We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laksiba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Laksiba
Save
You added Riad Laksiba to your Saves list
16 (bis 5) Derb Kadi | Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My experience at riad laksiba was abosolutely perfect, from the moment I booked everything was taken care of by Simon and the rest of the riad laksiba team. I was collected at the aiort by the driver and taken straight to the riad where i was greeted with mint tea and pastries. The room was beautiful with a lovely salon outside the door where each morning I was presented by a platter of breakfast goodies. The location was ideal as it was a perfect retreat from the hussle and bussle of a days adventure. The highlight of the riad was the final evening when I found myself eating beautifully prepared traditional Moroccan (the best we found) food laying on cushions starring up at the stars from the roof terrace.i couldn't recommend this riad more to anyone

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Laksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you so much. I appreciate that time that you have taken to write feedback from your stay at Riad Laksiba. I am also delighted that you have started making enquiries regarding dates for your return visit. Humbly yours. Simon. Riad Laksiba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
37
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

From the moment you are collected from the airport by a member of staff from Laksiba your feel like you are with friends. I was a single mother traveling with my ten year old daughter and our stay in marrakech was possibly one of the best holidays we have ever had. Marrakech is a magnificent place and Laksiba really help you make the most of your adventure. I felt safe and secure at all times and confident that whatever my query or request Laksiba would be there to help. The rooms are comfortable, each with a pleasant seating area to enjoy, so you can be as sociable (or not!) as you choose. The splash pool area is a fabulous place to keep cool in the summer heat. I would encourage travellers to eat at least once at the Riad as the tagines really excelled any other food we found during our stay, and we couldn't resist having one another night. I would really like to thank Simon and his team for a fabulous holiday. I'm sure we will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Laksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Holly and Jessica, thank you so much for taking time to write. I am so pleased that Jessica has now elevated Marrakech into her No.1 slot as a holiday destination. Thanks also for praising our home cooking so highly I shall pass on your positive comments to Nadia and Raja. I really appreciate the comments that you shared regarding how safe you felt as a single mum travelling with a 10years old daughter. The area surrounding Riad Laksiba is very laid back and ideal for an interesting wander. The comparison between the Kasbah district and the Main Square may be within minutes of each other but the "karma" difference is measurable. I sincerely hope the Kasbah stays this way as it becomes more and more popular with travellers, tourists, owners and investors. Looking forward to your return trip. Love and Peace. Simon. Riad Laksiba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

From the moment my daughter and I arrived at Riad Laksiba we felt at home. We were welcomed so warmly by Mohamed, Abdelhamid, Nadia and Raja that we settled in immediately, and after some some mint tea went out with Mohamed to buy ingredients for our evening's tagine dinner. We then watched Nadia and Raja prepare it and later enjoyed our three course meal. This was a brilliant and delicious option (£15 per head) for our first night. We were even given a tagine pot to take home!
The riad is beautiful and in the traditional Moroccan style. It is calm and peaceful with many places to lounge, a small pool which was perfect for weary feet and a roof terrace. Our room was comfortable and we liked the wet room.
Either Mohamed or Abdelhamid was always there to help with suggestions, answer our questions and have a chat. Their friendliness really made this riad a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Laksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review. The "Eating In" theme seems to be a real hit with reviews and I am delighted that home cooking adds to the cultural enjoyment of so many guests. I am also delighted that you have now successfully used your Tagine Pot in the UK. When we gift out guests a Tagine Pot, I am under the assumption that most collect dust as a souvineer. Well done you two for having a go. If you break it, worry not, come back and visit us and we'll replace it !! See you soon. Simon. Riad Laksiba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I had a wonderful stay on a Yoga retreat at Riad Laksiba. It is a magical place and close to everything you need in the Medina. The service was wonderful and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Laksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write. Very much appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Yoga Holiday. Best regards. Simon. Riad Laksiba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Having been met by Mohammed the manager at the airport and whisked from the airport in 15 minutes we were welcomed at this beautiful Riad in the medina with mint tea and birthday cake for my husband!!

Nothing was a problem for the staff with Mohammed not only setting us on the right tracks for our exploration but arranging for my husband's shirt to be ironed. The rooms are beautiful with simple but traditional decoration and a huge walk in shower room. Beds are very comfortable.

The Riad is in an excellent position just a few minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of Jemaa el Fna but in a quiet secluded position.

The Riad fridge has a supply of local beer and delicious Moroccan rose wine which accompanies the view of roof tops of the medina at sunset perfectly.

Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff from Simon the proprietor who helped us with advice for all our Moroccan adventures, Mohammed the manager to Nadia the cook. The driver, Hicham, organised by Simon for our travels through the Atlas mountains was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Laksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thanks Nicky, for taking time to write your Review and comments. I am pleased that Steve's 50th Birthday was a sucessful adventure in and around Marrakech. Hopefully we'll see you guys and other family members back at Laksiba soon. Best regards. Simon. Riad Laksiba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Having been to Marrakech a few years ago and staying just outside the souk. It was a complete pleasure to stay at the Laksiba and a totally different experience. As much as the hustle and bustle of the day add to the whole experience of Marrakech, it was a pleasure to return to the peace tranquility and comfort the Laksiba offered. From our arrival at the airport to our departure, we were given excellent service including wonderful breakfasts each day. We were treated more like friends than guests. Nothing ever being too much trouble. Simon the owner had a great knowledge of Marrakech, places to visit, places to shop and to eat. He always offered excellent recommendations and at times he would escort you there personally. He recommended Le Studio resturant for dinner and I can honestly say it is one of the best meals I have ever had. I would highly recommend the Laksiba for location ,comfort , value for money and the excellent staff . A special thank you to Mohammed, Nadia and Raja for all their help. We would definately choose the Laksiba for our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Laksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thanks Michael. It was a gas. I am delighted that you enjoyed La Studio so much that you reccommended it to all via TripAdvisor. Thanks also for the onward eMails that you have sent to me. I shall organise for the book, that you enjoyed at Laksiba, to be purchased and shipped back to the UK for you. Look forward to seeing you here again. Best wishes. Simon. Riad Laksiba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Riad Laksiba has a wonderful feel, laid back and authentic, in the Medina and blisfully siituated just out of the main husstle... meaning your walk to the attractions also takes in daily life for the locals - children walking to school, mothers taking their bread to the communal oven, a man repairing bicycles...

Mohamed will welcome you and make sure you have all the info you need to make the most of your stay and Nadia and Raja cook wonderful breakfasts. What's great is you feel so at home you just use the kitchen as you need to.

I was there for a yoga holiday with Tabitha Dean and found it the perfect setting to make lovely new froneds with the rest of the group. Great rooftop for yoga especially with the wonderful sunsets in the evening.

A magical holiday! Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Laksiba, Owner at Riad Laksiba, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Hello Dawn,

I am delighted that your Tabitha Dean Yoga Holiday was such a sucess for you. Tabitha had mentioned that you guys were a great group, very supportive, quickly bonded and moreover great fun. We hope to see you again on another Yoga Holiday. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It is very much appreciated. Best regards. Simon. Riad Laksiba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Laksiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laksiba

Address: 16 (bis 5) Derb Kadi | Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked just inside the ancient walls of the Kasbah quartier of Marrakech Medina you will find Riad Laksiba a quiet English owned Riad perfectly place for you to discover the mystique that is Marrakech. What do you want to do?• Explore Morocco the genuine way• Immerse yourself into the culture• Travel with the locals• See the natural & unspoilt beauty of this country• Make the journey part of your holiday• A memorable way to discover a country & its people• Get to know like-minded people• A step towards greater exploration• Be encouraged to appreciate a country as it should be seen.…make it an unforgettable experience Then you may well be a Riad Laksiba "Flashpacker": Most travellers have backpacked at some stage in their life. Some go for the traditional hard-core version. Sleeping on floors and roughing it in the jungle. Others have opted for the softer version, those in their early to late 20′s, staying in hostels, sleeping in large dorms; in Australia or Thailand for example. However, most have also experienced the dirty bed linen, the shared showers and blocked toilets. So now that you have ticked those boxes and are now a bit maturer what is the next step? Flashpacker vs Backpacker: You don’t want to miss out on travelling by public transport, the thought of staying in a chain hotel puts you off, package holidays are an absolute no no; you want that bit of the luxury, you have become accustomed to with age, that you can actually afford now and you have a bit more cash to spare. Welcome to being part of a very fast growing trend -THE FLASHPACKER The Flashpacker: Laptop, iPhone, Digital Camera and a little luxury on a Budget. Flashpacking as the name implies derives from backpacking. Backpacking with an upgrade, making it flash. Flash for cash, flash as in expectation of standard or even just flash with gadgets at hand (iPhone, laptop, etc). Riad Laksiba is one of the first of it’s kind, in Marrakech, to offer this unique travel experience and cater for the evident gap in the market. Over the year we have identified that our target market is travellers in their mid 20′s to late 40′s failing to find the standard within the right time frame and budget category. Riad Laksiba prides itself on being able to offer an exceptional service allowing its clients to pre book accommodation within the backpacker budget (Euro 30-60 (£25-£50)/ night/ double room). The standard of our rooms a priority. Clean linen, en-suite, towels included, Free Wi-Fi, safe locations, female friendly and suitable for solo travellers. The advantage that Riad Laksiba offers to Flashpackers is that it offers unique accommodation, not listed in any of the guidebooks therefore undiscovered and not overrun with backpackers. In addition we offer a very personal service catering for the individual travellers needs without taking away the feeling of independent travel from the traveller. Riad Laksiba encourages our guests to experience the true environment of the country and therefore works supporting local community. The Riad Laksiba experience is much about integrating into a local community. Our motto "…don’t just be a tourist" strikes a cord with most flashpacker clients. We also organise Yoga retreats, Cookery based holidays, 2 Center Holidays to Marrakech / Essaouria and also Marrakech / Ourika Valley thus City-Coast and City-Country. We are also planning City-Desert for the more adventurous. We look forward to receiving you and adding value to your own adventure. Simon Hawkesley (Riad Laksiba) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Laksiba Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Laksiba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.