We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS HOTEL WAS THE WORST I HAVE EVER BEEN IN NOT ***” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech to your Saves list
Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   av Abdelkrim El Khattabi | Guéliz, route de Casablanca, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #418 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“THIS HOTEL WAS THE WORST I HAVE EVER BEEN IN NOT ***”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This hotel is the worst I have ever seen, infact we did not bother unpacking our suitcases.
DO NOT PAY TILL you have seen the room you have booked!!!!!! ARE WE IN THE SAME HOTEL AS I HAVE READ IN THE REVIEWS AM NOT SURE!!! Cause the rooms were not the same as advertised on Laterooms.com.
The owner was not at all helpfull but abusive and refused to pay any of our money back and was shown out of the door. There were lights hanging from the ceiling just bare wires, the lift was not safe and was so old, the lighting in the hotel only stayed on for a few seconds leaving us in the pitch dark. The top bed cover was ripped and in holes. The shower cubicle was all rusty and so small.
I took photo's and will down load at a later date but should you wish to view it and there are no photo's contact me,as when booking with an agent namely Laterooms.com the photo's do not do it justice and should be struct off there list. NEVER AGAIN BE AWARE!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    10
    3
    15
See reviews for
7
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

My friend and I have just returned from a 1 week holiday in Marrakech, staying half board at the Hotel Zahia. The hotel is situated on a very busy street in the new town of Gueliz. There are several shops, restaurants and a supermarket all just a short walk away. The old town & market, Jemaa el Fna are a just under a couple of miles from the Hotel. Our room was clean but very basic, the beds were very firm. The tv has no remote control but they do have English speaking channels, one being a movie channel. The phone in the room was the old style rotary, not that we used it. Our room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were given daily also. The chambermaid was lovely and very friendly.

Using the lift is an interesting experience, sometimes it would stop between floors and the lights would go out, don't panic though, you just have to press the button a few times to get it moving again, on one occasion we had to hold the button down for the entire journey, you learn quickly that the lift is temperamental so if you are nervous in lifts I suggest you take the stairs.

The hotel does NOT have a restaurant, it has a sort of cafe serving coffee/tea and some cold drinks (no food) it is frequented by some locals. The pool is at the rear of the hotel/cafe and anyone who visits can sit in the pool area. The breakfast is served in the cafe area, it's the same everyday, chocolate croissants, french bread, coffee/tea and orange juice.

Our evening meal was at a local restaurant, every evening you go to reception collect a piece of paper to prove you can eat for free and then walk to the restaurant which is about a 2 minute walk away. The food in the restaurant was lovely, although you need to like pasta or pizza as those are the main dishes on offer. You can buy alcohol in the restaurant but this and any other drinks are not included as part of the half board meal, you must pay for them.

The staff are mostly friendly and helpful, they speak a little english, but it's worth knowing a little french as everything is written in french and most of the people in Marrakech speak it.

The hotel is clean but needs updating, don't use the toilets in the cafe, they are dreadful even the staff told us not to use them! There are toilets and changing rooms by the pool, wear shoes to go in them as they have a lot of ants on the floors. The pool is clean and cold, due to the buildings round the hotel the sun is blocked out from the pool area by about 3 o clock.

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, you have to be slightly forgiving of the standards of some of the facilities, the staff do their best with what they have. I would stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are noisier because of the traffic, but they have a far more interes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Was delighted with Hotel Zahia. Its location was perfect; was outwith the centre and was much quieter and the nearby cafes and restuarants were cheaper. The centre was a walk of approximately 45mins and there was plenty to see on the way.
The staff were very friendly and the rooms were spotless. The breakfast was lovely and the rooms were always stocked with clean towels, soaps and shampoo. Would definetly recomend this hotel and will be staying here again on my next visit to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Large rooms, hot water, cute balcony, elevator, free storage of bags and comfortable beds. There were 2 english channels. The hotel has an adjoining restaurant which we did not use. However, there is a cheap eatery across the road which we would recommend. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the prices were very reasonable. The hotel is about 40 mins walk to the old medina and we walk quite fast. It's not a bad walk - but was a bit longer than we were expecting. The hotel helped us organise a trip at very short notice and when we stayed there a second time, we were welcomed as old friends. We were on 4th floor and wifi didn't work up there. It seemed you had to be in the lobby or on the 1st or 2nd floor common area (there are small lounges on each floor).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech

Address: av Abdelkrim El Khattabi | Guéliz, route de Casablanca, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #418 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.