We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay - January 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay - January 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Our stay at the Riad Al Badia was quite exceptional. Upon arrival we were greeted by Laurent and his team who are all perfect hosts. After an overview of the area we were shown to the main square so as not to get lost!

The Riad is a beautiful oasis of calm away from the maddening crowd of the Medina. It is so quiet we slept for 9 hours!!

Breakfast provided was a great start to the day. We were celebrating two birthdays during our stay and the staff made sure the days were memorable!!

We would definitely recommended staying at this lovely Riad.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Sir,
I thank you for this lovely review, Bousta and his all team join me to express you both our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We felt very honored that you choose Riad Al Badia to celebrate your two birthdays. We all keep a very warm souvenir of your stay at Riad Al Badia, your smiles everyday, your sense of humour, your kindness, your interest in our culture were very much appreciated. Thank you again for everything and hopefully 2014 will bring you back to Marrakech ! Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    20
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
210
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had an excellent stay at Riad Al Badia at the beginning of January 2014. My wife had planned the trip as a suprise for my 30th birthday. When making the booking, Laurent was always prompt with his reponses and was always extremely helpful.

On arriving at the riad, we were welcomed by the softly spoken Ahmed who immediately put us at ease. We were served mint tea and cakes before being shown to our beautiful room. We had the room just off the roof terrace which was gorgeous.

Nothing was too much trouble during our stay - Laurent showed us how to make mint tea, Rachid boiled water for my wife's hot bottle each night, and Bousta took us to the centre of Marrakech on our first day to orientate us.

Riad Al Badia is excellently placed in the south of the old town, the Medina. The main square Jemaa El Fna is a 15 minute walk north, and two palaces are within a short 5 minute walk. There are plenty of street markets, shops, squares and restaurants in the surrounding area.

We ate at the riad for two of the three nights and the food was fantastic. The recommendation by the riad for the third night was also great. We opted to have breakfast on the roof terrace twice and again this was no problem.

We would definitely stay here again and cannot recommend the staff highly enough. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Sir,
I thank you for your very kind review, Ahmed, Bousta and the all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been a pure delight for the all team, right from the first mails, organizing your surprise trip for your birthday, until the moment you left the Riad. The all team remember your extreme kindness, your smiles everyday and your interest in our cuisine. Thank you so much for everything you gave us and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The fiancé and I stayed here toward the beginning of December 2013. This riad is located a short walk from the main square and its super easy to find once you get the hang of it. We were greeted by a staff and given mint tea and time to relax as we arrived in the evening. We were given our room and a tour of the riad. The riad was beautifully decorated with fresh roses everywhere. Our room was downstairs next to the dining area. It was clean and had all of the essential toiletries (even a hair dryer). The beds were comfy and towels were provided. Breakfast was the standard Moroccan breakfast, plenty of tea, coffee, and breads. The riad arranged for a taxi transfer to the airport upon our departure (pricey but worth it). Overall I would recommend this riad and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for your lovely review. Ahmed, Bousta and the all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We keep a very warm souvenir of your stay at Riad Al Badia. I do not believe that airport transfers are pricey, especially on arrival when I do believe it is far easier than trying to come on your own in such a different country, 18 euros, often guests commented us they did pay around 200 dhs which is an equivalent of 18 euros and then had to look for the riad, lost their way a bit had to add 20 to 30 dhs for the young people that finally show them the way to come to the riad, at the end you loose time and it costs around 20 to 22 euros instead of 18 euros with our driver, waiting for you at the airport, drives you in a more comfortable car than a taxi, helps with your luggage and accompanies you to the door of the Riad. I agree it does worth it and once again I do recommend any future traveler, coming to Marrakech on first time to contact us ahead and organize an airport transfer, will be easier and cheaper. Thank you for the opportunity to remind this point and for everything you gave us during your stay. We all wish you a fantastic New year 2014, full of success and prosperity and hopefully this new year will bring you back to Marrakech. Take good care of both of you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is one of those beautiful places you also hope you will end up staying. I loved everything about the Riad al Badia. The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. They could not do enough to help. The riad was a little oasis in the madness of Marrakech. On the first night someone walked us to the nearest square so we could get our bearings in Marrakech and recommended a restaurant. They couldn't do enough to help and arranged outings and made suggesitons on what to see and do and where to eat. If you want to go to Marrakech and stay in the medina then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you so much for your lovely review. The all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for staying with us these few days. It has been a pure delight to receive you. Your extreme kindness and your smiles will remain in memories and Samira will always be pleased to cook traditionnal homemade Moroccan dinner. We all wish you both a happy new year 2014 and hopefully we will see you again in a not too far future. Thank you again for everything you gave us and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Flying from Gatwick on Xmas eve was a nightmare but 7 hours late we were two of the lucky folk who did take off to our destination. During the delay I was in constant email conversation with the staff at the Riad al Badia who assured us they were following the story and would ensure everything ran smoothly when we did finally arrive. Sure enough the taxi they organised was waiting for us and after a short ride we arrived at the Riad and were welcomed with a smiling, softly spoken, ever-so-welcoming man called Rashid. Rashid asked us to sit down in the wonderfully relaxing area on the ground floor while he made us mint tea and delivered some Moroccan pastries. Perfect after a stress laden day!

Despite the fact we were only there for 3 days I could fill another 10 paragraphs with examples of great customer service but you don't need to hear it...you just book this place for your trip.

Enough said.

Thank you to all the staff (or should I say 'Family'?) at the Riad...we had a fantastic trip!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you for your kind review that went straight to our hearts. Ahmed and the all team would like to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia. Rachid, our night worker was that pleased to see you, after spending so much time in airports… finally you were home ! We all keep a very warm and sweet souvenir of our conversations, your interest in our culture was much appreciated too. So thank you ever so much for everything and we all wish you both a very successful 2014 and hopefully this new year will bring you back to Marrakech. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Al Badia for a week over Christmas. From the moment that we stepped through the door, we were met with an incredibly warm welcome and excellent hospitality. All the local attractions and amenities were explained and pointed out to us on a map over a glass of mint tea and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was a good size and comfortable but could have done with a better shower and regularly renewed bottled water. Situated around 15 mins walk from the Djemma El Fna square, the route into the centre of the medina was clearly explained and restaurant recommendations given where required. We ate at the Riad on one evening during our stay and the food was exceptional! Breakfast was also very authentic and beautifully served although some fresh fruit would have been appreciated. We felt very fortunate to be staying in this Riad and were particularly impressed with the outstanding level of attentiveness and friendliness from Laurent and Ahmed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Sir,
I thank you for your kind review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for you stay at Riad Al Badia. Your smiles, your kindness, your interest in Marrakech and South of Morocco were much appreciated. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future and we all wish you both a very happy new year 2014. Thank you for everything once again and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is a very pretty Riad in old Marrakech, easy to reach on foot from where the taxi drops you on the main road. We only stayed one night, but enjoyed the place. Good points: tea and pastries on arrival, very kind and knowledgeable staff who even walked us to the main square to orientate us and point out the major landmarks, quiet, lovely roof terrace where we had a delicious breakfast in the sun, big comfy bed, safe in room. Points for improvement: you have to book dinner FIRST THING in the morning if you want to eat in the riad, the little indoor pool is pretty and inviting but actually too cold in the winter months, the bathrooms need a bit of a makeover and some new towels, breakfast could include some fresh fruit to balance all the carbs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you for this review and I would like to comment your « points for improvement » as we are always very careful with the feedback of our guests and do believe that there is always room for improvement. In this case, the fact that we do require for dinner to be informed in the morning for the evening, not necessarily « First thing » in the morning, as you know we have no time for breakfast and our guests can inform us up to 11am or even 12pm. This is due to our philosophy which is to make a fresh traditionnal Moroccan Cuisine, with only fresh products of the market of the day. Everything is homemade at the Riad and is of the day. We have no stock, no frozen products nor frozen prepared dishes. We buy everything according what we need, as we do not promote wasting, and just fresh vegetables or meat, even our chicken we buy them alive, at least we know where they are coming from and that they still have feather ! We sincerely believe that this makes a difference and I thing that all our guests who had at least 1 dinner at the Riad commented it. This quality in the cuisine requires that we are informed early enough in order that Samira, our Chef, goes to the market, purchases and comes back to the Riad to cook. This is not microwave cuisine. This is exactly the philosophy at Riad Al Badia and changing this would not be an improvement for me, but a lost of quality. I understand that you arrived quite late and just stayed 1 night, but if you had send us a short mail ahead, at least to inform us that you would be arriving by 7.pm at the Riad we would have provided you with all information including this option of dinner and you could have booked it and enjoyed a true fresh traditionnal homemade Moroccan Cuisine. The pool which is a little refreshing bassin, like 90% of pools in Marrakech is not heated as this is much more for summer time to refresh. Now what I really do not understand is your comment on « makeover » of bathrooms and new towels. There is not 1 month at the Riad, when we do not do a bit a refresh somewhere, this is an ongoing process. Your room was refreshed on December 9th & 10th 2013 so 10 days prior to your arrival and we do nearly renew our towels every 8 months, maximum 1 year, which is for a hotel, very often. In between the end of our « refresh » in this room and your stay, other guests stayed in this room, just before you and commented on this website their stay, you will recognize the « little ensuite with its little corridor » and they did not evaluate the room as you did, but they stayed longer. I suppose that staying 1 night arriving at dark and leaving next morning is maybe not enough time to make an accurate evaluation of a property, or our kozy atmosphere at night was not enough light. I do not know, because this was such a short stay, I even did not have the opportunity of meeting you, what I regret today, as I would have been very pleased to explain you what philosophy and what experience we wish to offer our guests. I Thank you anyway for this feedback, always very precious for us. We all thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia and we all wish you all the best for the next 2014 year. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.