We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the right boxes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil

Save Saved
You added Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil
Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #514 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Ticked all the right boxes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Dates of stay - 1st - 4th and 7th - 10th October 2012.

Hotel Cecil was recommended to me by a friend who knows my accommodation needs, style and budget - she recommended well. I originally booked for 3 nights but I wasn't there long before I decided I'd book for my last 3 nights in Morocco too.

The location of this hotel could not be better, being just a few short steps from the Djemaa El Fna Square and a short walk from many souks and interesting roads and alleyways. Although there is a lot of hustle and bustle and noise on the square it was barely noticable in the hotel.

The staff were welcoming and helpful. The rooms, certainly judging by the one I had, are small and compact but very clean and provide all you can need on a few nights stay - cleanliness, basic comfort, security. Loved the shower - best temperature mix and water pressure I've found in a hotel in ages!

Breakfast - the only meal available - is taken leisurely on the roof terrace in a shaded area. It is a simple but more than adequate meal consisting of fresh orange juice/tea/hot milky coffee, pain au chocolat, french bread, butter, apricot jam.

I had arranged an airport transfer on arrival through the hotel contact, which unfortunately went a bit wrong. However, a word with the staff at the hotel and an email to the gentleman I had originally been in contact with and all was made well. Because of this, I would say that if you do book here (or anywhere else in the Medina area) please make sure you know exactly the transfer arrangements and how to get to the hotel because the tourist cars are not allowed onto the square after a certain time in the morning, although taxi's are.

Would I stay here again? Yes

Slight Downside - as with most properties of it's type there is no lift and you may have go up and down many stairs. If you have mobility problems it is better to be aware of this.
Big Upside - free wifi available in the communal areas.

Room Tip: Be aware that all rooms come off a central open square. The only ventilation and natural light come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    98
    30
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
88
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great hotel in the centre of Djemaa El Fna - typical Morroccan style. Rooms overlook the hotel squre with tall palm tree in the middle.
rooms are basic, so is the bathroom - there is no toilet paper and it does smell of sewage there, bo other than that it was great.
There are noises from the square at night - but you are located next to the busiest and exciting arket square in the wolrd!
Breakfast was served on top of the terrace - bread with jams and butter, orange juice, tea or coffee.
It is ok for a backpackers that need somewhere to stay and don;t excpect 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

During my last stay in Morocco I've been twice to Hotel Cecil, once with a friend and once alone. The riad is very nice, fsimple and basic furnished with a large palm tree in the center. I had a room on the ground floor with bathroom. When you fall asleep you hear the drums, but that's normal because you are just a short walk from one of the most exciting places in the world. Hearty breakfast served on the roof terrace and very helpful staff. They organize tours.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The location, as everyone previously said is perfect, in the heart of Marrakesh stone's through away from Djemaa el Fna, what can be a little bit of a trouble during the night time due to the sound of drums. But you get easily used to it. The stuff was helpfull. The place was clean. The value for the money is very good: 10 Eur/PP for a double room with the breakfast. The only little minus is that we had to share the showers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

During my vacation, I went twice to Hotel Cecil. Rooms are neat, everything is very clean. First we had a room without airconditioning, this was a bit hot. Later we had one with airconditioning, perfect! 220 DH including breakfast!
Staff was very helpfull finding taxis and telling us what a right taxi fare should be.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stumbled upon the Hotel Cecil trying to find a hostel off this square reputed to have a pool. After landing in 50.5 Celsius July 2012 temperatures and lugging a backpack, I gave this little Riad a shot. I was met by a kind manager, booked a single, very clean room for about $20 Canadian with a great new air conditioner, and got a delicious rooftop breakfast to boot!
Now, travellers who have been to Morrocco know what a great deal accomodations and restaurants are, but the fabulous location of this little gem, right off the Square but immune to the late-night noise makes it a real treat. And it is easy to find after getting lost in the Souks! Just look for the drink machine to the right of the terrace-topped restaurant at the far end of the square. I agree with other reviews that location is definitely the draw for this Riad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taghazout
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Cosy and comfortable hotel located right in the middle of marrakech medina. clean rooms, nice terrace on the roof. staff is helpfull. Breakfast is included, hot water 24/7, clean bathroom and toilete. next to the hotel u can find main city atractions. easy to find.

Room Tip: if its summer take a ground level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil

Address: Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #514 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil's unique, central location allows guests to enjoy the atmosphere of the Djemaa el fna 24/7, perhaps whilst sipping Moroccan tea or your favourite soft drink from our large rooftop terrace which overlooks the square. The Hotel Cecil is located directly on the Djemaa El Fna, which is a UNESCO World heritage site in Marrakech Medina. With a large rooftop terrace overlooking the fun of the square, you won't miss a thing! The Djemaa El Fna hotel Cecil has en-suite rooms furnished in Moroccan cedarwood, modern furnishings and some rooms have air conditioning. The Djemaa El Fna hotel Cecil has some rooms on the ground floor, for those who cannot climb stairs easily. Breakfast is included in the rates, which is served on the Rooftop terrace and in the ground floor courtyard. Guests can enjoy the Rooftop terrace 24/7 for the heat of the day or the cool of the night. Refurbished, cleaned and maintained to a good standard we offer each guest a calm and relaxing atmosphere for a rest from a busy day exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.