We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, no atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia Aguedal

Al Fassia Aguedal
9bis route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
+212 524 38 38 39
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #29 of 507 restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food, no atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

On the strength of other TA reviews, we had high expectations for Al Fassia but were left somewhat disappointed. To clarify, there was nothing wrong with the food, staff, décor or service; it’s just that we were left thinking it was very expensive by local standards for an average experience.

All in all, my wife and I compared this restaurant to that in an international ‘five star’ hotel where the food is made a little bland (so as not to upset anyone) and the staff functional but not particularly talkative or friendly. If that’s what you like, then you’ll love this restaurant!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    192
    113
    40
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Funny Women in Morocco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This is the second restaurant run by a collective of Berber women. The first, more centrally located in the Medina, was fully booked so we headed out of town on recommendation. What ensued was delicious, entertaining and great value for money. The selection of salads for two as starters could have easily fed all four of us or been a full meal for four and the main dishes were generous too! Order cous cous if you're really hungry or be prepared to submit to wastage. We'd heard that the left overs go to the poor so that assuaged our guilt a little. Lastly the service - all four of us work in entertainment (comedy, acting, music) so we're a tough crowd! It was hilarious and our waitresses had the two men in our party firmly put in their place with a wit and humour! I was disappointed not to have room for dessert just to see what these funny, extraordinary Berber women would serve up alongside it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Best food in Marrakech so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Although expensive, it was completely worth it! The place was so nice, the service was great and the food was absolutely amazing! I recommend ordering the lamb with sweet tomatoes, best dish in the table!

PS. It's not absolutely elegant but you should be well dressed when going to this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exquisite authentic moroccon cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having eaten at the lively Le Comptoire the night previous this was a welcome solace, providing superb food. The menu is predominantly Moroccan, but provided this is what you are after, I would highly reccomend. The prices also are'nt extortionate as its a little out of town and out of sight of the tourist targeted main square. Service was a little slow but it was wholly enjoyable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very good dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Back to Marrakesh for a wedding of a friend, after my bad experience of Riad Kniza, a collegue suggested to me the restaurant Al Fassia and I’m glad to have followed the advice. I had there a very good dinner, tasty, with good quality ingredients, with pleasant service by the team of waitresses. The restaurant, in Moroccan style, is new, located in a suburban area quite far from the hotels, but it is nicely decorated and with a good atmosphere. The bill as well was fair for the level of the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia Aguedal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia Aguedal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia Aguedal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.