We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Home from Home'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laksiba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Laksiba
16 (bis 5) Derb Kadi | Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“'Home from Home'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Have just spent 4 nights at this wonderful riad and am missing it already. Having stepped inside the first time,I felt my stress leaving me (work pressures/queues at passport control/losing the driver/the unfriendly kids in the alleyway who punched me hard on my arm - twice)
However, all was soon forgotten inside the incense laden riad, where we were greeted warmly by Mohamed and Abdelhamid and served mint tea. They both spoke good English and were able to offer us loads of advice and information. Throughout our stay they were extremely helpful, from walking us to the tombs on our first day to assisiting us in arranging a visit to the local orphanage to deliver gifts.
The riad was exactly as I imagined it to be, beautifully decorated and in an ideal location. A tasty and varied breakfast was served whenever we chose it by two lovely ladies.They also cooked us a lovely meal on our first evening.
I have taken away fabulous memories from my time in Marrakesh, not least from Riad Laksiba.
I will return.....Insha'Allah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRiadLaksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
I too hope that you return .....Insha'Allah. Thanks so much for you review. I am delighted that Mohamed and Abdelhamid were excellent hosts during your stay. You are right... their ability to communicate so fluently in English is a major bonus to guests. Looking forward to serving you again in the future. Simon. Riad Laksiba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
34
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Found this lovely riad from a friend's recommendation, and it was absolutely spot on. Mohamed and Hamid were the absolutely perfect hosts, so friendly and enthusiastic, both with excellent English. We had the riad to ourselves for the 3 nights of our stay, and it couldn't have been a more blissful quiet haven from the hurley-burley of the souks! Its a 15 min walk up to the 'Big Square' to which everyone on the street is keen to be your personal guide ('no fee, honest, I live that way'....but contibutions welcome none the less on arrival! That's just Marrakesh though, better get used to it!).

The roof terrace, with the pet very shy lizards, was charming, the bedroom in February was warm enough, the fridge was sufficiently stocked with wine and beer. Ahh!

Simon has refurbished the riad with great attention to detail and its a real pleasure to have stayed here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRiadLaksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a Review of your experiences at Riad Laksiba. It always warms me to read when a Guests comes via recommendation. Please also pass on my thanks to the referring friends. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope you'll visit again. Best regards Simon. Riad Laksiba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely time Mohammed and hamid were great company and really gave great advice especially about mouhssine boulla who took us out for the day to the mountains. The riad has a great local location close to the square and feels very safe. Breakfast was lovely the two ladies, nadia and raja were brilliant and made us feel at home. I would reccomend this riad over any hotel any day. I look forward to my next stay. Thank you riad laksiba I love you all x x

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRiadLaksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I am delighted that all went well for your Birthday. We very much look forward to seeing you again in the future and I am sure we can come up with a host of different adventures to sample. Very best wishes. Simon (Riad Laksiba)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I'd just like to say what a wonderful stay I had at Riad Laksiba. The riad is simply beautiful and in a great location. There is a family atmosphere among the staff who are exceptionally helpful, Mohamed and Abdelhamid speak excellent English (Abdelhamid is studying for a Masters in English) and couldn't have been more helpful. Nadia and Raja cook exception food and are happy to share their culinary secrets with guests. Simon, the owner, fits the 'mad dogs and Englishmen' stereotype taking me on the alternative tour of Marrakesh! Which I loved. I he is certainly well thought of in the community and therefore can give guests an insight in local life. A great introduction to Marrakesh, many thanks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRiadLaksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello Becky,

Thanks for taking time to write an excellent review. Mad Dogs and Englishmen indeed! Utilising Riad Laksiba as a base for taking Clients to the Atlas Mountains and a successful summit bid on Jebal Toubkal was truly inspiring to all of the staff. We look forward to your next adventures. Simon (Riad Laksiba).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Louis, Alsace, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We travel alot with our family and this is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review barely 24 hours after we have returned home! Riad Laksiba is a true gem and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. From our first moments in the Riad, Abdelhamid and Mohammed made us feel welcome. Every single need was taken care of...dinner reservations, directions, hammam appointments...anything we needed, they were there to help! Highlights included the entire Riad experience from our beautiful breakfasts to our home dinners (4 out of 7 evenings), the peaceful afternoons on the roof terrace to the evening "cinema", everything was great. We had 3 children (ages 7, 10 and 11) in our party and they had as great a time as the adults! Mohammed organized an excursion to the Ourika valley (complete with camel rides and mint tea at an authentic Berber family home). Amazing. We are seriously considering going back in a few months and we will definitely stay at Riad Laksiba. A spectacular experience from beginning to end. Thank you Simon for your amazing craftsmanship that built a gorgeous home and a million thank yous to Abdelhamid, Mohammed, Nadia and Raja for the unsurpassed hospitality we felt during every moment of our unforgettable holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRiadLaksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Many many thanks for the wonderful Review that you have taken time to write. I am delighted that all ages within your family group enjoyed your adventure in Marrakech. Indeed we look forward to your repeat visits in the future. The Laksiba team will all feel proud when there efforts to make your holiday special are recognised. Very best regards Simon (Riad Laksiba)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

After completing a circuit of Europe in midwinter, we went down to Marrakesh for a bit of sun , and I can't say how glad I am that I booked in at Riad Laksiba.

We were met at the airport by Mohamed and Simon (proprietor) and taken to the Riad, which - as is the Moroccan way - looks like every other house from the outside. When you get inside though you can see the painstaking attention to detail in the furniture, artwork and even the doors. It is truly a beautiful and tranquil place to be. The roof-top is a wonderful place to chill out - it's complete with a Bedouin tent and tortoises. We were immediately shown our rooms and offered mint tea.

As we were a "group" of two guys and the Riad was quiet we were given a room each and, after settling in, Simon showed us the way to the main square (a very easy walk with loads to see on the way) stopping to chat to the locals as we went by. We were introduced to the local calligrapher, Mohamed, as well as various vendors and passers-by.

Once at the square Simon left us on our own and we promptly got lost in the Souks and ripped off by the very persistent ladies. On relating our experiences to everyone back at the Riad, the guys (Abdelhamid and Mohamed, both extremely formidable blokes) took us back to the square and got us our money back!

The staff were what made the Riad what it was. From Simon taking us on a very comprehensive walking tour of Marrakesh and organizing a Berber guide to take us up to the mountains (a must-do) to Nadia making us a delicious breakfast every morning (well, usually early afternoon) to get us going. Abdelhamid and Mohamed were always around to help - even showing us where to buy size 13 flip flops and doing the haggling with the very tough shopkeeper.

Location of the Riad was perfect. While the hustle and bustle of the square is a short walk away, the Kasbah on Laksiba's doorstep is the neighborhood to be. Everyone is friendly, there is plenty to see - tombs, several palaces and the metalworkers district as well as the Berber fruit and veg markets. After just a few days we felt almost local.

Our last evening was spent with everyone on the shisha pipe eating fig ice cream and cactus fruit - the perfect way to end a perfect trip. As mentioned above, the staff and their local knowledge are what make this place - you simply could not have the same experience if you stayed in a hotel. We were both disappointed to be leaving and Marrakesh was certainly the highlight of the trip.

Next time I'm at Riad Laksiba, it won't be like going on a holiday, it will be like going home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRiadLaksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Josh and Kallum,
What can I say.... your Review made me laugh out loud, mainly through re-living some of those moments, but left me emotional. What a wonderful final comment. We all enjoyed your company so much. Two very different Australian characters with a single goal to get the most out of your "walk-about". It was refreshing and rewarding to meet you both. Based on this Review I do think you should follow your instincts and consider travel journalism. Looking forward to the return visit. Simon, Abdelhamid, Mohamed and Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of eight girls on a hen weekend in Marrakech. Simon was a fantastic help in making the booking and suggesting some ideas for activities during our trip, and when we arrived, Mohammed looked after everything we could possibly need-from collecting us from the airport, to looking for us in the medina when he thought we were lost! He helped us organise a hammam, took us shopping for food for the evening meal, and made sure the fridge was always full! Breakfast in the mornings was amazing, as was dinner when we opted to eat in one evening. The riad was lovely and comfortable; at the time we stayed there were a few areas which would have benefited a quick spruce up, but I understand the riad has recently undergone a full refurbishment. We had a brilliant time, and would definitely stay here again x c x

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRiadLaksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a Review, it is very much appreciated. You'll be pleased to hear that Riad Laksiba has indeed enjoyed many improvements since your visit and we continue to do so. Hopefully you will come and visit again soon and you'll be able to remark on the upgrades. Many thanks Simon (Riad Laksiba)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Laksiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laksiba

Address: 16 (bis 5) Derb Kadi | Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked just inside the ancient walls of the Kasbah quartier of Marrakech Medina you will find Riad Laksiba a quiet English owned Riad perfectly place for you to discover the mystique that is Marrakech. What do you want to do?• Explore Morocco the genuine way• Immerse yourself into the culture• Travel with the locals• See the natural & unspoilt beauty of this country• Make the journey part of your holiday• A memorable way to discover a country & its people• Get to know like-minded people• A step towards greater exploration• Be encouraged to appreciate a country as it should be seen.…make it an unforgettable experience Then you may well be a Riad Laksiba "Flashpacker": Most travellers have backpacked at some stage in their life. Some go for the traditional hard-core version. Sleeping on floors and roughing it in the jungle. Others have opted for the softer version, those in their early to late 20′s, staying in hostels, sleeping in large dorms; in Australia or Thailand for example. However, most have also experienced the dirty bed linen, the shared showers and blocked toilets. So now that you have ticked those boxes and are now a bit maturer what is the next step? Flashpacker vs Backpacker: You don’t want to miss out on travelling by public transport, the thought of staying in a chain hotel puts you off, package holidays are an absolute no no; you want that bit of the luxury, you have become accustomed to with age, that you can actually afford now and you have a bit more cash to spare. Welcome to being part of a very fast growing trend -THE FLASHPACKER The Flashpacker: Laptop, iPhone, Digital Camera and a little luxury on a Budget. Flashpacking as the name implies derives from backpacking. Backpacking with an upgrade, making it flash. Flash for cash, flash as in expectation of standard or even just flash with gadgets at hand (iPhone, laptop, etc). Riad Laksiba is one of the first of it’s kind, in Marrakech, to offer this unique travel experience and cater for the evident gap in the market. Over the year we have identified that our target market is travellers in their mid 20′s to late 40′s failing to find the standard within the right time frame and budget category. Riad Laksiba prides itself on being able to offer an exceptional service allowing its clients to pre book accommodation within the backpacker budget (Euro 30-60 (£25-£50)/ night/ double room). The standard of our rooms a priority. Clean linen, en-suite, towels included, Free Wi-Fi, safe locations, female friendly and suitable for solo travellers. The advantage that Riad Laksiba offers to Flashpackers is that it offers unique accommodation, not listed in any of the guidebooks therefore undiscovered and not overrun with backpackers. In addition we offer a very personal service catering for the individual travellers needs without taking away the feeling of independent travel from the traveller. Riad Laksiba encourages our guests to experience the true environment of the country and therefore works supporting local community. The Riad Laksiba experience is much about integrating into a local community. Our motto "…don’t just be a tourist" strikes a cord with most flashpacker clients. We also organise Yoga retreats, Cookery based holidays, 2 Center Holidays to Marrakech / Essaouria and also Marrakech / Ourika Valley thus City-Coast and City-Country. We are also planning City-Desert for the more adventurous. We look forward to receiving you and adding value to your own adventure. Simon Hawkesley (Riad Laksiba) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Laksiba Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Laksiba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Laksiba to your Saves list