We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality and service of the very highest standard!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
BELFAST, N.IRELAND
1 review
462 helpful votes 462 helpful votes
“Hospitality and service of the very highest standard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

What an unbelievable little gem of calm and comfort in a crazy and unexplainable city.

The Riad Al Badia is the most beautiful accommodation we have stayed in and we have been very fortunate with good accommodation in the many places we have visited. What sets it apart is the unparalleled service provided by Laurent and his team. Their attention to detail and willingness to cater for your every need makes Al Badia a special place. From walking side by side with us for our first venture out into the main city to laying on a wonderful breakfast spread each morning in the most romantic setting and at a time of our choosing, we could not find fault with this Riad.

As for Marrakech, difficult to describe, at first slightly unnerving but you very quickly warm to the people as they do to you. Traffic is a sight to behold and at times you feel like death is imminent but you quite quickly get used to this also. If your palate is a tad uncultured, as ours would be, food outlets will not come easy but you can definitely get by (I must shamefully admit we went McDonalds in the new city). Some of the main sights are a little underwhelming but the experience of the Jemma Al Fna square and the souks easily make up for this.

All in all this is a very worthwhile trip even just to experience the hospitality of the Al Badia.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Sir,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review. The all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been very pleasant meeting you both. Your kindness and enthusiasm will remain in memories and we keep a very warm souvenir of both of you. We wish you all the best for the nearest future and hopefully we will see you again soon. You are home at Riad Al Badia you know this. So thank you again for everything and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
193
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, West Yorkshire, Uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
856 helpful votes 856 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was our first visit to Morocco so we wanted the experience of staying in a traditional Riad. We were picked up from the airport by a driver organised by Al Badia, a lovely chap who carried our cases and safely delivered us to our destination. We arrived during a thunder storm which did not make the local area look very pleasant, but all that changed as we entered the cosy Riad and the extremely wonderful welcome that Laurent and Siad gave us. We were settled into the reception area, given mint tea and Petite Fours and made to feel very comfortable. We had not had an evening meal and forgot to pre-booked one, however, Laurent suggested we freshen up, see our room, then he would show us where we could eat. He walked us along the road to the nearest square with restaurants, using the time to familiarise us with the local area and the rules of the road for our own personal safety, these tips were very helpful and set the scene for how we should get around the frenetic city of Marrakech. This excellent service was only the beginning of a faultless experience at Al Badia. This Riad is very clean, the breakfasts are continental in style with local breads, preserves, lovely fresh fruit and home made yoghurt, probably a little too sweet for our tastes but traditional and of a great quality. The Riad is staffed 24 hours which is comforting and great for guests arriving on late flights. We booked a dinner on two separate occasions which were cooked by Samira and were probably the nicest meals we had during our stay in Marrakesh. We ate on the terrace under the stars and were treated to the most excellent and individual service with local Morocan wine. Our room was the largest with a big shower, decorated with traditional features overlooking the inner courtyard reception with pool and water feature. Our time at Riad Al Badia has been a wonderful experience which has excelled beyond our expectations, Laurent and Siad who both speak excellent English, are only too happy to give advice and directions to the interesting sights in the area. We highly recommend a stay here to really get the traditional feel of Marrakech but with the back up and security of an excellent group of people. I did not write down all the names of other staff, I hope they accept my apologies, they were all wonderful and extremely professional. Thanks to all for a great stay.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are very quiet. Rooms on the terrace may be less quite if people are dining an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Madam,
I thank you very much for this lovely review and the all staff join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude. It goes straight to our hearts. This was another very nice meeting, with lots of memories. Your extreme kindness with everyone of us, your interest for Marrakech and our culture, all was much appreciated and we can not express our gratitude with words. Thank you for everything you gave us and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
480 helpful votes 480 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I cannot say enough great things about the hospitality we experienced while staying at Riad Al Badine. Laurent and Said were the best! The Riad was very clean only downfall was the size of the bathroom, tight space! Hands down the friendliness of the staff overshadows the lack of bathroom space. We would recommend this Riad to others traveling to Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Ladies,
I thank you very much for this lovely review. We are all very grateful for your stay at Riad Al Badia and we all wish to thank you for this stay. Your happiness, your smiles everyday, your kindness were much appreciated. We all wish you both all the best and we hope to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
561 helpful votes 561 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

What a great place to stay! Riad Al Badia is highly recommended, and we will certainly return when we visit Marrakech again.

Laurent, Saïd, Samira, Hanane, Fatima, Laïla, & Abdeljalil took any amount of trouble to make us feel comfortable and welcome, and to meet our every need and preference. We stayed for two nights in the Perle suite, which was very roomy and beautifully appointed. We then had two nights away trekking in the mountains, and returned to the smaller Corail room (the other being already booked), which was of course smaller and cheaper, but still roomy and still beautifully appointed. Both rooms were very good value for money.

The rooms all open off a central courtyard, with a cooling pool and fountain, and are air conditioned for maximum comfort in hot weather. Breakfast can be taken on the rooftop terrace, or in case of bad weather in a room off the courtyard below.

Breakfasts are a delight; with fresh juice, mint tea, coffee and black tea, five sorts of bread, three sorts of jam, butter, milk, homemade yoghurt, and fresh fruit. Breakfast is whenever you get up and want it! If you ask in the morning Samira will cook a wonderful dinner, that can also be eaten on the terrace and accompanied by very agreeable Moroccan wine. We had a tagine of beef and peas after an excellent selection of salads.

Laurent will arrange for you to be met at the airport or station and brought to the door. This is recommended or else it will be very hard to find the way, even a random taxi driver is likely not to know. But once there it is easy to find your way on foot to the sights of Marrakech and find your way home. Laurent will orient you by walking you half way to Jemaa el Fna pointing out the landmarks. After two days I knew it so well I was able to direct our driver as we came back from the mountains.

The riad is near Berrima Mosque; Jemaa el Fna, the ruined Badii Palace, the beautiful Bahia Palace, the famous tombs, the souk, the medina and some excellent restaurants are all within easy walking distance, and the walk is part of the fun. Marrakech is a great place, but a bit frenetic, and it was great to have a calm, quiet and peaceful spot so near to retreat to.

One of us had a bad time in the mountains, affected by the altitude and a nasty tummy-bug. Laurent was solicitude itself, and fussed over her like a mother, providing advice and medication that did wonders. She was soon absolutely fine. The comfort and calm of Riad Al Badia was a great help too of course.

Finally, Laurent obtained our train tickets for us and arranged for a taxi to the station - nothing was ever too much trouble.

I have no idea if other riads in Marrakech are good, bad or indifferent. I won't be finding out. After our great experience at Riad Al Badia it would be mad to stay anywhere else in Marrakech.

Room Tip: For us the modest extra price of the Perle Suite was good value. If you are a light sleeper and like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Sir,
I thank you for your absolutely divine review. The all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. Your interest for Marrakech, our culture, our cuisine were very much appreciated. This was another very nice meeting, I keep in memories our very interesting conversations. Thank you so for everything you gave us during these stays and we all hope to be able to receive you again in a not too far future. Take very good care of both of you and thank you again, we once again felt very privileged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
496 helpful votes 496 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

You really cannot fault the wonderful service from Laurent and his friendly team and Laurent even took time to walk us to the first square so that we could orientate ourselves. He was most helpful and nothing was too much trouble, if he didn't know the answer to an enquiry then he did his best to use local knowledge to find out.
This small riad is very calm and generally quiet but remember these are old traditional buildings. The lovely terraces are extremely tranquil where you can watch the storks swirling overhead or enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. There is 24 hour service which was something we weren't expecting but were grateful for. .
The Al Badia provides lovely clean towels twice a day and lovely products for use in the shower. Lovely comfy bed too which was turned down every night.
Breakfast was traditional and we enjoyed it apart from the very hard toast! Plenty of hot drinks, fresh orange juice, homemade yogurt, tasty jams, Moroccan breads/cake and fresh fruit.
We loved the personal attention and Laurent speaks excellent English so there is no problem making yourself understood when he is on site but to be honest, as Morocco is a French speaking country, we considered this to be a bonus not an expectation.
Honestly, the service is unbelievably fantastic and the sense of calm seeps into your bones - make sure you stay more than one night for its spell to work.
Thank you Laurent and team.

Room Tip: The Coral room has a nice bathroom and is a decent size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Madam,
What can I say after reading your absolutely very kind review, this went straight to my hearts and the all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay among us. It has been a pure delight to receive you and to see you discover our culture and our city. Thank you for all these privileged moments you offered us and let us share, I keep a very warm souvenir of our conversations too. So thank you so much for everything and we wish you all the best for the nearest future and hopefully it will bring you back to us soon. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
483 helpful votes 483 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I have have recently returned from a stay of 4 nights at the riad. We had a wonderful time which was made so by Laurent, Said and their team. They couldn't do enough for you and made you feel valued guests, I have never received such excellent service in a hotel. We stayed in the emerald room at the end of April, the room opened up onto a terrace which we particularly liked. I wouldn't hesitate in recommended you book here.

Room Tip: I think all the room here are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Madam,
I thank you for this very nice review. We all would like to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia, it has been a great pleasure having you these few days at the Riad. Your enthusiasm, your interest in Marrakech and your extreme kindness with everyone of us was much appreciated. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future and we wish you all the best. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
478 helpful votes 478 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed as a couple for one night in April, on our first night in Morocco. After a long journey and the introduction to the general craziness of Marrakesh quite late in the evening, I could not have been happier than to be welcomed by Said at the beautiful Riad al Badia. From the moment we walked through the door, everything became calm again as we sat with our tea just soaking up the peaceful surroundings. Said went out of his way to help us with orientation, both of the Riad and the surrounding streets, giving great advice and making sure we felt safe and looked after. The next morning, we had a wonderful breakfast on the terrace and Laurent was extraordinarily helpful making sure that we got a taxi who knew where we were going and would carry our bags. We only stayed one night as we were travelling around, but I definitely could have stayed for longer.

Room Tip: The ground floor room is extremely comfortable, but if you are staying longer than just one night, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Madam,
I thank you for this very kind review, Saïd and the all team join me to express you our gratitude for staying 1 night at Riad Al Badia. It has been very quick but was a nice meeting for all of us. We all wish to see you again a bit longer soon and we wish you all the best. Thank you again and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.