We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in the heart of Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil

Save Saved
You added Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil
Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #527 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Garden Grove, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great value in the heart of Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in a single room. The room was pretty decent- with an ensuite bathroom, comfortable bed and air conditioning. The free breakfast served on the rooftop terrance was nice- mostly assorted breads, cofee, tea and orange juice. The man at the front desk was friendly, and check in was simple. The only minor complaint was the nose- which came from the central coutyard, and the window to the alley. Lots of people talking loudly- so you might want to sleep with ear plugs. The best asset of this hotel is the prime location- right in Djemma El Fna square. Overall this was a great value for the price, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    103
    34
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
92
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

gorgeous building, fab location right on the main square (on the square- find le grand balcon cafe and its the alleyway on the right, through an arch).
room was clean, had air conditioning. the roof terrace where you have breakfast is great for chilling out on during the day / evening too.
very friendly helpful staff.
you can't escape the noise from the square (which didn't bother me), but if you are a light sleeper- take earplugs!
i highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a great stay at Hotel Cecil last month. So close to Djemaa el'Fna, location couldn't be better. The air-con worked perfectly, was the best feeling to come back to the room after a hot and muggy day in Marrakesh. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We went on a Sahara tour for two nights and the hotel stowed our luggage away safely for us until we returned. Breakfast was lovely, served on the rooftop terrace. Couldn't ask for much more!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is very close to Djemaa el Fna, only 20 meters to the square. We booked double ensuite room with AC, and the room we had was a big one, with two single beds plus one double bed! and private bathroom. Our room was in third floor, but unfortunately no lift in the hotel. The breakfast was more than enough (they provided bread, milk, Moroccan tea, and orange juice all at once that we couldn't finish them all!).The roof terrace was very nice, we had breakfast here and we could see the square from the terrace. There's also (free) left luggage in the hotel. Knowing we're going to other country by plane, the hotel staff was offering us (a little bit compulsing if i could say) airport transfer cost 70 dirham. We thought the taxi would be grand taxi and it will be parked near the hotel. But apparently, the taxi was petit taxi, and we had to walk to the main street where we could find many taxis with much much cheaper cost. It was dissapointing. It's better to walk a little bit and get the taxi on the street, no need to book at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Amazing location, right on the main square! Rooms were very clean and comfortable, breakfast on the roof terrace was lovely and the staff were fantastic! We would definitely recommend this hostel to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. Nice and clean on par with a standard hotel. Great location. 2 min walk to the main square and markets where the snake charmers and other roaming entertainers are. Be careful not to hand over any valuable possesions ie cameras to these entertainers as they will hold them ransom for money. Also very close to where day trips depart from. Helpful receptionist. Nice breakfasts on the roof too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review as I sit on the hostel's rooftop terrace enjoying my last day of complimentary breakfast. This place was great! I had never stayed in a hostel before, and I think this sets the bar pretty high; the room was clean, bathrooms well-maintained, and location excellent (the hostel is only a few steps south of the Djemaa El Fna--it is tricky to find, but if you walk up to to the square and then peer down the north-south alleyways you can see it easily). In addition to all of this, the staff was extremely helpful and courteous. They helped us make reservations for both a camel trek excursion and bus tickets to our next destination, plus befriending the breakfast guy earned us extra fresh-squeezed orange juice and pastries. All in all, I can't recommend this place enough to anyone who wants a budget stay close to the craziness of Marrakech's giant public square.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil

Address: Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #527 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.