We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Had an amazing stay. Food was really good, bed comfortable. Great recommendations of things to do, and great introductions to Moroccan culture. They really did everything to make us feel welcome and ensured we had a great stay.

It was quite hard to find, but the locals were happy to guide us to the door. Its down a side street just past the Berrima Mosque, down the right hand side of a pharmacy.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the turquoise room, but just go for what is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you for your lovely review and it has been a great pleasure for the all team to receive you. As you noticed, like for 90% of Riads in the Medina, Riad Al Badia is located in small pedestrian streets. Car access is less than 1 minute walk and it is easy to find when you got your bearings. We can not recommend enough any future traveller to contact us ahead and we can organize airport transfer with our driver waiting for you at airport or train station and accompanies you to the door of the Riad or we send you directions, at least you know where to go. Thank you so for all you gave us and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Our best wishes for this new coming year. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    20
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
210
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

A real old city Flavor.. new experience .
Straight description: excellent service from ALL team, and real Moroccan food.
Arrival: It is located in Berrima area, within the Medina, and across the city from Train Station, so you have to FARE DEAL with taxis.
Warning: It is not on main street, but into thin walking passages, so don't get scared... you are safe... guided by a local boy (deal with him the tip too)
Any question or concern?: AMHED (manager) will solve it ALL.
Suggestion: Do Not pre-book restaurants ( as I did), they have great suggestions.
Payments: they take it All: Euros, Dollars, Dirhams, Major Credit Cards, ... so, have a good trip!

Room Tip: Few rooms ( 6) , so book any you find available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for this lovely review. Ahmed and the all team would like to thank you for all the exchanges and they keep a very enthusiastic souvenir of your stay at Riad Al Badia. We all hope to see you again soon and we wish you both all the best for the nearest future. Take good care of both you and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Superb service in a wonderful building, the Riad Al Badia was exactly what we needed after each terrific but adrenaline-filled journey into the streets and alleys of the Medina.

Wi-fi: free, reliable, and speedy.
Sleep: comfortable bed and total darkness. Thin walls, although the hotel staff took care to manage the noise so not a problem unless you plan to go to bed early in the evening.
Team: hard to imagine a more perfect staff and management. extremely helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. can't say i've ever experienced better service anywhere in the world.
Location: close to the key parts of the medina. we walked everywhere, but that might not be a good idea for guests with any kind of mobility limitations since the principal road leading to the riad lacks sidewalks. that's not unusual for the medina area, but it would be less convenient if you're not an agile walker.
Relaxing: the first floor and two rooftop decks are great spots, though we didn't use the roof much due to rain.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you for this lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for staying at Riad Al Badia these few days, even if the weather was rainy, wich is a bless for us and in a way quite rare !! It has been a great pleasure for the all team to receive you. We all hope to see you again in a not to far future and we wish you both all the best for the New 2014 coming soon now !! Thank you again for everything and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked for my wife's birthday and we are both used to travelling for work so were looking for something 'extra'. We definitely found it.
This review has a mixture of advice and info which I hope will help someone like me who had not been to Morocco / Marrakech before.

First off we took up the option of transfers to and from the airport. Arriving at night in the south of the Medina and walking through small alleys to the Riad is a little daunting and I would not have liked to do this with an unknown taxi driver. We were well met by a very friendly driver at the airport and he explained some of the sights and districts on the way.

Upon arrival at the riad we immediately felt at home. The riad is small, but exceptionally clean and atmospheric. The welcome session was excellent and all the staff are a mine of great information about life in Morocco. I had no idea of what to expect in Marrakech and without the sound advice of Laurent, Ahmed and Bousta I think I may have found the hustle and bustle of Marrakech just too much. They explained tipping customs, how to avoid certain tourist traps (like the ever helpful guide who walks you somewhere when you ask for directions) and the ever perplexing customs behind haggling.

The room was delightful and breakfast was served whenever and wherever we wanted. There was more than enough food, it was all home made and it was presented in a style that would grace most five star hotels. We had two evening meals in the hotel and two evening meals out in the Medina. The food in the Riad was the best food we ate in Marrakech. The tagine we had on the first night was amazing and the food on our last night was incredible...salads we had never even though of and beef tagine with artichoke and peas!

The Hammam the riad organised at Les Bains de l'Alhambra was brilliant. Strictly for the tourists and done with brilliant over the top style (I shall never forget the rose petal bath next to my wife in a double tub.) The massages were also very good.

They booked dinner for us at the Dar es Salaam restaurant for my wife's birthday, which was beautifully kitsch with amusing waiters, good entertainment and good food (see separate review).

The Riad staff organised a ride in a Caleche (horse drawn carriage) for us and made sure the driver knew to go through the parts of town we had not yet seen. Every evening we arrived back at the Riad to a warm welcome and general interest in our day.

Marrakech is an exhausting and exhilirating city. The people are friendly in a way which requires understanding, as was explained to me by Laurent, it is all a little piece of theatre that is intended to be enjoyed on both sides. If I compared the experience of the Souks in Marrakech with Istanbul's Grand Bazaar, the Souk is so much more polite and done with an air of fun, but without this 'briefing' from Riad staff I would still have misconstrued what was going on.

Ahmed and Laurent both suggested we visit the 'centre artisanale' and this is good advice, if nothing else than to get ball park figures for asking prices in the Souk.

Two final suggestions for Marrakech - the Maison de la Photographie is amazing and the lunch on the roof was fantastic; second there is a small shop selling 'throws' on the way to Place Blanche Fer, the price is half that in the Souk and the lady is lovely. Ok sales pitch over, but get ready for more of the same in Marrakech.

Overall our stay in Marrakech was incredible. I am sure there are lots of good riads to stay at and different places suit different people. The little bit 'extra' for me at this hotel was the staff and the help they provided in being able to get the best out of Marrakech. As the saying goes life is what you make it, and in this case all the team (Samira, Hanane, Fatima, Bousta, Ahmed, Laila, Abdel Haddi and Laurent) made life in Marrakech that little bit better and easier to enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you so much for this lovely review that went straight to our hearts. Ahmed and the all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We all really enjoyed every moment shared with both of you during our time in Marrakech. It was a true privilege to receive you for Madam’s birthday and it was a pure delight seeing you every day discovering our culture and customs, so different from « western » and understanding our city and its people. Your true interest in our history, our culture, our cuisine, our customs, our values were very much appreciated and this is an other meeting that is over the words. You just reminded us why one day we decided to operate in the tourism and the hotel industry. Thank you so much to both of you, our very interesting conversation will remain in memories and we keep a very elegant souvenir of both of you. We all wish you the best for the nearest furture and hopefully this new year 2014 will bring you back to Marrakech, you are always welcome. Thank you for all this emotional moments you offered us and see you very soon. Take good care of both of you and please do not change a thing, you are both fabulous. Thank you ever so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Thank you to all the team at Riad Al Badia, especially to Ahmed for his wonderful recommendations and assistance. The customer service you receive is wonderful including a walk to the main square on your first evening to get your bearings. Our stay here was amazing and Laurent, Bousta, Samira and the rest of the team are professional and nothing is too much trouble to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Although the bathrooms are small, you are staying in a traditional Riad in the Medina. The reason this Riad is highly rated is due to the service and welcome you receive - it is not another soul-less chain hotel. Highly recommend Cafe Arabe and the Hamman.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you for this lovely review. It has been a great pleasure for the all team to receive you these few days at Riad Al Badia. The all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future, you are home at Riad Al Badia you know this. We all wish you all the best for the New Year coming and thank you again for everything you gave us. Take good care of both of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umea
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had high expectations and were surely not deceived. The reception at our arrival, the service, the kindness of everyone at the Riad was overwhelming. Ahmed greeted us upon arrival and and informed us every day of what we needed to know to get the most of our stay. Samira cooked the best possible marrocan food delicately served by Bousta and Ardelhadi. The discrete and effective room service provided by always smiling ladies Hanan, Fatima and Leila was perfect.
Mr Laurent supervised everything with diligence and also told the history of the city and the customs of the country, helping us to be able to appreciate our stay much better then we would have if we only had red about these things.
We left regretting that our stay was so short and with a feeling of having made new friends.
Yves K

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you from the deepest of my heart for this very kind and touching review. The all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia, it has been a pure delight having you these few days. We keep a very warm souvenir of your stay among us, your interest for our culture, our customs, our cuisine were much appreciated. I would like to thank you for our very interesting conversations, they were very much appreciated too. Some meetings are over the words, this is another one and once again, we feel very privileged and grateful having been able to meet and receive you. We wish you both our best wished for the rest of 2013 and a very successful new year 2014. We sincerely hope to see you again soon. Take care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I usually save reviews on TripAdvisor for when I have something different to say compared to other reviews. This unfortunately is one of those occasions. Having booked the riad on the basis of its excellent reviews, we expected a lot and were quite underwhelmed. The riad is not bad - it's attractively decorated and the staff were very friendly (although a bit over the top at times) - but I struggle to understand the great rating.

For a start, the walls (both internal and external) are very thin so our sleep was disturbed every night by staff, other guests and noise from the street. At times it felt like there were 10 people in the room rather than 2. The breakfast was uninspiring - a yoghurt and a selection of breads - no hot option, no choice of menu and the same thing every day. Also, due to the bees on the rooftop terrace, we were driven inside to the dingy window-less dining area. The photos that appear to show a swimming pool are completely misleading - the pool is barely larger than a bathtub and situated in the middle of the reception area - probably not somewhere where many people would feel comfortable stripping to their bikini/trunks, despite the staff comically suggesting that we might like to.

My final word of warning is about the excursions the hotel offers. Although not expensive by European standards, the prices offered by the hotel are 4 or 5 times as expensive as equivalent trips offered by tour agencies in the city - so I would recommend you shop around. The one recommendation we did follow was when the day spa we wanted to visit was unavailable, we asked the hotel to arrange an alternative. What they arranged for us was NOT a spa - it was a day in someone's back garden with workmen crashing around in the background and a massage from someone who appeared never to have given a massage before. When we later discussed this with the owner, he apologised but offered no compensation.

In conclusion, this riad is a pleasant enough place - the rooms are nice and the location is good for the southern medina sights - but I simply do not understand the great rating this hotel has and I am sure there are many other hotels in Marrakesh that offer better quality for a similar price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
I thank you for this comment and I feel very frustrated that you did not mention anything while you were at the Riad. Riad is a traditionnal Moroccan house, in the genuine area of the city, the Medina, staying in a Riad is to experience the true everyday life of Moroccan Family. I will not comment breakfast, size of walls, or the refreshing bassin, I suppose that you did not expect a Riad to be a Riad but would have felt more comfortable in a standardized hotel . Many others guests who stayed at the Riad could raise the quietness, the varied continental breakfast with different breads and or venoiseries… One extra point that you maybe misunderstood is the excursions. We do provide with our partners all sorts of day tour or activities from the Riad including the hammam. Our partners are selected carefully for the quality of service as we do provide on an everyday level, what you felt like beeing sometimes « a bit over the top », once again it does depend on what you are looking for and what your expectations are. All our partners provide, in their speciality, service of quality. Excursions, will be just for you and not joining a group of tourist, with your private car and private english or french speaking driver, providing you informations or for other options, it does include lunch and private guide on site. We do not push anybody, we do propose these excursions or activities to any of our guests that is interested and we do redirect our guest with a more limited budget to agencies where prices will be lower, as you join a group, have to go to a certain place to meet the group… we have no problem at all in proposing these agencies doing a good job there again in what they do propose. We can recommend or give orientations when we know what you think and what you are looking for. Regarding your SPA experience, you did not mention that you decided last minute to organize this hammam day, at a period when Marrakech is very busy and all our partners were full. My colleagues proposed you a last place, in the country side that we often recommend for the swimming-pool in summer time, for our guests that are avoiding the very « trendy » places where you go to be seen, but our guests who just want to relax and enjoy a quiet place to swimm outside in a garden. There again our guests who visited this place where happy. They did add recently a spa, simple one, and yes maybe this was not to the top yet, but this is not the first choice, all hammam were full for this last minute request. There again, planning a bit ahead, we can book and at the best time the hammam we do recommend and any of your choice, we do not earn our lifes on hammams or excursions, no commission but we do require our partner, not to bring our guests into shops during city tours, or stop to Camel or Argan cooperatives during 1 day trip, this will make a difference for us and we just let our guests know that this option is available. We feel very sad that you did not enjoy as much as expected your stay at the Riad but be assured that it was a pleasure for us to receive you.
We wish you all the best for the coming year 2014. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.