We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Scunthorpe
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Home from home in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Recently returned from a four night stay in this Riad. The management and staff as friendly and welcoming as ever they cannot do enough for you. If you want a table booked or a taxi hired they will do it for you.

They seem to be a font of all knowledge about the medina and tourist attractions. If its your first visit they will escort you part of the way and point you in the right direction.

Well worth our second visit

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir, dear Madam,
I thank you for this lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude it has been an equal pleasure to receive you this second time at Riad Al Badia, where you remain home, you know this. Time is going and nothing changed. You were as we reminded you, still extremely pleasant, always kind with everyone of us, interested in discovering always a bit more. Thank you ever so much for everything you gave us again this year and we wish you both all the best for 2014, that will maybe bring you back to Marrakech again, who knows. You are both always more than welcome. Thank you again for everything you gave us. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
179
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights recently, very friendly welcome, excellent introduction, with viewing of Medina from roof top, Ahmed is the information hub, gave us Short history, directions in Medina, some tips to see, shop, restaurant etc. very friendly staff, always eager to help U. Food prepared by Samira, to be ordered in the morning, fresh from the Market, real home cooking, excellent. Laurent is quite entertaining.
Very accommodating re breakfast times, we always had it on the roof terrace
Free WiFi, very helpful

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Ladies,
I thank you for your kind review. Ahmed and his team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for this stay at Riad Al Badia and we all hope to be able to receive you again soon. We wish you all the best for this new coming year 2014. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Had an amazing stay. Food was really good, bed comfortable. Great recommendations of things to do, and great introductions to Moroccan culture. They really did everything to make us feel welcome and ensured we had a great stay.

It was quite hard to find, but the locals were happy to guide us to the door. Its down a side street just past the Berrima Mosque, down the right hand side of a pharmacy.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the turquoise room, but just go for what is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you for your lovely review and it has been a great pleasure for the all team to receive you. As you noticed, like for 90% of Riads in the Medina, Riad Al Badia is located in small pedestrian streets. Car access is less than 1 minute walk and it is easy to find when you got your bearings. We can not recommend enough any future traveller to contact us ahead and we can organize airport transfer with our driver waiting for you at airport or train station and accompanies you to the door of the Riad or we send you directions, at least you know where to go. Thank you so for all you gave us and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Our best wishes for this new coming year. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

A real old city Flavor.. new experience .
Straight description: excellent service from ALL team, and real Moroccan food.
Arrival: It is located in Berrima area, within the Medina, and across the city from Train Station, so you have to FARE DEAL with taxis.
Warning: It is not on main street, but into thin walking passages, so don't get scared... you are safe... guided by a local boy (deal with him the tip too)
Any question or concern?: AMHED (manager) will solve it ALL.
Suggestion: Do Not pre-book restaurants ( as I did), they have great suggestions.
Payments: they take it All: Euros, Dollars, Dirhams, Major Credit Cards, ... so, have a good trip!

Room Tip: Few rooms ( 6) , so book any you find available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for this lovely review. Ahmed and the all team would like to thank you for all the exchanges and they keep a very enthusiastic souvenir of your stay at Riad Al Badia. We all hope to see you again soon and we wish you both all the best for the nearest future. Take good care of both you and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Superb service in a wonderful building, the Riad Al Badia was exactly what we needed after each terrific but adrenaline-filled journey into the streets and alleys of the Medina.

Wi-fi: free, reliable, and speedy.
Sleep: comfortable bed and total darkness. Thin walls, although the hotel staff took care to manage the noise so not a problem unless you plan to go to bed early in the evening.
Team: hard to imagine a more perfect staff and management. extremely helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. can't say i've ever experienced better service anywhere in the world.
Location: close to the key parts of the medina. we walked everywhere, but that might not be a good idea for guests with any kind of mobility limitations since the principal road leading to the riad lacks sidewalks. that's not unusual for the medina area, but it would be less convenient if you're not an agile walker.
Relaxing: the first floor and two rooftop decks are great spots, though we didn't use the roof much due to rain.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you for this lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for staying at Riad Al Badia these few days, even if the weather was rainy, wich is a bless for us and in a way quite rare !! It has been a great pleasure for the all team to receive you. We all hope to see you again in a not to far future and we wish you both all the best for the New 2014 coming soon now !! Thank you again for everything and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked for my wife's birthday and we are both used to travelling for work so were looking for something 'extra'. We definitely found it.
This review has a mixture of advice and info which I hope will help someone like me who had not been to Morocco / Marrakech before.

First off we took up the option of transfers to and from the airport. Arriving at night in the south of the Medina and walking through small alleys to the Riad is a little daunting and I would not have liked to do this with an unknown taxi driver. We were well met by a very friendly driver at the airport and he explained some of the sights and districts on the way.

Upon arrival at the riad we immediately felt at home. The riad is small, but exceptionally clean and atmospheric. The welcome session was excellent and all the staff are a mine of great information about life in Morocco. I had no idea of what to expect in Marrakech and without the sound advice of Laurent, Ahmed and Bousta I think I may have found the hustle and bustle of Marrakech just too much. They explained tipping customs, how to avoid certain tourist traps (like the ever helpful guide who walks you somewhere when you ask for directions) and the ever perplexing customs behind haggling.

The room was delightful and breakfast was served whenever and wherever we wanted. There was more than enough food, it was all home made and it was presented in a style that would grace most five star hotels. We had two evening meals in the hotel and two evening meals out in the Medina. The food in the Riad was the best food we ate in Marrakech. The tagine we had on the first night was amazing and the food on our last night was incredible...salads we had never even though of and beef tagine with artichoke and peas!

The Hammam the riad organised at Les Bains de l'Alhambra was brilliant. Strictly for the tourists and done with brilliant over the top style (I shall never forget the rose petal bath next to my wife in a double tub.) The massages were also very good.

They booked dinner for us at the Dar es Salaam restaurant for my wife's birthday, which was beautifully kitsch with amusing waiters, good entertainment and good food (see separate review).

The Riad staff organised a ride in a Caleche (horse drawn carriage) for us and made sure the driver knew to go through the parts of town we had not yet seen. Every evening we arrived back at the Riad to a warm welcome and general interest in our day.

Marrakech is an exhausting and exhilirating city. The people are friendly in a way which requires understanding, as was explained to me by Laurent, it is all a little piece of theatre that is intended to be enjoyed on both sides. If I compared the experience of the Souks in Marrakech with Istanbul's Grand Bazaar, the Souk is so much more polite and done with an air of fun, but without this 'briefing' from Riad staff I would still have misconstrued what was going on.

Ahmed and Laurent both suggested we visit the 'centre artisanale' and this is good advice, if nothing else than to get ball park figures for asking prices in the Souk.

Two final suggestions for Marrakech - the Maison de la Photographie is amazing and the lunch on the roof was fantastic; second there is a small shop selling 'throws' on the way to Place Blanche Fer, the price is half that in the Souk and the lady is lovely. Ok sales pitch over, but get ready for more of the same in Marrakech.

Overall our stay in Marrakech was incredible. I am sure there are lots of good riads to stay at and different places suit different people. The little bit 'extra' for me at this hotel was the staff and the help they provided in being able to get the best out of Marrakech. As the saying goes life is what you make it, and in this case all the team (Samira, Hanane, Fatima, Bousta, Ahmed, Laila, Abdel Haddi and Laurent) made life in Marrakech that little bit better and easier to enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you so much for this lovely review that went straight to our hearts. Ahmed and the all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We all really enjoyed every moment shared with both of you during our time in Marrakech. It was a true privilege to receive you for Madam’s birthday and it was a pure delight seeing you every day discovering our culture and customs, so different from « western » and understanding our city and its people. Your true interest in our history, our culture, our cuisine, our customs, our values were very much appreciated and this is an other meeting that is over the words. You just reminded us why one day we decided to operate in the tourism and the hotel industry. Thank you so much to both of you, our very interesting conversation will remain in memories and we keep a very elegant souvenir of both of you. We all wish you the best for the nearest furture and hopefully this new year 2014 will bring you back to Marrakech, you are always welcome. Thank you for all this emotional moments you offered us and see you very soon. Take good care of both of you and please do not change a thing, you are both fabulous. Thank you ever so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Thank you to all the team at Riad Al Badia, especially to Ahmed for his wonderful recommendations and assistance. The customer service you receive is wonderful including a walk to the main square on your first evening to get your bearings. Our stay here was amazing and Laurent, Bousta, Samira and the rest of the team are professional and nothing is too much trouble to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Although the bathrooms are small, you are staying in a traditional Riad in the Medina. The reason this Riad is highly rated is due to the service and welcome you receive - it is not another soul-less chain hotel. Highly recommend Cafe Arabe and the Hamman.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you for this lovely review. It has been a great pleasure for the all team to receive you these few days at Riad Al Badia. The all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future, you are home at Riad Al Badia you know this. We all wish you all the best for the New Year coming and thank you again for everything you gave us. Take good care of both of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech
Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.