We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor, plain food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Porte Du Monde

La Porte Du Monde
Toualat Kennaria No 69, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #342 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: European, Moroccan
Description: Telephone 06.12.24.71.15 or 06.69.89.75.71
Restaurant details
Description: Telephone 06.12.24.71.15 or 06.69.89.75.71
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
“Nice decor, plain food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

The cafe is nicely decorated and with a terrace that is perfect to enjoy the afternoon sun. We had coffee, Maroccan pastries and juices. The juices and coffee were fine, but the pastries were uninteresting and 40dh for 5 pieces. The service was alright, but not exactly attentative.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

43% Recommend
    9
    13
    10
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, Uk
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A quick place to eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

the location is very pretty, in a nice square in the medina, just off the big square.
lots of high steps to reach the top, but nice when you are up there.
When i went the waiter wasn't very welcoming or friendly.
food was ok and served pretty quickly. When you sit down they bring you some local bread and olives which is great as I am usually starving when I get to sit down for dinner.
I was looking for vegetarian food and there was enough to choose from.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't order the meat”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Staff seemed rude and in a hurry to take or order. He threw the menus at the shelf, missed, left them on the floor and walked away.

Ordered the chicken tajine- the chicken was overcooked, dry and chewy, with no flavour at all and cold in places. Definitely not the tender meat I would expect of a tajine (I suspect it's cooked first then put in the tajine for effect).

The waiter asked if the food was ok, so I told him that I couldn't eat it and why. He just said 'ok' and walked off to shout something at the chef.

I definitely would not recommend this place unless you're a vegetarian and you don't care about the service.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Rude staff, overpriced tea.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

I should have known this from the look of the place, but the service here was especially terrible, and the hot drinks we got were also extremely mediocre. They clearly do not make their living from repeat customers, but there are still nicer cafes in Marrakesh.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet place not too far from the busy main square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 via mobile

This nice restaurant is about 10 minutes walk from Djemaa el Fna towards el Badi Palace. It's easy to spot it as it's on the corner with a big menu board standing outside.
The service is excellent, the waiters there really work hard to earn their tips ;-)
Food was good quality and tasty. I had a warm salad and vegetable passtilla and it was good.
Would recommend if you are tired of the busy square and wanna rest in a quiet spot.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Porte Du Monde also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Porte Du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Porte Du Monde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.