We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed as a couple for one night in April, on our first night in Morocco. After a long journey and the introduction to the general craziness of Marrakesh quite late in the evening, I could not have been happier than to be welcomed by Said at the beautiful Riad al Badia. From the moment we walked through the door, everything became calm again as we sat with our tea just soaking up the peaceful surroundings. Said went out of his way to help us with orientation, both of the Riad and the surrounding streets, giving great advice and making sure we felt safe and looked after. The next morning, we had a wonderful breakfast on the terrace and Laurent was extraordinarily helpful making sure that we got a taxi who knew where we were going and would carry our bags. We only stayed one night as we were travelling around, but I definitely could have stayed for longer.

Room Tip: The ground floor room is extremely comfortable, but if you are staying longer than just one night, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Madam,
I thank you for this very kind review, Saïd and the all team join me to express you our gratitude for staying 1 night at Riad Al Badia. It has been very quick but was a nice meeting for all of us. We all wish to see you again a bit longer soon and we wish you all the best. Thank you again and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
189
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
349 helpful votes 349 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We are a family of four and stayed at the Riad Al Badia for 5 nights altogether (2 nights, then a 5 day tour to the desert and then another 3 nights) and we absolutely loved it!! From the moment we walked in, Laurent and his team could not do enough to help us - including arranging our taxi's, getting hold of some African music that we'd said we'd liked and even filling in our departure forms so that we didn't have to do it at the airport! Nothing was too much trouble and they always went the extra mile! Our children are 8 and 9 and all the staff were so kind to them - they were sad to leave. The Riad itself was very tastefully and beautifully presented, our room of a high quality and the food delicious! We'd particularly recommend ordering the evening meal. We are vegetarian and the chef came up with an amazing meal that was one of the best that we had in Morocco. It was also only a 10 minute walk to the main square so very convenient to pop back to the Riad when we needed to. We can't recommend this Riad highly enough - if you want to experience amazing hospitality that is often lacking in your standard hotel then the Riad Al Badia is the place to come! Well done Laurent and the team!

Room Tip: Ask for the junior suite on the first floor as it is spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for this lovely review that went straight to our hearts. We all would like to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been a great pleasure meeting you and your delightful family. Your interest in our Culture, our country, our cuisine and our music were very much appreciated. We were also very impressed by the perfect education of your children they were just the icing on the cake. Thank you ever so much for everything you gave us, it has been a pure delight and we wish you all, all the best for the nearest future and hopefully it will bring you back to Marrakech. Take good care of all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

What can we add to the remarkable reviews of this delightful Riad. My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the end of our honeymoon and can't speak highly enough of Laurent, Said and the rest of the staff, at this oasis of calm and tranquility amidst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech medina. The rooms are lovely and the whole place is spotless, the staff are attentive, always smiling and very polite. Nothing is too much trouble. We were shown how to find our way around the medina and what to look out for. The advice was always good and greatly appreciated. Breakfasts were wonderful as we have come to expect from Morocco, everything fresh, delicious and locally sourced. We were sad to leave and were seen off by Laurent and Said, who wouldn't even let us carry our bags. A truly memorable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Turquoise room which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Sir,
I thank you for your lovely review. Saïd and the all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for staying at Riad Al Badia, we felt very privileged that you elected Riad Al Badia for the end of your Honeymoon. Your extreme kindness, your happiness, your interest in our culture all was very much appreciated and we keep a lovely souvenir of your stay with us. It has been a very nice meeting and we wish you both all the best and happiness for the long route to come. Congratulations for your wedding, you are a fabulous couple, do not change a thing. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future.Take good care of both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Amazing Riad, since the moment we walk in until we left it was perfect.
All the staff and service is 5 stars. The food is good, very quiet and relax. The top terrace has an amazing view. I will definitely recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Madam,
The all team join me to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia, it has been a pleasure for us to receive you these few days and we all hope that we will be able to see you again soon to keep on discovering Marrakech and our culture. Thank you to both of you. Take good care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

If you are looking for a Riad experience in Marrakech within the Medina itself, this is it! The Riad was a peaceful haven after the hustle and bustle of touring the narrow streets, Soukhs and squares of Marrakech. All the main attractions in the Medina are within 15-20 minutes walking distance. Laurent and his team looked after us and were always there to help and advise whenever we asked them. They were genuinely interested in our experiences at the start and end of each day and we came back feeling that we had made new and enduring friendships and not just received a service. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace with blue sky, sun and the buzzing of the streets below, and the muezzin calling to prayer was a wonderful experience. The rooms were very clean, tastefully decorated and airconditioned. You really do not need to spend hours researching what you are going to do, just book here and then ask Laurent for ideas! Thank you Laurent, Said and all the team for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Ground floor room has tiny bathroom window and depended on air conditioning for adequate ventilation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for this touching review. Saïd and the all team join me to express you our heartfelt thank you for staying at Riad Al Badia. It has been a pure delight having you these few days and watching you enjoying Marrakech and our culture a bit more every day. Once again thank you to both of you for all you gave us, this was a lot and we all hope to be able to see again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maulden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

A charming Riad located in the southern part of the medina near the Bahi and Badi Palaces and the Saadian Tombs. A bit quieter and less touristy than the central area, but an easy 15 minute stroll to the Djmaa el Fna.

This Riad is an absolute delight. We had the Ivory Room on the ground floor which, although not huge, was perfectly satisfactory with a big, comfortable bed and an excellent walk-in shower. The food was particularly good, with Samira the cook producing wonderful baked buns and pastries for the excellent breakfast, which were taken on the lovely little roof terrace when the weather permitted. We would also recommend you try at least once the home cooked evening meal. Needs to be ordered in advance; we organised this for our arrival day and it proved to be one of the best meals of our trips to Marrakech.

What was really outstanding though was the attentive but unassuming service provided by Laurent and his lovely team. We particularly appreciated the time Laurent spent with us on our first day, advising on the best places to visit and how to make the most of our time in Marrakech. His insight and advice on how to handle the process of negotiation in the soukhs was invaluable!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Madam,
I thank you ever so much for such a lovely review. Bousta and the all team are extremely grateful for your stay at Riad Al Badia. This was another very nice meeting and another beautiful little story in the great book of Riad Al Badia. I keep a very warm souvenir of our very interesting conversations and we all would like to wish you all the best for the future and we also hope that it will bring you back to Marrakech and to Riad Al Badia. You are home here, you know this. Thank you again for everything and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We have just had the most amazing 4 days in Marrakech staying in the beautiful Riad Al Badia.
On our visit to the Palace Bahia we learnt the word Riad means Paradise - this is so very true.
Laurent and all the staff are wonderful, all so very kind and helpful. You can't go wrong if you follow all his advice.
I am now trying to perfect my mint so I can make them all one when we return!
Marrakech itself is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Madam,
I thank you for your lovely review that went straight to our hearts. The all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. This was a lovely meeting and we keep a very pleasant souvenir of your stay with us. Your interest for Marrakech, your understanding of our culture, your sense of humor of both of you were much appreciated. We are all looking forward testing again your mint tea. The first one was excellent, we can not wait to test the new ones ! Thank you ever so much for all the moments shared and this emotion at time of your departure and hopefully we will see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you and do not change a thing !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.