We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but OK if on a budget or backpacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AMOMA.com
Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech
av Abdelkrim El Khattabi | Guéliz, route de Casablanca, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #400 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Basic but OK if on a budget or backpacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Not suitable for those who have difficulty with stairs.
There was no inner door on the lift so perhaps not good for children either.
Back packers hotel really.
Really enjoyed walking around the city from there and into the old town - we were on holiday so we had fun looking at the sites off the main roads.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    7
    3
    14
See reviews for
5
9
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I needed a room for the night in Marrakech before our flight home. We found this 'hotel' on laterooms.com and booked it. It was a good deal only 21 euros for the night. When we arrived the hotel looked dull and dingy. The man behind the desk looked quite scruffy and didn't seemed bothered to greet us when we arrived. He says that he doesn't speak english but he did speak quite good broken english with us. We paid for the room (without viewing it - BIG MISTAKE!). He gave us the room key and dismissed us to the 4th floor. When we got to the lift we were scared it would break down it looked so old. It has no inner door so you literally can see every door and the floor whizzing past you. When we got to the floor there were no lights on the corridor as you have to keep pressing a button to get light. We arrived at the room and as we entered you could immediately smell the musty and rancid smell. The room seemed to have a layer of grey everywhere. The TV was sticky and didn't work. The bed looked filty with a hole in the cover of the blanket. They have a 1920's style dial up telephone. I was dreading the idea of having to sleep in that bed and could only imagine they may have bed bugs. The balcony looked and felt totally unsafe, it sloped and had cracks down the wall. The bathroom also smelt unclean and looked horrid. Me and my husband decided that we would not be able to have a comfortable night sleep in this place and left to The Red Hotel further up the road near the Theatre Royal in a much nicer part of town. Highly Recommend.

The 'hotel' Zahia is located in the new area of Marrakech so not near the medina (old city) where the jemaa el fna is (the square where everything is happening). Even this hotel is not really in the nice part of the new city but there is a supermarket nearby and a few cafes. It is very budget, scraping the barrel kind of budget, and if that is your thing then go for it. But if you want peace of mind and a nice clean bed and bathroom look elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 29/08/12 for 3 nights and again on 08/09/12 for 4 nights. Wish I could have cancelled last ,4 nights. I went to morocco with my partner and my son, it was for his 21st birthday. The room was clean, very tatty, cupboards falling apart ect. I brought t/bags, sugar and dried milk from uk, as there was a kitchen in our apartment for 4. We arrived at 9pm, but could'nt even have a brew as there were no cups, only 2 plates, 2 pans, 1 kettle, 2 ringed electric worktop thing with dodgy plug, but I managed with glasses. air-con not working properly, so very stifling in the room, had to shut bedroom door to keep main lounge area cool. guy on reception not interested, cracked on he could'nt understand me [he could]!.be aware of rotting wood on the balcony, it is loose, someone could fall. suite 18 first floor. All electrics are dodgy.

Room Tip: second floor suite slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

When we got hotel Zahia at night, the man at reception, altho seemingly nice, could not speak english. The corridors were so dark, we had to use our cellphones for light to find our room. The room was pityful, we didn't even wanna use the bathroom or get into the sheets. The hotel is far from the djemaa el fna, u have to take a taxi there. The next morning when we complained and wanted to check out, the manager put up a big fuss and refused to refund us for our intented stay!! Hotel Zahia was a terrible experience for such a beautiful city.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This hotel is the worst I have ever seen, infact we did not bother unpacking our suitcases.
DO NOT PAY TILL you have seen the room you have booked!!!!!! ARE WE IN THE SAME HOTEL AS I HAVE READ IN THE REVIEWS AM NOT SURE!!! Cause the rooms were not the same as advertised on Laterooms.com.
The owner was not at all helpfull but abusive and refused to pay any of our money back and was shown out of the door. There were lights hanging from the ceiling just bare wires, the lift was not safe and was so old, the lighting in the hotel only stayed on for a few seconds leaving us in the pitch dark. The top bed cover was ripped and in holes. The shower cubicle was all rusty and so small.
I took photo's and will down load at a later date but should you wish to view it and there are no photo's contact me,as when booking with an agent namely Laterooms.com the photo's do not do it justice and should be struct off there list. NEVER AGAIN BE AWARE!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

My friend and I have just returned from a 1 week holiday in Marrakech, staying half board at the Hotel Zahia. The hotel is situated on a very busy street in the new town of Gueliz. There are several shops, restaurants and a supermarket all just a short walk away. The old town & market, Jemaa el Fna are a just under a couple of miles from the Hotel. Our room was clean but very basic, the beds were very firm. The tv has no remote control but they do have English speaking channels, one being a movie channel. The phone in the room was the old style rotary, not that we used it. Our room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were given daily also. The chambermaid was lovely and very friendly.

Using the lift is an interesting experience, sometimes it would stop between floors and the lights would go out, don't panic though, you just have to press the button a few times to get it moving again, on one occasion we had to hold the button down for the entire journey, you learn quickly that the lift is temperamental so if you are nervous in lifts I suggest you take the stairs.

The hotel does NOT have a restaurant, it has a sort of cafe serving coffee/tea and some cold drinks (no food) it is frequented by some locals. The pool is at the rear of the hotel/cafe and anyone who visits can sit in the pool area. The breakfast is served in the cafe area, it's the same everyday, chocolate croissants, french bread, coffee/tea and orange juice.

Our evening meal was at a local restaurant, every evening you go to reception collect a piece of paper to prove you can eat for free and then walk to the restaurant which is about a 2 minute walk away. The food in the restaurant was lovely, although you need to like pasta or pizza as those are the main dishes on offer. You can buy alcohol in the restaurant but this and any other drinks are not included as part of the half board meal, you must pay for them.

The staff are mostly friendly and helpful, they speak a little english, but it's worth knowing a little french as everything is written in french and most of the people in Marrakech speak it.

The hotel is clean but needs updating, don't use the toilets in the cafe, they are dreadful even the staff told us not to use them! There are toilets and changing rooms by the pool, wear shoes to go in them as they have a lot of ants on the floors. The pool is clean and cold, due to the buildings round the hotel the sun is blocked out from the pool area by about 3 o clock.

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, you have to be slightly forgiving of the standards of some of the facilities, the staff do their best with what they have. I would stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are noisier because of the traffic, but they have a far more interes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Was delighted with Hotel Zahia. Its location was perfect; was outwith the centre and was much quieter and the nearby cafes and restuarants were cheaper. The centre was a walk of approximately 45mins and there was plenty to see on the way.
The staff were very friendly and the rooms were spotless. The breakfast was lovely and the rooms were always stocked with clean towels, soaps and shampoo. Would definetly recomend this hotel and will be staying here again on my next visit to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech

Address: av Abdelkrim El Khattabi | Guéliz, route de Casablanca, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #400 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.