We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb - a wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Superb - a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at Riad Al Badia in December 2012 and found the Riad to be fantastically welcoming, wonderfully charming and tastefully decorated.

The staff all went out of their way to ensure our stay was comfortable and perfect, from helping us get our bearings, to booking restaurants and allowing us the space to relax and enjoy the view and our surroundings.

We stayed up on the roof terrace and our room was excellent, so spacious, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was sublime, locally sourced and it gave us a real taste for the region.

I have recommended this Riad to friends and family and would certainly stay again should we visit Marrakech in the future.

Room Tip: The roof terrace was brilliant for the space and sun loungers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Sir,
I thank you for this lovely review, we are all absolutely astonished that you still remember us and Riad Al Badia more that one and half year ago, better late than never !! We did not forget you either. You stayed in the standard room, on 2nd floor of the Riad, directly on the terrace, this category is the smallest category at Riad Al Badia. We then have the Superior double room, the intermediate category and then the Junior Suite the largest category. We are all very grateful for yout stay at Riad Al Badia and this lovely review, we all hope that you are both well and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Thank you again for your kindness in writing this review and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    22
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
237
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Riad Al Badia is a wonderful place to stay in so many ways. Our room was tastefully decorated, spacious with excellent shower facilities. Having meals up on the roof terrace was very pleasant and the food was delicious, everything homemade and portions very generous. It is certainly worth having an evening meal at the Riad by pre ordering as they have to get the fresh produce in. The staff were eager to know that we felt comfortable throughout our stay and gave us a mini guided tour of Marrakech on arrival. The location of the Riad is excellent whilst being close to the centre, but situated in a back street away from the traffic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Manager at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Madam,
I thank you for this lovely review. Mostafa and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It was nice to meet you and your family, we keep a very elegant souvenir of your stay with us. Please transmit our best wishes to your Mum and your sister and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of the three of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We recently spend 3 nights at Riad Al Badia and had a fantastic experience. The riad is a lovely oasis. It was clean, comfortable and cool. Our room was delightful. Everything from the breakfast in the morning to the accommodations at night exceeded our expectations. This was our first trip to Marrakech so we did not know what to expect and could not have been more pleased. All of the staff went out of their way to care for us including a tour through the winding medina to get our bearings.

We were the only guests at the time (probably due to Ramadan and the world cup) so we had the pool and roof facilities to ourselves. There were four of us (2 adults and 2 children). The staff were so kind and friendly to us and made the children feel very comfortable.

The breakfasts were outstanding. Very traditional and memorable. Dining on the roof each morning was beautiful. The Moroccan wine they served in the afternoon was very good along with the local snacks.

If you are going to Marrakech, you should stay at this riad!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for this lovely review. Mostapha and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been a pure delight to receive you and to meet your very charming small family. It has been very interesting to see you discover Marrakech and our culture, your kindness and your enthusiasm will remain in memories. We wish you all four all the best for the nearest future and we really hope that this future will bring you back to Marrakech soon. Thank you gain and take good care of all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I spent a weekend away in Marrakech with a close friend a few months back. What a hotel...

If I had one complaint, for the breakfast they gave small toasted slices of bread that were a bit overdone (to the point of being rock hard) on one day, but that's it. The rest of the breakfast was brilliant. Its located just off the road, so its quiet throughout the night. Its also about 10 mins away on foot to Jemaa El Fna square, which is somewhere you have to visit in Marrakech at night...and you can easily walk almost anywhere from there.

The staff, however, were brilliant. We were welcomed in by Laurent (if I remember correctly), who gave a brilliant Guide to Marrakech, which was better than the guidebook we brought with us. I had no problems with the rooms either...or anything for that matter.

My only regrets are not staying longer and not ordering some evening meals from the hotel...they look delicious! I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone choosing to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Sir,
I thank you for this absolutely lovely review, we are deeply touched that you still remember us so many months later. We keep a true delightful souvenir of your stay at Riad Al Badia, and I thank you for your feedback on toats. This was reported earlier and so we did change immediately our toaster and this matter has been sorted out since then ! We all wish to see you again in Marrakech soon, Samira, our Chef would be excited to make you discover and taste her fresh, genuine, homemade traditional Moroccan food, just remember to book it ahead as we have no stock at all and only work fresh products of the day from the market ! You are home at Riad Al Badia, you know it. Thank you again for everything you gave us and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My friend and I have just returned from 4 nights in the Riad Al Badia and I honestly cannot speak highly enough of this amazing riad. As two friends away on a last relaxing holiday before we start new jobs, we were looking for a balance between the bustle of a city and a chance to unwind - the Riad Al Badia provides the perfect opportunity to do this.

The riad itself is exquisitely presented and immaculately clean - our twin room was comfortable and cleaned twice (!) a day. The plunge pool is a lovely touch in the sweltering Marrakech summer - we spent lovely afternoons/evenings by the pool or on the beautiful roof terrace. Shower gel, shampoo and moisturiser is provided, as well as a safe and hairdryer in each room - little touches that make all the difference. Laurent, Mostopha and the rest of the staff could not have been more welcoming, friendly and hospitable - they all speak French and English (and many more languages besides!), perfect for both me and my friend (I speak French but my friend doesn't). From the complimentary mint tea and petit fours on arrival (delicious!), to the detailed explanations of the map and tourist attractions, to showing us to the nearby square to help us orientate ourselves, nothing was too much trouble. They even let us keep our room until 5pm on the day we left at no extra cost and found us a taxi to the airport from the street. The staff were

Breakfast every day was spectacular - homemade yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice, mint tea, coffee, ordinary tea, crepes, toast, homemade jams, local pastries, fresh fruit - it was all delicious and set us up wonderfully for a day exploring Marrakech. We also had dinner in the Riad on our first night, an experience not to be missed - it was the best food we had in Marrakech, 4 courses of traditional Moroccan cuisine, including soup, little beef samosas, a delicious lamb tagine and poached pears as dessert. We could hardly move after the meal, but it was worth it and good value for money. Laurent also gave us some great restaurant recommendations throughout our stay, particularly in view of our budget, which wasn't huge.

I would also recommend the driver that can be booked through the riad to go on a trip to the Atlas Mountains/Ourika Valley - we had a great day out, although the climb up to the waterfalls is not for the faint-hearted!

Overall it was an unforgettable hotel experience - I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Marrakech. Thank you so much to the team at Riad Al Badia.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Madam,
I thank you for this lovely review, Mostapha and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been a very lovely meeting and a pure delight receiving you. Your interest for our culture, our cuisine, our usages were much appreciated such as your will to discover Moroccan people and the genuine areas of the city. We will keep a very warm and enthusiastic souvenir of your stay at Riad Al Badia, thank you so for everything you gave us. We all wish you the best for the nearest future and we all wish to see you again soon. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Me and my girlfriend have just returned from a four night stay at Riad Al Badia.

We opted to contact the Riad in advance and were offered an upgrade to the Turquoise room and took advantage of a transfer arranged by them. I am glad we did as any traveller new to Marrakech will know finding places can be a challenge especially after a flight.

From the out set we were warmly welcomed by Mostapha & Laurent with complimentary mint tea and house petit fours. They talked us through Marrakech and even took us out on a short orientation walk - again an added touch not to be declined.

We were then shown to our room which was lovely with some nice welcome touches including complimentary ice cold water. The room was a good size with ample storage space and essential air conditioning (especially in 40c heat!!).

Throughout our stay all the team could not have been more helpful and genuinely interested in our days itinerary. Often suggesting the best times to visit certain attractions and making reservations on our behalf. This included a trips to the Atlas Moutains & a Hammam at Les Bains de Marrakech - neither to be missed.

The continental breakfast included was delicious (see pic) and was varied slightly each morning and plenty to fuel anyone for a day sight seeing.

The Riad is located in the South of the Medina still making everything within the Medina accessible on foot. Also nearby are Kosy Bar and Le Tanjia (both had good food and served alcohol but at a price).

We ended our stay with a meal at the Riad which I would recommend doing at least once. It was not only delicious but good value for money and we were made to feel at home (a running theme throughout our stay).

I would recommend this Riad highly and during our stay there were several other couples and families with small children who equally appeared happy with their choice of Riad.

Thanks again to all the staff... Samira, Hanane, Fatima, Laïla, Jalil, Mostapha & Laurent!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Sir,
I thank you for this lovely review that went straight to our hearts. Mostapha and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been a pure delight to receive you these few days and see you discover Marrakech, our culture and our cuisine! This is another very lovely meeting that will stay in memories and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future. You are home at Riad Al Badia, you know this. Thank you again for everything and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST, N.IRELAND
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

What an unbelievable little gem of calm and comfort in a crazy and unexplainable city.

The Riad Al Badia is the most beautiful accommodation we have stayed in and we have been very fortunate with good accommodation in the many places we have visited. What sets it apart is the unparalleled service provided by Laurent and his team. Their attention to detail and willingness to cater for your every need makes Al Badia a special place. From walking side by side with us for our first venture out into the main city to laying on a wonderful breakfast spread each morning in the most romantic setting and at a time of our choosing, we could not find fault with this Riad.

As for Marrakech, difficult to describe, at first slightly unnerving but you very quickly warm to the people as they do to you. Traffic is a sight to behold and at times you feel like death is imminent but you quite quickly get used to this also. If your palate is a tad uncultured, as ours would be, food outlets will not come easy but you can definitely get by (I must shamefully admit we went McDonalds in the new city). Some of the main sights are a little underwhelming but the experience of the Jemma Al Fna square and the souks easily make up for this.

All in all this is a very worthwhile trip even just to experience the hospitality of the Al Badia.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Sir,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review. The all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been very pleasant meeting you both. Your kindness and enthusiasm will remain in memories and we keep a very warm souvenir of both of you. We wish you all the best for the nearest future and hopefully we will see you again soon. You are home at Riad Al Badia you know this. So thank you again for everything and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.