is relatively small, but is tastefully and comfortably furnished - all in the local style. Although it is not specifically geared up for children, our three spent a lot of time feeding and playing with the two tortoises that live on the roof terrace. Overall, we had a great time in Marrakech (or youngest, aged 12, said it was her best holiday ever) and would definitely go back to Raid Laksiba again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I would just like to take this chance to thank you all for your service and especially Abdul who was amazing, he took care of us and he made us feel safe. It is a nightmare looking after 9 girls but he did a great job and we couldn’t be any more thankful, you’re Villa is amazing and we felt at home the maids were great when it came to breakfast… we went through a lot of eggs! (You may want to consider buying chickens!) I think most importantly the service was personal, it was catered for us only and that’s what made it so special & unique. Having a Adil and the Taxi guys arranging and looking after us is what made us feel safe and we trusted them the most because they made us feel comfortable and that’s what you need a place where you have no idea. So what I am trying to say here is that we hope to see you all again soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Celebrated my wife's birthday with friends on a short stay trip. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or accommodating. The riad itself provided a great setting and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

What an experience! What a blast! I booked the Riad Laksiba as an escape from my 50th birthday. Everything was as good as it can possibly get. The Riad is absolutely lovely, really comfortable and welcoming. It is situated in a quiet neighbourhood which is full of character and very easy to find. The staff went above and beyond, arranging everything for us and generally looking after our every need. I can thoroughly recommend a stay in this Riad. We fell in love with the house, with Marrakech and its people while we were there.
We packed in as much as we could in the three nights/days we spent there. We spent a bit of time shopping/browsing the souks, we visited the Jardin Majorelle (beautiful and a very nice lunch can be had in the cafe there), we had a ride in horse and carriages, ate at the street food stalls (what a bun fight they have for your custom but great fun and the food is good and very, very cheap!).
On my birthday, the Riad had a cake brought in which was a nice touch. We went to Les Comptoir for dinner, well worth a visit, great ambience, nice food and the floor show was fabulous. Not too shabby for a special meal!
The Riad arranged for our party of eight to have a camel ride through the Berber villages up to the Kasbah bab Ourika. Two didn’t want to ride but walked up with us and really enjoyed the stroll. First time on a camel for all of us, we were a bit nervous but it was surprisingly relaxing. The local children smiled and waved as we came through with our camel train, we were a bit noisy and I think they could hear us coming for miles around.
We had a long, lazy lunch in the sun on a terrace at the Kasbah. The views were spectacular and it is so peaceful, it felt very healing and I would definitely spend time there in the future. The three course lunch was lovely, unhurried and they have really nice wine. We spent the rest of the afternoon laying in the sun and walking in the gardens. We all loved the day and can thoroughly recommend the trip.
All in all, the trip to Marrakech and to the Riad Laksiba in particular was a fantastic experience, one we will definitely be repeating in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Laksiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laksiba

Address: 16 (bis 5) Derb Kadi | Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked just inside the ancient walls of the Kasbah quartier of Marrakech Medina you will find Riad Laksiba a quiet English owned Riad perfectly place for you to discover the mystique that is Marrakech. What do you want to do?• Explore Morocco the genuine way• Immerse yourself into the culture• Travel with the locals• See the natural & unspoilt beauty of this country• Make the journey part of your holiday• A memorable way to discover a country & its people• Get to know like-minded people• A step towards greater exploration• Be encouraged to appreciate a country as it should be seen.…make it an unforgettable experience Then you may well be a Riad Laksiba "Flashpacker": Most travellers have backpacked at some stage in their life. Some go for the traditional hard-core version. Sleeping on floors and roughing it in the jungle. Others have opted for the softer version, those in their early to late 20′s, staying in hostels, sleeping in large dorms; in Australia or Thailand for example. However, most have also experienced the dirty bed linen, the shared showers and blocked toilets. So now that you have ticked those boxes and are now a bit maturer what is the next step? Flashpacker vs Backpacker: You don’t want to miss out on travelling by public transport, the thought of staying in a chain hotel puts you off, package holidays are an absolute no no; you want that bit of the luxury, you have become accustomed to with age, that you can actually afford now and you have a bit more cash to spare. Welcome to being part of a very fast growing trend -THE FLASHPACKER The Flashpacker: Laptop, iPhone, Digital Camera and a little luxury on a Budget. Flashpacking as the name implies derives from backpacking. Backpacking with an upgrade, making it flash. Flash for cash, flash as in expectation of standard or even just flash with gadgets at hand (iPhone, laptop, etc). Riad Laksiba is one of the first of it’s kind, in Marrakech, to offer this unique travel experience and cater for the evident gap in the market. Over the year we have identified that our target market is travellers in their mid 20′s to late 40′s failing to find the standard within the right time frame and budget category. Riad Laksiba prides itself on being able to offer an exceptional service allowing its clients to pre book accommodation within the backpacker budget (Euro 30-60 (£25-£50)/ night/ double room). The standard of our rooms a priority. Clean linen, en-suite, towels included, Free Wi-Fi, safe locations, female friendly and suitable for solo travellers. The advantage that Riad Laksiba offers to Flashpackers is that it offers unique accommodation, not listed in any of the guidebooks therefore undiscovered and not overrun with backpackers. In addition we offer a very personal service catering for the individual travellers needs without taking away the feeling of independent travel from the traveller. Riad Laksiba encourages our guests to experience the true environment of the country and therefore works supporting local community. The Riad Laksiba experience is much about integrating into a local community. Our motto "…don’t just be a tourist" strikes a cord with most flashpacker clients. We also organise Yoga retreats, Cookery based holidays, 2 Center Holidays to Marrakech / Essaouria and also Marrakech / Ourika Valley thus City-Coast and City-Country. We are also planning City-Desert for the more adventurous. We look forward to receiving you and adding value to your own adventure. Simon Hawkesley (Riad Laksiba) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Laksiba Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Laksiba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.