We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick place to eat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Porte Du Monde

La Porte Du Monde
Toualat Kennaria No 69, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 699 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Telephone 06.12.24.71.15 or 06.69.89.75.71
Hertfordshire, Uk
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A quick place to eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

the location is very pretty, in a nice square in the medina, just off the big square.
lots of high steps to reach the top, but nice when you are up there.
When i went the waiter wasn't very welcoming or friendly.
food was ok and served pretty quickly. When you sit down they bring you some local bread and olives which is great as I am usually starving when I get to sit down for dinner.
I was looking for vegetarian food and there was enough to choose from.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnaHertfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't order the meat”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Staff seemed rude and in a hurry to take or order. He threw the menus at the shelf, missed, left them on the floor and walked away.

Ordered the chicken tajine- the chicken was overcooked, dry and chewy, with no flavour at all and cold in places. Definitely not the tender meat I would expect of a tajine (I suspect it's cooked first then put in the tajine for effect).

The waiter asked if the food was ok, so I told him that I couldn't eat it and why. He just said 'ok' and walked off to shout something at the chef.

I definitely would not recommend this place unless you're a vegetarian and you don't care about the service.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TGillaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude staff, overpriced tea.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I should have known this from the look of the place, but the service here was especially terrible, and the hot drinks we got were also extremely mediocre. They clearly do not make their living from repeat customers, but there are still nicer cafes in Marrakesh.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet place not too far from the busy main square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

This nice restaurant is about 10 minutes walk from Djemaa el Fna towards el Badi Palace. It's easy to spot it as it's on the corner with a big menu board standing outside.
The service is excellent, the waiters there really work hard to earn their tips ;-)
Food was good quality and tasty. I had a warm salad and vegetable passtilla and it was good.
Would recommend if you are tired of the busy square and wanna rest in a quiet spot.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ardra1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Restaurant have nice decor.
Our food was poor.
We ordered one tajine vegetarian, one kafte with rice potatoes and vegs.
The tajine was potatoes, some carrot and zucchini slices and 4 olives!
No salt, no spices nothing! wasn't cooked in in the Tajinepot,perhaps just in water,then put in the claypot.
The kafte almost raw,some carrot and zucchini slices no salt no spices.Potatoes ok. Rice icecold . Served with mayo and Ketchup ! Authentic cuisine..................
would like to see if Morrocans would eat this !
The waiters respons about my complaint: This IS Tajine!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank benem65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Porte Du Monde also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Porte Du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing