We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt like we were missing 2 people from our group” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laksiba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Riad Laksiba
Save Saved
You added Riad Laksiba to your Saves list
16 (bis 5) Derb Kadi | Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We felt like we were missing 2 people from our group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Group of 7 ladies!
Well on arrival we was greeted by Hamid and Adil! We was crying with laughter within about 20 minutes of arrival.

These guys are just fantastic. On our first evening we was so tired we couldn't be bothered to go out and eat, Adil asked if we'd like anything, and brought us some food back to the riad.

We had a meal in on the 3rd night, beautiful tagines, and then played card games, the guys joined us. We had such a laugh.

The riad is lovely but I really think its the staff that make the visit so memorable, when we was out it felt like a couple of the group was missing.

The ladies that come and cook are wonderful too, helpful and like to laugh too.

The staff here are just wonderful. As laughing is my favourite thing, this was a perfect break away with my friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRiadLaksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Ha ha... a delightful Review. Adil and Abelhamid could not have received a greater reward than being adopted into your Group. Abdelhamid visits the UK next week. His first venture outside Morocco. He wants to see where all of these eccentric English people live for himself! Thank you for taking my staff "under your wing" during your stay at Riad Laksiba. There is no doubt that working in a Riad is not easy. Maintaining a positive attitude and ensuring that a Guests holiday ambitions meet expectation is a permanent juggling act. Certain Guests offer the Staff a real respite by allowing genuine engagement and light hearted fun. I am very pleased that Laksiba met and exceeded all expectations and I know my Staff were delighted to share in your enjoyment. A big thanks on behalf of all of us. Simon. Riad Laksiba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
36
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nottingham england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited riad laksiba 21st - 24-april 2013.What can i say other than it was fantastic.The riad itself was very clean and comfortable and situated in a great position within the medina.The staff here all go out of their way to help you (you wouldn't get this in many places) .They gave us maps and contacts and escorted us out on our first night to get our bearings.They also advise you on where's best to shop and places of interest. Breakfast was always served with a smile and was fresh and filling.I would definitely recommend this stunning riad and we will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated beautifully and all as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRiadLaksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you Liza. What a positive Review. I am delighted that you have taken time to share your experience with others. TripAdvisor is a significant "Virtual Guestbook" and you election to write about the various facets of our service towards Guests comfort and enjoyment both inside the Riad and when out and about is a very appreciated commentary. We look forward to your next trip. Best regards Simon. Riad Laksiba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

From the moment we inquired about booking, all our emails were answered straight away and Simon was so helpful. The craftsmanship that has gone into restoring the riad shows and it has lots of little touches around the riad to give it that special Moroccan feel. There were seven of us and we all felt so comfortable there.

We were met at the airport and taken back to the riad, where Abdelhamid explained all about the area and showed us on the map the different attractions and gave us a idea what what we should pay for things, he also walked with us to the main road to show us the way. Whenever we need help he was there, he would happily arrange taxi's for us and walk with us to the gate to wait for the taxi's with us, he would double check the bookings for any day trips, nothing was to much trouble for him. The girls are fantastic cooks, we had two meals during our stay, we all enjoyed the starters and dinners there was no shortage of food.

It was really handy having the honesty bar, the fridge full of soft drinks, wine and beer which saved you having to buy them whilst out. Buying wine & beer in Marrakesh is very hard so having them ready for you at the riad was a blessing after a long day out, you could grab a beer and relax either on the roof terrace or one of the settees.

We booked a trip to Ourika Valley which was a good day out and did the dune buggies which was great fun.

We loved Riad Laksiba, the place felt so special, Abdelhamid and the girls were so happy and willing to help. Marrakesh is a very busy place but this gem of place makes you soon forget that. Great location, about a twenty minute walk to the square, the tombs and palaces are about ten/fifteen minutes walk.

Riad laksiba is located down a small street, where children are happily playing whilst their Mums watch.The men are all sitting outside cafes drinking tea, playing games or just chatting to each other, you get a feel for the real Moroccan life. Everyone seemed really friendly and would greet you and at no point did any of us feel unsafe. In the mornings we would watch the men in the stable opposite wash the horses and prepare them for their day ahead. They would always give you a wave (the men not the horses) You will see lots of cats/kitten in the street playing so if you are a cat lover take food for them. The riad has two lovely tortoises that are really friendly and seem to come out when people are around, one of them loves feet and will follow you around.

Thank you Simon, Abdelhamid and everyone for making our holiday a lovely one. We hope to see you all soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRiadLaksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you Penny, this is a super review offering excellent observations. Abdelhamid will be delighted that his efforts have been rewarded with such compliments. I am pleased that you enjoyed the "Urban Tourism" that the immediate vicinity offers and your observations read like the opening of a book that I would thoroughly enjoy reading. Best regards. Simon. Riad Laksiba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Have just spent 4 nights at this wonderful riad and am missing it already. Having stepped inside the first time,I felt my stress leaving me (work pressures/queues at passport control/losing the driver/the unfriendly kids in the alleyway who punched me hard on my arm - twice)
However, all was soon forgotten inside the incense laden riad, where we were greeted warmly by Mohamed and Abdelhamid and served mint tea. They both spoke good English and were able to offer us loads of advice and information. Throughout our stay they were extremely helpful, from walking us to the tombs on our first day to assisiting us in arranging a visit to the local orphanage to deliver gifts.
The riad was exactly as I imagined it to be, beautifully decorated and in an ideal location. A tasty and varied breakfast was served whenever we chose it by two lovely ladies.They also cooked us a lovely meal on our first evening.
I have taken away fabulous memories from my time in Marrakesh, not least from Riad Laksiba.
I will return.....Insha'Allah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRiadLaksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
I too hope that you return .....Insha'Allah. Thanks so much for you review. I am delighted that Mohamed and Abdelhamid were excellent hosts during your stay. You are right... their ability to communicate so fluently in English is a major bonus to guests. Looking forward to serving you again in the future. Simon. Riad Laksiba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Found this lovely riad from a friend's recommendation, and it was absolutely spot on. Mohamed and Hamid were the absolutely perfect hosts, so friendly and enthusiastic, both with excellent English. We had the riad to ourselves for the 3 nights of our stay, and it couldn't have been a more blissful quiet haven from the hurley-burley of the souks! Its a 15 min walk up to the 'Big Square' to which everyone on the street is keen to be your personal guide ('no fee, honest, I live that way'....but contibutions welcome none the less on arrival! That's just Marrakesh though, better get used to it!).

The roof terrace, with the pet very shy lizards, was charming, the bedroom in February was warm enough, the fridge was sufficiently stocked with wine and beer. Ahh!

Simon has refurbished the riad with great attention to detail and its a real pleasure to have stayed here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRiadLaksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a Review of your experiences at Riad Laksiba. It always warms me to read when a Guests comes via recommendation. Please also pass on my thanks to the referring friends. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope you'll visit again. Best regards Simon. Riad Laksiba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely time Mohammed and hamid were great company and really gave great advice especially about mouhssine boulla who took us out for the day to the mountains. The riad has a great local location close to the square and feels very safe. Breakfast was lovely the two ladies, nadia and raja were brilliant and made us feel at home. I would reccomend this riad over any hotel any day. I look forward to my next stay. Thank you riad laksiba I love you all x x

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRiadLaksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I am delighted that all went well for your Birthday. We very much look forward to seeing you again in the future and I am sure we can come up with a host of different adventures to sample. Very best wishes. Simon (Riad Laksiba)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I'd just like to say what a wonderful stay I had at Riad Laksiba. The riad is simply beautiful and in a great location. There is a family atmosphere among the staff who are exceptionally helpful, Mohamed and Abdelhamid speak excellent English (Abdelhamid is studying for a Masters in English) and couldn't have been more helpful. Nadia and Raja cook exception food and are happy to share their culinary secrets with guests. Simon, the owner, fits the 'mad dogs and Englishmen' stereotype taking me on the alternative tour of Marrakesh! Which I loved. I he is certainly well thought of in the community and therefore can give guests an insight in local life. A great introduction to Marrakesh, many thanks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRiadLaksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello Becky,

Thanks for taking time to write an excellent review. Mad Dogs and Englishmen indeed! Utilising Riad Laksiba as a base for taking Clients to the Atlas Mountains and a successful summit bid on Jebal Toubkal was truly inspiring to all of the staff. We look forward to your next adventures. Simon (Riad Laksiba).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Laksiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laksiba

Address: 16 (bis 5) Derb Kadi | Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked just inside the ancient walls of the Kasbah quartier of Marrakech Medina you will find Riad Laksiba a quiet English owned Riad perfectly place for you to discover the mystique that is Marrakech. What do you want to do?• Explore Morocco the genuine way• Immerse yourself into the culture• Travel with the locals• See the natural & unspoilt beauty of this country• Make the journey part of your holiday• A memorable way to discover a country & its people• Get to know like-minded people• A step towards greater exploration• Be encouraged to appreciate a country as it should be seen.…make it an unforgettable experience Then you may well be a Riad Laksiba "Flashpacker": Most travellers have backpacked at some stage in their life. Some go for the traditional hard-core version. Sleeping on floors and roughing it in the jungle. Others have opted for the softer version, those in their early to late 20′s, staying in hostels, sleeping in large dorms; in Australia or Thailand for example. However, most have also experienced the dirty bed linen, the shared showers and blocked toilets. So now that you have ticked those boxes and are now a bit maturer what is the next step? Flashpacker vs Backpacker: You don’t want to miss out on travelling by public transport, the thought of staying in a chain hotel puts you off, package holidays are an absolute no no; you want that bit of the luxury, you have become accustomed to with age, that you can actually afford now and you have a bit more cash to spare. Welcome to being part of a very fast growing trend -THE FLASHPACKER The Flashpacker: Laptop, iPhone, Digital Camera and a little luxury on a Budget. Flashpacking as the name implies derives from backpacking. Backpacking with an upgrade, making it flash. Flash for cash, flash as in expectation of standard or even just flash with gadgets at hand (iPhone, laptop, etc). Riad Laksiba is one of the first of it’s kind, in Marrakech, to offer this unique travel experience and cater for the evident gap in the market. Over the year we have identified that our target market is travellers in their mid 20′s to late 40′s failing to find the standard within the right time frame and budget category. Riad Laksiba prides itself on being able to offer an exceptional service allowing its clients to pre book accommodation within the backpacker budget (Euro 30-60 (£25-£50)/ night/ double room). The standard of our rooms a priority. Clean linen, en-suite, towels included, Free Wi-Fi, safe locations, female friendly and suitable for solo travellers. The advantage that Riad Laksiba offers to Flashpackers is that it offers unique accommodation, not listed in any of the guidebooks therefore undiscovered and not overrun with backpackers. In addition we offer a very personal service catering for the individual travellers needs without taking away the feeling of independent travel from the traveller. Riad Laksiba encourages our guests to experience the true environment of the country and therefore works supporting local community. The Riad Laksiba experience is much about integrating into a local community. Our motto "…don’t just be a tourist" strikes a cord with most flashpacker clients. We also organise Yoga retreats, Cookery based holidays, 2 Center Holidays to Marrakech / Essaouria and also Marrakech / Ourika Valley thus City-Coast and City-Country. We are also planning City-Desert for the more adventurous. We look forward to receiving you and adding value to your own adventure. Simon Hawkesley (Riad Laksiba) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Laksiba Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Laksiba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;