We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Riad Al Badia. Laurent and his team are so professional and make each and every one of their guests feel extra special. Samira's food is to die for - a level above all of the restaurants we tried, and the yoghurt at breakfast was really special. Ahmed, Bousta and Abdul-hadi were so kind to us and so good at their jobs. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you for much for your lovely review, Ahmed and the all team join and would like to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We keep a very warm souvenir of both of you and we all hope that this new year coming will bring you back to us ! Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    22
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
240
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Despite an unpreposessing approach, this Riad is truly excellent, and exceptional value for money. Its location in the Medina makes it ideal for those wanting to walk around, and get to know the old city. It's worth arranging a pick-up from the airport with the hotel, as the taxi driver will guide you to the Riad, which you would have difficulty finding for the first time.

Ahmed was on hand to brief us and give directions to get everywhere, and was extremely helpful throughout our stay. We had dinner at the Riad the first evening, and it was as good as anything we ate outside. All the staff were very helpful.

Our room was perfectly comfortable, but had a very small bathroom; it's worth trying to get one of the bigger rooms, but this was the last room available when we booked at the last minute.

The roof terrace is a great place to rest after a day in the Medina, and surprisingly quiet, given the mayhem outside. Breakfast was served on the lower terrace, which was very pleasant, except for the bees which were quickly attracted to the jams and marmalade.

Restaurant bookings were very efficiently made by Laurent, and local recommendations were generally very helpful.

The call to prayers at 4am every morning was the only downside, but not specific to this hotel.

In summary, it's hard to beat for location and price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you very much for such a lovely review. Ahmed and the all team join us to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been very pleasant to count you among us during with these few days. Once again and thank you to mention it, we can not recommend enough any potential future traveler at Riad Al Badia or any Riad in the Medina to contact us ahead and we can organize our driver to come and collect our guests at the airport or at the train station, or we can send some directions to make things easier on arrival. When you get your bearings, it is very easy. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future, we wish you both all the best for the rest of 2013 and a very successful 2014. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I had a true quintessential riad experience at Riad Al Badia. This all happened because of Ahmed and his staff. They made our stay a memorable visit. The raid is a true oasis in the desert. A hiding paradise from the busy, noisy streets of Marrakech. Thank you Almed and staff for your immaculate hospitality. Will definitely come back if we are in Marrakech. By the way, we loved the breakfast served on the roof terrace, what a lovely place!!

Room Tip: It would help to have the Riad to arrange a pick up from the airport ahead of time. It's not ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Madam ,
I thank you for your kind review, Ahmed and the all team join me to thank you from the deepest of our hearts. It has been a pure delight having you these few days at the Riad and see you discover everyday our culture and Marrakech. Samira gives you a special thanks for your lovely review of her breakfast and she hopes to be able to cook a dinner for you next time ! Thank you again for everything and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at Riad al Badia from the first friendly welcome until the helpful departure. The tips and advices offered for sights, restaurants and walking around the Medina gave us valuable insight making it easy for us to just enjoy the experience of Marrakech. The breakfast in the morning at the roof top terrace was especially good because of the homemade vanilla youghurt. We loved it. The last evening we got served the most tasty dinner homemade especially for us at the riad. Highly recommended. If you are looking for a special place to stay while in Marrakech this is the place. You will feel at home. Tusen takk from Sigrid & Erik

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you so much for this lovely review, Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been a great pleasure for the all team to receive you and to see you discover Marrakech, our culture and our cuisine. Samira is so pleased that you enjoyed her homemade Cuisine and yogurt. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Thank you again for everything and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A fantastic stay This Riad is so authentic. The staff are so helpful they can not do enough for their guests including showing you the way to the central square on your first day or evening. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The evening meals which must be pre-ordered are delightful and served on the roof terrace (very romantic) They also booked trips for us with no charge. All in all Excellent. Thank you for such an enjoyable stay Jackie and Kim

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Ladies,
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It has been a great pleasure meeting you and having your these few days at the Riad. The all team join me to thank you from the deepest of our hearts for everything you gave us. Your extreme kindness, your sense of humor will remain in memories. We all wish you all the best for the nearest future and hopefully it will bring you back to Marrakech. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Riad Al Badia and their staff made our stay in Marrakech memorable. It's very beautiful and it provided a wonderfully peaceful place for us to return in the evening. In particular, the friendly, able staff made the Riad's hospitality and service perfect. We had dinner there one evening and the food was delicious. We hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was lovely so the superior ones must be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you for your kind review. The all team join me to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It was a pleasure having you these few days, you are home at Riad Al Badia, so hopefully we will be able to see you again soon. Thank you for your enthusiasm and for everything you gave us. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Even before we arrived our expectations were high due to the efficient and polite email exchanges with Laurent when arranging taxi transfers to and from the airport and our first evening meal at the Riad.
On arrival at the Riad we were warmly greeted by Laurent at the door, and were introduced to Ahmed and Helen. Throughout the stay the whole team gave a whole new meaning to the phrase "going the extra mile" from an evening stroll (at our leisure) to gain our bearings, to booking restaurants and giving great tips on how to enjoy the whole Marrakech experience.
We enjoyed, dinner at the Riad, mint tea and pastries and the restaurants....Kozybar, Peppenero, Cafe Arabe and Earth Cafe.
This really was a haven to relax and enjoy in, listen to Laurent and his recommendation to play your part in the theatre that is the Medina.
We loved it and really hope you do too. We will return.
A BIG British Thanks to Laurent and Ahmed in particular (Laurent - rest assured we will never change and neither should you). Chris, Dave, Terry and Rozina

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Ladies, dear Gentlemen,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review, Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We keep a very enthustiastic souvenir of your stay among us. This was a pure delight seeing you discovering our culture, our cooking and playing your roles in our big theater. Thank you for everything you gave us, your extreme kindness, your smiles, our very interesting conversations will remain in memories. So yes I repeat it, do not change a thing, your are all four absolutely fabulous ! Just take good care of all of you and we wish you all the best . we also hope to be able to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#61 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#112 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#26 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 892 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#53 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.