We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Porte Du Monde

La Porte Du Monde
Toualat Kennaria No 69, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #332 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: European, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Telephone 06.12.24.71.15 or 06.69.89.75.71
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went here because the blackboard showing a fixed price 3 course menu seemed just the job. The starter and dessert were good, but the tagine main course was not great with raw-tasting spices with very tough chicken. (Morrocan salad to start, orange slices or crème caramel to end) But it was cheap. Roof top terrace had views of other roof top terraces, which were not great. But it was close to our riad and I didn't want to walk to the square again! Cheap enough but I wouldn't go there again. Just OK.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    13
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb food, lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We visited here a few times during our last trip to Marrakech. The staff were so pleasant and helpful. Food was excellent. This was an excellent place to spend our last night in Marrakeck: on the rooftop terrace.
Choices of food were excellent and so very tasty. Other reviews said service was slow. We were told that by the staff when we arrived as the food was freshly cooked. Why the necessity to hurry and have fast food. For those people there is a McDonalds in the New City!! This is ole real Marrakech with a different way and pace of life.
We can't wait to return on our next visit. Tagines were tasty and leaft you wanting more. The pastilla was just superb. Real Morrocan food served by real Morrocans.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Service OK, food not tasty at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The place itself and the service was OK, but we didn't like the food at all. Quite tasteless, dry food, chicken skewers smelled like if the meat was bad. We left almost everything on the plates. Would recommend a restaurant called "Un dejeuner a marrakesh" instead, which is just opposite - the food was so much better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Our Go-To Restaurant round the Corner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Aguerzame, and this restaurant was 3 minutes away from the Riad. We chanced upon this since our first choice - Un Dejeuner a Marrakech was closed - what a pleasant surprise! Their Kefta panini was delicious, the lamb tagine was great and their pastillas was fantastic! We dined here 2x and one night opted for take out. Great service, good food!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This cafe is on a corner with a few others and has a roof terrace which we used, waiter was having a bad day i think, dropped quite a few thing and never saw him smile at all, food was good, I had Chicken and olive tagine and that is was what you got, a piece of chicken, some olives in a tagine with fresh bread, not much sauce about a table spoon full, but it was flavoursome. My wife had a tuna and cheese sandwich which she was enjoying until she found a little curly hair on the plate. - of all the places we ate in Marrakesh, this is the only one we would not go back too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Porte Du Monde also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Porte Du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Porte Du Monde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.