We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Brilliant location within walking distance to main square but off main road making it very quiet at night.
Staff were always very friendly and helpful. The Riad terrace would be great in warmer weather.
We eat one evening in the Riad which was very tasty and cooked fresh by their chef.
Would recommend this Riad and would certainly return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you for your very kind review. Ahmed and the all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia during these few days. Your sense of humor, your interest in Marrakech, your extreme kindness with everyone of us were much appreciated. We all wish to see you again soon and we wish you a very succesfull 2014. Thank you again for everything you gave us and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    22
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
234
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This riad is beyond good, it is exceptional.

The service from all the staff was 5 star. From the initial greeting where they sit you down with mint tea and go through how to orientate yourself in the maze that is the medina, recommend good restaurants (which were fantastic) and the must-see sights, to a tour of the riad.

The riad itself looks to be in a shabby side street and distinctly dishevelled from the outside. Once you step inside though, you enter an oasis of calm. It's warm at night when it was cool and cool during the day when the sun was baking. The atrium is very tastefully decorated with a little ornamental plunge pool and lovely columns. The breakfast room is elegant as is the rooftop terrace and sun deck.

Our room was spacious, well lit, with a safe and a lovely ensuite with its own little corridor. Shower was powerful and hot.

Breakfast was filling with lots of breads/pancakes, yoghurt, mint tea, coffee, orange juice and my personal favourite - fig jam.

For all its fantastic facilities and design, the real clincher in this riad is the staff.

Laurent, the manager, has clearly and obviously brought high-end French hospitality to this riad in North Africa.
All the staff were very friendly, helpful and interested but in that uniquely perfect French blend of being attentive but not in your face.

Little things really made a big impression on us:
- Ahmed taking us to the first main square from the riad to show us the route through the maze of side streets
- At the end of our stay, filling in our departure cards for us, all ready to slip into our passports.

In one word - exceptional.
Stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Doctor,
I thank you so much for your lovely review that went straight to our hearts. It has been a great pleasure having you these few days at Riad Al Badia. Your interest in our culture, in discovering Marrakech, our way of life and our cuisine through various restaurants was just a pure delight. We keep a very elegant souvenir of your stay with us. The all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for everything you gave us and we wish you a very happy New Year 2014, we hope this will be a succesfull year and maybe it will bring you back to Marrakech. Do not change a thing, you are both absolutely fabulous and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Recently returned from a four night stay in this Riad. The management and staff as friendly and welcoming as ever they cannot do enough for you. If you want a table booked or a taxi hired they will do it for you.

They seem to be a font of all knowledge about the medina and tourist attractions. If its your first visit they will escort you part of the way and point you in the right direction.

Well worth our second visit

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir, dear Madam,
I thank you for this lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude it has been an equal pleasure to receive you this second time at Riad Al Badia, where you remain home, you know this. Time is going and nothing changed. You were as we reminded you, still extremely pleasant, always kind with everyone of us, interested in discovering always a bit more. Thank you ever so much for everything you gave us again this year and we wish you both all the best for 2014, that will maybe bring you back to Marrakech again, who knows. You are both always more than welcome. Thank you again for everything you gave us. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights recently, very friendly welcome, excellent introduction, with viewing of Medina from roof top, Ahmed is the information hub, gave us Short history, directions in Medina, some tips to see, shop, restaurant etc. very friendly staff, always eager to help U. Food prepared by Samira, to be ordered in the morning, fresh from the Market, real home cooking, excellent. Laurent is quite entertaining.
Very accommodating re breakfast times, we always had it on the roof terrace
Free WiFi, very helpful

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Ladies,
I thank you for your kind review. Ahmed and his team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for this stay at Riad Al Badia and we all hope to be able to receive you again soon. We wish you all the best for this new coming year 2014. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Had an amazing stay. Food was really good, bed comfortable. Great recommendations of things to do, and great introductions to Moroccan culture. They really did everything to make us feel welcome and ensured we had a great stay.

It was quite hard to find, but the locals were happy to guide us to the door. Its down a side street just past the Berrima Mosque, down the right hand side of a pharmacy.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the turquoise room, but just go for what is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you for your lovely review and it has been a great pleasure for the all team to receive you. As you noticed, like for 90% of Riads in the Medina, Riad Al Badia is located in small pedestrian streets. Car access is less than 1 minute walk and it is easy to find when you got your bearings. We can not recommend enough any future traveller to contact us ahead and we can organize airport transfer with our driver waiting for you at airport or train station and accompanies you to the door of the Riad or we send you directions, at least you know where to go. Thank you so for all you gave us and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Our best wishes for this new coming year. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

A real old city Flavor.. new experience .
Straight description: excellent service from ALL team, and real Moroccan food.
Arrival: It is located in Berrima area, within the Medina, and across the city from Train Station, so you have to FARE DEAL with taxis.
Warning: It is not on main street, but into thin walking passages, so don't get scared... you are safe... guided by a local boy (deal with him the tip too)
Any question or concern?: AMHED (manager) will solve it ALL.
Suggestion: Do Not pre-book restaurants ( as I did), they have great suggestions.
Payments: they take it All: Euros, Dollars, Dirhams, Major Credit Cards, ... so, have a good trip!

Room Tip: Few rooms ( 6) , so book any you find available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for this lovely review. Ahmed and the all team would like to thank you for all the exchanges and they keep a very enthusiastic souvenir of your stay at Riad Al Badia. We all hope to see you again soon and we wish you both all the best for the nearest future. Take good care of both you and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Superb service in a wonderful building, the Riad Al Badia was exactly what we needed after each terrific but adrenaline-filled journey into the streets and alleys of the Medina.

Wi-fi: free, reliable, and speedy.
Sleep: comfortable bed and total darkness. Thin walls, although the hotel staff took care to manage the noise so not a problem unless you plan to go to bed early in the evening.
Team: hard to imagine a more perfect staff and management. extremely helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. can't say i've ever experienced better service anywhere in the world.
Location: close to the key parts of the medina. we walked everywhere, but that might not be a good idea for guests with any kind of mobility limitations since the principal road leading to the riad lacks sidewalks. that's not unusual for the medina area, but it would be less convenient if you're not an agile walker.
Relaxing: the first floor and two rooftop decks are great spots, though we didn't use the roof much due to rain.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you for this lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for staying at Riad Al Badia these few days, even if the weather was rainy, wich is a bless for us and in a way quite rare !! It has been a great pleasure for the all team to receive you. We all hope to see you again in a not to far future and we wish you both all the best for the New 2014 coming soon now !! Thank you again for everything and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.