We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Morrocan soup in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia Aguedal

Al Fassia Aguedal
9bis route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
+212 524 38 38 39
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 603 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
265 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Best Morrocan soup in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

It was like a luxurious oasis right outside the wall of the old Marrakech.

We ordered the usual Moroccan soup and expecting the same soup and portion but their usual serving portion is for 4:-) However, it was not the portion but how they prepared our soup that we enjoyed. We had tag kadra-riz and brochette mixte, they were all nice but they couldn't top the soup though.
All the waitresses are dressed in traditional Berber uniform but not sure if they are all Berber women.
This was a very relaxing place comparing to Le Comptoir and the food is much better.

The hotel arranged for the taxi to drop us off and the same taxi driver to pick us up when the restaurant call for him.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    186
    68
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
474 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“An excellent classy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A restaurant just outside the centre maybe 15 minutes by taxi, you can either sit outside or inside. It has beautiful decor and the place is run by women who also have a place in town. Certainly a top end very classy place, just not in prices as dinner for two including wine was only 65 euros.

Started with soup which was the best we tasted in Morocco and came in such a large tureen you could have had three bowls each

Followed up with lamb for me my friend had brochettes which was very nice

Ice cream to finish plus tea.

A very nice place in a beautiful setting worth the 10 euro return taxi ride and one of the best meals in Morocco.

Highly recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, no atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

On the strength of other TA reviews, we had high expectations for Al Fassia but were left somewhat disappointed. To clarify, there was nothing wrong with the food, staff, décor or service; it’s just that we were left thinking it was very expensive by local standards for an average experience.

All in all, my wife and I compared this restaurant to that in an international ‘five star’ hotel where the food is made a little bland (so as not to upset anyone) and the staff functional but not particularly talkative or friendly. If that’s what you like, then you’ll love this restaurant!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Funny Women in Morocco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This is the second restaurant run by a collective of Berber women. The first, more centrally located in the Medina, was fully booked so we headed out of town on recommendation. What ensued was delicious, entertaining and great value for money. The selection of salads for two as starters could have easily fed all four of us or been a full meal for four and the main dishes were generous too! Order cous cous if you're really hungry or be prepared to submit to wastage. We'd heard that the left overs go to the poor so that assuaged our guilt a little. Lastly the service - all four of us work in entertainment (comedy, acting, music) so we're a tough crowd! It was hilarious and our waitresses had the two men in our party firmly put in their place with a wit and humour! I was disappointed not to have room for dessert just to see what these funny, extraordinary Berber women would serve up alongside it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Best food in Marrakech so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Although expensive, it was completely worth it! The place was so nice, the service was great and the food was absolutely amazing! I recommend ordering the lamb with sweet tomatoes, best dish in the table!

PS. It's not absolutely elegant but you should be well dressed when going to this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia Aguedal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia Aguedal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia Aguedal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.