We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant, slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Porte Du Monde

La Porte Du Monde
Toualat Kennaria No 69, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #339 of 525 restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: European, Moroccan
Description: Telephone 06.12.24.71.15 or 06.69.89.75.71
Restaurant details
Description: Telephone 06.12.24.71.15 or 06.69.89.75.71
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This cafe is on a corner with a few others and has a roof terrace which we used, waiter was having a bad day i think, dropped quite a few thing and never saw him smile at all, food was good, I had Chicken and olive tagine and that is was what you got, a piece of chicken, some olives in a tagine with fresh bread, not much sauce about a table spoon full, but it was flavoursome. My wife had a tuna and cheese sandwich which she was enjoying until she found a little curly hair on the plate. - of all the places we ate in Marrakesh, this is the only one we would not go back too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

43% Recommend
    9
    13
    10
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dreadful food and poor service, although roof terrace nice for a drink”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely dreadful food, the worst of all places that we have eaten in during our 5-day stay in Marrakech. The avocado salad was swimming in thousand island dressing, completely ruining the flavor of the lovely avocado, the meat tanjia (not tagine) was dry and tasteless, but by far the worst item our group ordered was the disgustingly bland, burnt (in a microwave, we think) vegetable pastille. Fortunately, half the food on the menu wasn't available or we would have ordered, and subsequently wasted, a lot more money. Unless you just want a coca cola, avoid this place, there are so many other nice places around.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
“Nice decor, plain food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

The cafe is nicely decorated and with a terrace that is perfect to enjoy the afternoon sun. We had coffee, Maroccan pastries and juices. The juices and coffee were fine, but the pastries were uninteresting and 40dh for 5 pieces. The service was alright, but not exactly attentative.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hertfordshire, Uk
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A quick place to eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

the location is very pretty, in a nice square in the medina, just off the big square.
lots of high steps to reach the top, but nice when you are up there.
When i went the waiter wasn't very welcoming or friendly.
food was ok and served pretty quickly. When you sit down they bring you some local bread and olives which is great as I am usually starving when I get to sit down for dinner.
I was looking for vegetarian food and there was enough to choose from.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't order the meat”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Staff seemed rude and in a hurry to take or order. He threw the menus at the shelf, missed, left them on the floor and walked away.

Ordered the chicken tajine- the chicken was overcooked, dry and chewy, with no flavour at all and cold in places. Definitely not the tender meat I would expect of a tajine (I suspect it's cooked first then put in the tajine for effect).

The waiter asked if the food was ok, so I told him that I couldn't eat it and why. He just said 'ok' and walked off to shout something at the chef.

I definitely would not recommend this place unless you're a vegetarian and you don't care about the service.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Porte Du Monde also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Porte Du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Porte Du Monde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.