We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hamdane et SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Hamdane et SPA to your Saves list
Riad Hamdane et SPA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88, derb Sidi Bouloukate. | Rue Bab Agnaou - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #309 of 468 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I recently took a trip to Marrakech and stayed at the Riad et Spa Hamdane. It was a first time visit with my younger brother (13) and my mother . The staff working at the Riad were very accommodating and extremely helpful. It was a real joy staying here and the facilities were very comfortably and homely. The staff were always to hand and the service we received from the 'get go' was exemplary. The taxi dropped us into the hustle and bustle of the market place and my initial thought was ‘what have I done?’. The friendly street porter took our cases through the crowds with us following shortly behind and turned off into this small side street. I felt like I was in a scene from Aladdin! As we walked through the narrow streets, it got a lot quieter where we saw other neighbouring Riads with women washing down the pavements with pales of water, children playing and cats running outside.

After about 3 minutes of walking, I arrived to see this grand entrance to the Riad which simply blew me away. It was truly a hidden gem. The front desk staff opened the door giving us a lovely warm welcome seating us down and giving us some Moroccan tea to help us relax. We filled the relevant paperwork and we were checked into the room. We had three people to our room and were given a double and a single bed on the ground floor; which is quite hard to find in most Riads, so we were thankful of the efforts to accommodate our needs as a family. The room was clean and tidy and had a fridge which was handy for those hot days. The hotel was air conditioned and the rooftop offered many opportunities to eat with a view. There was a slight issue with our toilet on arrival but the attentive staff dealt with this straight away so no inconvenience was caused. The front desk service was very friendly and patient and they were always on hand to deal with any requests. Any information required was provided to us and the staff even went out of their normal duties to ensure we were comfortable. For example, I needed to use some kitchen utensils in the evening when the kitchen was closed but the receptionist provided what we needed on request. The food provided in the hotel was both tasty and great value for money. A couple of the mornings we had excursions and the staff were kind enough to prepare our breakfasts at an earlier time which was really kind of them. The hotel was safe and comfortable with a ‘homely feel’ and a very good distance from all the places of attraction. It was also the perfect distance from the hustle and bustle of Djemma El Fna – the main square which offered all the restaurants and entertainment you could ask for. The stay was very enjoyable and I would like to take the time to thank Mustafa and all the other staff working in the hotel. Although English was not their first language, they really made the effort to understand us and would go out their way to ensure our stay was the best it could be. No complaints!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    43
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
31
42
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton Fribourg
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My friend and I spent three nights in total (two nights on our arrival and one night before flying home) and they gave us the same room. The hotel is in a strategic location, just a few minutes walking from the market place. The staff is kind, the breakfast is good and you can enjoy it from the terrace on the top of the hotel. The room is big, but the level of cleanliness is not so good (ok, maybe aligned with most of hotels in Marrakech) and the toilet, even if big, was in bad conditions (water was not going down the drain in the shower and therefore it was overflowing all around in the room). I had also a massage in the hamman of the hotel: the hamman is nice and the massage was good.
They say that they accept credit cards, but in reality they don't (the card reader had problems every time we stayed there...)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Riad Hamdane was recommended to us and we stayed twice for one night., having to come back to Marrakesh. The riad is coveniently located from Place Jaffna, looking nice, and welcoming but a busy place. The breafast is good and copious. The double room are small and unfortunately there was a very strong smell of humidity in the bathrooms. Also the draining pipe seemed plugged.
The 2nd time we came back we also had to pay the bill before we even got the room. However the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed at Riad Hamdane in March 2011 and we really enjoyed our stay. The location is great, close to the main square and the souks, price was excellent and included a yummie breakfast. On our last morning, although we were leaving early, they arranged for breakfast for the 3 of us, that was a nice touch! We booked directly with the owner through email and transfered the deposit by wire transfer and we had no problems whatsoever.
The only complaint: the bed are super hard ....

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

This hotel is located in maze of backstreets, but it's just a five minute walk to the souk markets (where lots of fun is to be had!). It's really safe because the desk staff man the door 24/7; in fact, you have to knock to be let in (you don't get a key to the building, the desk staff just open the door to let you in). My friends thought the bed was a bit hard, but I thought it was comfortable. I had air conditioning in my room but my friends didn't - I would suggest you ask for a room with air conditioning (it can get warm and stuffy). Each room seems to have its own perks...while I had air conditioning, my friends had a large double bed (I shared 2 twins w my partner) and a beautiful bathroom (I had a bathroom with some poorly-laid brick foundation).

The hotel itself is beautiful on the inside, and there are lots of great extras to find there - specifically, food and spa services. The breakfast each morning was delicious, and they serve amazing mint tea that they will serve to you whenever you ask. There's also a nice rooftop terrace.

The spa services were really good but only about 15 minutes each. I'm not sure how the pricing works because they told us first that you could get all the services for 50 euro, then they gave us a sheet with the prices and the desk staff said there were no package deals (each service was 35 euros), but then they didn't charge us when we checked out (we just tipped the masseuse). It was really weird, but worked in our benefit.

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioned room (each room has its own perks). Possibly sandals for shower?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Spent a week here in May 2011. Very hospitable - Staff are excellent & the night duty employee Said is very helpful. Bed was a bit on the hard side fo my liking but slept OK. Could be a bit noisy if fully occupied because all rooms on three levels open onto a central core 'patio' where breakfast is served and if some groups are a bit loud it could disturb. We were lucky. Breakfasts were continental but good. Ample bread rolls, jam, eggs, warm pancakes, fresh orange juice, tea/coffee. The ladies had a hammam & massage which they loved. There is a steam room too.
Rooms have large flat screen TVs but only have Arabic, French, Italian speaking programmes. Also have aircon for the hotter months.
Located two minutes from Djemaa el Fna square which is unbelivably chaotic late afternoon and evenings, Arrived 3 days after the bombing and were apprehensive but experienced absolutley no trouble from local people who welcome tourists - just barter very hard for everything you buy - usually 50% off asking price. Begging is rife - watch handbags etc but we had no problems.
Access to the Riad is ultimately via very narrow alleys, luggage best handled by wheelbarrow porters for a few dirhams - but perfectly safe.
Do take in a trip to the Ourika Valley, and if time permits 2 - 3 days over the Atlas mountains to Ouarzazate or Zagora and a camel trip into the desrt with overnight in a Bedouin tent!
Morrocan dinner and show at Chez Ali (some ten miles out of town) is touristy for foreigners and locals alike but quite a spectacle - we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Probably better on 1st or 2nd Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

we decided a bit late to spend new year in marrakech, and so most of the more well-known riads were full, probably because we were a group of 4 adults and 3 children. this riad had availability, and although there were zero comments on line, we realized this was because it had only been open a month or so. the fotos looked good, and the location looked good, so we reserved half board, at a very reasonable price.
arriving from the airport, we were taken down some rather seedy looking streets, and we wondered what we were going to find! but when we eventually arrived, everything was super clean and friendly, and brand new. the style is more morrocan-morrocan than european-morrocan, as apparently the owners are 2 brothers who have returned homer from france, rather than the more typical foreign owned riads, which are more designed.
location excellent, rooms good size, with heatinmg and air.con., food fine, staff friendly, very quiet. the only draw back was that the mattresses are rock hard. brand new but positively othopedic. but apart from that, everything was fine, and I wish them all the best with the new enterprise.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Hamdane et SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hamdane et SPA

Address: 88, derb Sidi Bouloukate. | Rue Bab Agnaou - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 468 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Hamdane et SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au coeur de la Medina, et dans le quartier le plus prise de la Medina de Marrakech (Sidi Boulokate) decouvrez un lieu calme, authentique et chaleureux. Facile acces a pied, notre riad chambre d'hotes est idealement situee dans la medina pour rejoindre rapidement les celebres sites touristiques de Marrakech : la celebre place Jamaa El Fna, la Koutoubia, les jardins de Majorelle et de la Menara, les palais Bahia et El Badi, la medersa Ben Youssef, le musee de Marrakech et les fameux souks de Marrakech. Vous tomberez sous le charme de notre maison d'hotes, qui par sa decoration et son mobilier, reflete l'art et l'artisanat traditionnel marocain. Le RIAD HAMDANE ET SPA a ete renove dans la pure tradition locale et offre confort et excellent rapport qualite/prix. La convivialite du RIAD HAMDANE ET SPA en fait l'endroit ideal pour vos vacances en famille ou entre amis. Des votre arrivee, vous serez chaleureusement accueillis par Notre staff, Ce dernier se fera un plaisir de rendre agreable votre sejour a Marrakech en vous faisant decouvrir sa culture, les traditions de son pays et la cuisine marocaine. Le riad dispose de 2 suites pour 2 et 4 personnes et 14 chambres repartis en 2 etages, chacune de ses chambres joliment decoree dans un style zen et epure, revelant le savoir-faire artisanal marocain. Vous pourrez effacer la fatigue de la journee en profitant au riad du Hammam traditionnel, suivi d'un massage a l'huile d'argan. Le salon vous accueille autour du patio calme et paisible. La terrasse vous offre l'opportunite pour profiter d'une vue imprenable sur la Koutoubia et la Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Hamdane et SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Hamdane et SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.