We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good deal with the lunch menu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Porte Du Monde

La Porte Du Monde
Toualat Kennaria No 69, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #342 of 536 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: European, Moroccan
Description: Telephone 06.12.24.71.15 or 06.69.89.75.71
Restaurant details
Description: Telephone 06.12.24.71.15 or 06.69.89.75.71
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good deal with the lunch menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We got to that place following the recommendation of our host - the lunch menu is a good deal for 60dh, otherwise it is not that cheap.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

42% Recommend
    9
    13
    11
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Check your bill before leaving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stopped just for a mint tea with moroccan pastries after having had lunch somewhere else. Therefore I can not account for the food. The tea and pastries were fine, but they overcharged us 10Dh (1€) because they said they had served the special "spicy" house tea. I protested that I had not ordered that, but left them go away with this dirty extra tip with the self-promise in mind of reporting this mishap on Tripadvisor. Having to argue constantly with sellers and waiters is soooo tiring!!
We ordered moroccan pastries (40Dh), and mint tea for two (2 x 10Dh), although they charged us for special "spiced" tea (2 x 15Dh; do not orther that. If they actually served this, there was very little "spice" on it as it tasted just like hundreds of other mint teas we had during our stay)
On the good side: nice top terrace (although with no particularly good views) to rest for a few moments from the hustle and bustle of the streets below.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went here because the blackboard showing a fixed price 3 course menu seemed just the job. The starter and dessert were good, but the tagine main course was not great with raw-tasting spices with very tough chicken. (Morrocan salad to start, orange slices or crème caramel to end) But it was cheap. Roof top terrace had views of other roof top terraces, which were not great. But it was close to our riad and I didn't want to walk to the square again! Cheap enough but I wouldn't go there again. Just OK.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb food, lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We visited here a few times during our last trip to Marrakech. The staff were so pleasant and helpful. Food was excellent. This was an excellent place to spend our last night in Marrakeck: on the rooftop terrace.
Choices of food were excellent and so very tasty. Other reviews said service was slow. We were told that by the staff when we arrived as the food was freshly cooked. Why the necessity to hurry and have fast food. For those people there is a McDonalds in the New City!! This is ole real Marrakech with a different way and pace of life.
We can't wait to return on our next visit. Tagines were tasty and leaft you wanting more. The pastilla was just superb. Real Morrocan food served by real Morrocans.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Service OK, food not tasty at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The place itself and the service was OK, but we didn't like the food at all. Quite tasteless, dry food, chicken skewers smelled like if the meat was bad. We left almost everything on the plates. Would recommend a restaurant called "Un dejeuner a marrakesh" instead, which is just opposite - the food was so much better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Porte Du Monde also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Porte Du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Porte Du Monde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.