We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waitresses should do some proper service training” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia Aguedal

Al Fassia Aguedal
9bis route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
+212 524 38 38 39
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 581 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Waitresses should do some proper service training”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was recommended by a friend so we paid a visit. Two of my friends are fasting for the Easter, so they wanted some Fish Tagine, in the menu, their Tagine is either vegetable of mixed. We asked if they could make fish only since they could make a vegetable alone, but then the waitress pretended that they don't understand us. I know how to cook, so I'm pretty sure they could make something out of fish only!
Then we noticed the other table were given bread for starters together with the olives and we didn't get any. We had to ask for it!
Every time we ask something they give us this odd look like they made us feel we don't have the right to ask.
There was only one pleasant waitress, she is a bit old and dark. She smiles at us unlike all other girls there who were just standing and looking at us.
And for the food... only the HARIRA was good, other than that it was all okay, I bet the food in Jma Al Fna is far delish than this.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    154
    53
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great setting, let down by service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Starter salads were impressive and is was great to get a little taste of everything. The tagines are good and like other review say, portions are generous. Wine was great, but very disappointing mixed kebab grill dish as the serving is small, rice bland and the whole dish isn't worth what they charge. Nonetheless, what would have been a lovely evening thanks to the setting and decor of the restaurant, was slightly ruined by the indifferent service, where the waitresses refused to address me directly and only interacted with my partner, and where us and all the tables around us had to struggle to get the attention of anyone all night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our Riad booked this for us and we were not disappointed. We had tagines and the portions are quite simply huge...I thought there would have been more spice in the couscous as to me it tasted a little bit bland, but overall the dish was very good. Neither of us could finish or have dessert. The red wine was fine and probably the same price as home. £18/20.
The service was great and the girls were very friendly. It was a nice change to have women working in a restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I normally research where to eat and when I when I asked my local about about this place, he confirmed they serve excellent local food at very reasonable prices. That was indeed true, with many locals around me eating. The food is great, prices very reasonable and they have a good wine list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Very pleasing experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very pleasant restaurant with lovely service and in a lovely setting . "Starter salads" are a true taste sensation , pastilla was good. The Tajines were fine but not exceptional - I imagine they were made in bulk and then "decanted" into a Tajine rather than cooked in the Tajine as there was no "sticky bottom" to the Tajine - however very passable .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia Aguedal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia Aguedal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia Aguedal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.