We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip from Fez to Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Authentic Morocco - Day Tours

Authentic Morocco - Day Tours
Avenue Allal El Fassi , Rue Muslim | Imm E , 1st Floor 03, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
(0) 661 17 52 74
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Authentic Morocco run private tours and treks suitable for couples, groups of friends or students and families with children. Tours run from Marrakech, Fes, Casablanca, Tangiers and elsewhere in the country on request including pick-up and drop-off in different cities. The company is registered locally as Authentic Journeys Morocco Sarl - a Morocco Tour Operator that is bonded with the Ministry of Tourism in Rabat and legally authorized to work with independent travelers and other tour operators. Our office is in Marrakech and all staff, other than Liz Williams, are Moroccan. In support of her commitment to work with the women and children of Morocco, Liz Williams is a founding member of the Children of the Sahara Foundation.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
London, Canada
1 review
“Amazing trip from Fez to Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015 NEW

We took four days to travel through the desert and mountains of Morocco, and it was phenomenal. Liz was very helpful while we were organizing it, and everything went smoothly. Our driver, Hishan, was very friendly and knowledgeable, and was always quick to offer suggestions of great places to take pictures of or walk around. Highly recommended!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    9
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our tour guide was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We booked a two day one night in the desert tour through email with Authentic Morocco, not really knowing what we were getting ourselves into. Our driver Amine was great, he spoke fantastic English was an impeccable driver. No car-sickness! and stopped at spots a long the way so we could take pictures. The night in the dessert that they had booked for us was charming! a pleasant surprise with bathrooms, showers a beautiful dinner and breakfast. Everything was better than we had hoped! We would definitely recommend using these guys for your sightseeing needs.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GREAT ORGANIZATION AND RECOMENDATIONS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We had a great time>
the places chosen great, the hotels to our standards and our style, the staff very professional, cordial, polite, punctual. Even the little mishap with our city guide was handled professionally from Driss .
would recommend Authentic Morocco any time

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb trip in southern Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

After comparing four private tour companies, we chose Authentic Morocco for a one-week private trip from Fez to Marrakesh via southern Morocco and the dunes at Erg Chigaga. Liz was meticulous in recommending the details of the trip, responding to our preferences and making useful suggestions. This is a highly professional company, offering extensive notes to help trip planning. The choice of driver and guide were both excellent. We were fully confident of the driving skills of Adele on the off-roads through the mountains. Marouane, our guide, offered insight and thoughtful observations on Berber life, without overloading us with information. We would not hesitate to highly recommend Authentic Morocco: it offered a view of Morocco that would have been very difficult for us to get on our own.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A spectacular trip into the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We booked this day trip with very little notice - we were already in Marrakesh and knew we wanted a day trip to the mountains, so I dropped an email to Authentic Morocco just two days in advance of the trip. Liz got back to me straight away (despite being away in the Sahara!) with some numbers to call. I arranged to visit their office near Bab Doukalla, where I explained what we wanted to their helpful staff and they set everything up very quickly and smoothly, despite the short notice.

We particularly wanted to visit the Glaoui Kasbah at Teluet, and so we were delighted to learn that this was possible in a day trip from Marrakesh. Our driver, Othman, came to collect us from our accommodation and proved to be an excellent driver, making us feel completely safe whether we were on winding mountain roads, bumpy desert tracks or in the Marrakesh traffic! The trip through the High Atlas was spectacular, and Othman was great at finding places with incredible views to stop for photographs (as well as the very important toilet/coffee/mint tea breaks). He also told us (in very good English) all about the local people, the villages and the landscape that we were passing through, and after we'd seen the amazing crumbling kasbah at Teluet he took us to see a series of other kasbahs in the area, via some of the most beautiful (and ever-changing) landscapes that we've ever seen.

The only small criticism that we might have is that we were hoping to learn a bit about the local animal and plantlife of the area. We saw various interesting plants and birds on our journey but this didn't seem to be an area that Othman knew much about. However, this is only a small thing and perhaps we should have booked rather earlier if we wanted a specialist wildlife guide.

All in all, we had an amazing day and would definitely recommend Authentic Morocco and Othman! The price (2000 Dh for four people) was higher than some of the less reputable tour companies might charge, but we felt it was absolutely worth it as we felt completely safe and well-looked after from start to finish.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Authentic Morocco - Day Tours also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Authentic Morocco - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Authentic Morocco - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.