We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic. Chilling in Marrakech.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cecil Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cecil Marrakech to your Saves list
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech 400000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #594 of 1,148 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just fantastic. Chilling in Marrakech.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Great place to stay if you are new to Marrakech. Easy to find once you get the bus from the airport, it really is in a fantastic location. Just chilling on the rooftop bazaar, listening to the drone of snake charmers, tambourines and the intermittent call to prayer was a truly unique experience. I loved it. I was initially a little wary of the staff as I had read of some trouble with language, and a supposed problem with overcharging, but after a few days of getting to know the manager, I assure you these are trustworthy people. Being able to speak French is a plus for communicating with some of the lower level staff.

The simple but delicious breakfasts were great. You WILL get hooked on apricot jam.

Value wise, the rooms were very affordable and great for the price. Very clean and spacious. We also travelled out to the desert for a night, arranged through the hotel, and got a great price (You can haggle the price on pretty much everything there!). The drive was rather lengthy but I would have endured far more for the experience.

I won't go into detail about the entire visit but we (19 year old couple) had an amazing time there. The hotel was central to the enjoyment of our holiday and I am already planning on going back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck-Single
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Perfect location, perfect price. The breakfast on the rooftop was perfect as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elina_Tuulikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Hotel Cecil is located just off the Djema El Fna but it is quiet at night so you can get a good night's rest. We had a gorgeous breakfast on the terrace with excellent service and the best orange marmalade ever with lovely, crusty bread. The hotel has a beautiful open-air courtyard in the center, our room was big and we had 24 hour hot water. The owner was gracious and hospitable and even gave us a tour of the half of the hotel that wasn't finished yet. He was also very helpful and spoke excellent English, as did another gentleman who worked there. They didn't try to sell us anything or convince us to take a tour. The hotel was clean, has a great location, and a great price! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed in hotel Cecil on la plaza Djema el Fna. I have to say that the place really surprised me. The location is perfect of course, but there is more.

The staff is friendly and willing to help you with anything. The breakfast is included and served on the roof-terrace, it's a very tasty breakfast with fresh orange juice.

The rooms are well maintained and have a good ambiance. The riad itself is nice and cool, while outside on the street it's extremely hot! The beds are good and the bathroom clean.

We stayed for three nights, and altough we were outside the most time, this place felt like home!

If you are on a low budget, but want quality and a perfect location, then book a room here:)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivalasvacaciones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samoens, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

The location couldn't be better! The views on top of the balcony are wicked. The breakfast was so yummy, our favourite in Morocco. We could happily sunbathe on the roof top during the day and nobody seemed to mind.

Kept coming back to Marrakech throughout our five weeks in Morocco and booking this hotel again and again. Unfortunately the fourth try at booking the hotel was full toward the end of April. I guess the tourist season began to pick up and places were getting full earlier.

The rooms are very basic but cool enough with the hot days outside, the bed was comfortable.
Would definitely stay a fourth time!! And the hotel was under renovation of a whole new area whilst we were there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miasmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

The location is perfect if you want to stay very close do Djamaa El Fna - it's in a little street alongside the square.
The rooms are simple, but the bathrooms are very moroccan style, very nice.
You won't find a proper roomservice, so in terms of cleanness it's a little bir poor, but acceptable.
The breakfast is quite nice. I actually prefered this one rather then other breakfasts that I had in some other expensive riads where I was. You'll find a fresh orange juice, very nice bread (baguette), tasty butter and jam, tea and a croissant with a little bit of chocolate. And you can repeat everything.
The breakfast is served in the terrace. You will find a nice and relaxing area in a typical moroccan tent. Also you'll have a nice view from Djema El Fna and you'll be able to hear all of its sounds.
The staff speaks at least french, english and spanish.
The place and decoration are very nice, there's light in the pateo andchairs and cushions in all of the 3 floors. There's a big palm tree in the middle of the pateo which makes an even nicer atmosphere.
The worst part of it all is the noise that you could hear from the street, the mosque calls from prayer and from the square. If you're ok with that possibility, this place it's AMAZING, speacially for its price.

Room Tip: Choose 1st or 2nd floor rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marta_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I just got back from 3 fantastic days in Marrakech, no small part due to staying at Hotel Cecil. Don't waste your money on the hotels 15-20 minutes away from the Medina. They cost 3 times more and are in no way superior. The location is literally 50 meters away from the square. The roof terrace is an absolute gem, and having breakfast whilst paying 12,5 euros per night is just fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valencia2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#319 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#309 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#262 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel
Moroccan House Hotel
#324 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#203 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aday
Hotel Aday
#560 of 1,148 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cecil Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cecil Marrakech

Address: Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech 400000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #594 of 1,148 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Cecil Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing