We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic. Chilling in Marrakech.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cecil Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cecil Marrakech to your Saves list
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech 400000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #589 of 1,134 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just fantastic. Chilling in Marrakech.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Great place to stay if you are new to Marrakech. Easy to find once you get the bus from the airport, it really is in a fantastic location. Just chilling on the rooftop bazaar, listening to the drone of snake charmers, tambourines and the intermittent call to prayer was a truly unique experience. I loved it. I was initially a little wary of the staff as I had read of some trouble with language, and a supposed problem with overcharging, but after a few days of getting to know the manager, I assure you these are trustworthy people. Being able to speak French is a plus for communicating with some of the lower level staff.

The simple but delicious breakfasts were great. You WILL get hooked on apricot jam.

Value wise, the rooms were very affordable and great for the price. Very clean and spacious. We also travelled out to the desert for a night, arranged through the hotel, and got a great price (You can haggle the price on pretty much everything there!). The drive was rather lengthy but I would have endured far more for the experience.

I won't go into detail about the entire visit but we (19 year old couple) had an amazing time there. The hotel was central to the enjoyment of our holiday and I am already planning on going back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    132
    41
    8
    6
See reviews for
25
116
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Perfect location, perfect price. The breakfast on the rooftop was perfect as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Hotel Cecil is located just off the Djema El Fna but it is quiet at night so you can get a good night's rest. We had a gorgeous breakfast on the terrace with excellent service and the best orange marmalade ever with lovely, crusty bread. The hotel has a beautiful open-air courtyard in the center, our room was big and we had 24 hour hot water. The owner was gracious and hospitable and even gave us a tour of the half of the hotel that wasn't finished yet. He was also very helpful and spoke excellent English, as did another gentleman who worked there. They didn't try to sell us anything or convince us to take a tour. The hotel was clean, has a great location, and a great price! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed in hotel Cecil on la plaza Djema el Fna. I have to say that the place really surprised me. The location is perfect of course, but there is more.

The staff is friendly and willing to help you with anything. The breakfast is included and served on the roof-terrace, it's a very tasty breakfast with fresh orange juice.

The rooms are well maintained and have a good ambiance. The riad itself is nice and cool, while outside on the street it's extremely hot! The beds are good and the bathroom clean.

We stayed for three nights, and altough we were outside the most time, this place felt like home!

If you are on a low budget, but want quality and a perfect location, then book a room here:)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samoens, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

The location couldn't be better! The views on top of the balcony are wicked. The breakfast was so yummy, our favourite in Morocco. We could happily sunbathe on the roof top during the day and nobody seemed to mind.

Kept coming back to Marrakech throughout our five weeks in Morocco and booking this hotel again and again. Unfortunately the fourth try at booking the hotel was full toward the end of April. I guess the tourist season began to pick up and places were getting full earlier.

The rooms are very basic but cool enough with the hot days outside, the bed was comfortable.
Would definitely stay a fourth time!! And the hotel was under renovation of a whole new area whilst we were there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

The location is perfect if you want to stay very close do Djamaa El Fna - it's in a little street alongside the square.
The rooms are simple, but the bathrooms are very moroccan style, very nice.
You won't find a proper roomservice, so in terms of cleanness it's a little bir poor, but acceptable.
The breakfast is quite nice. I actually prefered this one rather then other breakfasts that I had in some other expensive riads where I was. You'll find a fresh orange juice, very nice bread (baguette), tasty butter and jam, tea and a croissant with a little bit of chocolate. And you can repeat everything.
The breakfast is served in the terrace. You will find a nice and relaxing area in a typical moroccan tent. Also you'll have a nice view from Djema El Fna and you'll be able to hear all of its sounds.
The staff speaks at least french, english and spanish.
The place and decoration are very nice, there's light in the pateo andchairs and cushions in all of the 3 floors. There's a big palm tree in the middle of the pateo which makes an even nicer atmosphere.
The worst part of it all is the noise that you could hear from the street, the mosque calls from prayer and from the square. If you're ok with that possibility, this place it's AMAZING, speacially for its price.

Room Tip: Choose 1st or 2nd floor rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I just got back from 3 fantastic days in Marrakech, no small part due to staying at Hotel Cecil. Don't waste your money on the hotels 15-20 minutes away from the Medina. They cost 3 times more and are in no way superior. The location is literally 50 meters away from the square. The roof terrace is an absolute gem, and having breakfast whilst paying 12,5 euros per night is just fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Cecil Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cecil Marrakech

Address: Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech 400000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #589 of 1,134 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cecil Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cecil Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.