We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Totnes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
445 helpful votes 445 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

From the moment we entered the riad the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. On our first morning Ahmed kindly came out with us to point out some landmarks to help us find our way round - invaluable. Having somewhere so peaceful and comfortable to come back to after experiencing the hustle and bustle of the city was wonderful. The food, too, was exceptional. A very tasty breakfast to set us up for the day and there is also the option of having dinner there, which we did twice - delicious home cooked tagines, salads etc. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We had the only suite which was very comfortable with plenty of room to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review. It has been a pure delight for the all team to have you these few days among us. Samira enjoyed very much making you discover her traditional Moroccan Cuisine where everything is home made with the fresh products of the Market of the day. Ahmed and the all team join me to express you ou heartfelt gratitude and we all hope to receive you again in a not too far future. We wish you all the best for the future and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
204
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We found this Riad thanks to Trip Advisor and were blown away by the hospitality -- from the early check in to help us assuage jet lag, to the fresh roses in the room, to the typical mint tea but also extraordinary pastries upon welcome, to the extensive introduction to landmarks of the neighbourhood that included Ahmed walking us into the Souk to make sure we had the lay of the land. (Remember the tree, he would say pointing up, and the bird's nest....) But there's more: Laurent gave us travel tips, helped book other hotels and a guided 3-day visit to the countryside, organized airport transport (including sending a driver, with extra baggage we had left at the Riad, to collect us from the train at trip's end). We really did begin to think of this lovely Riad as "home base." There are more expensive and lavish places to stay, but if you want to see the best of Morocco, start your visit here.

Room Tip: The charm of a Riad is that all rooms open onto the calm central court, so all avoid the hustle and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you for your absolutely lovely review that went straight to our hearts. We all would like to express you our heartfelt gratitude to remember us months later. It was a pure delight for the all team to receive you these few days and and we all remember your enthusiasm to discover our culture and south of Morocco. The all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Unfortunately the hotel had double booked us and couldn't accomodate us at their hotel. These things do happen in that line of business, and are not necessarily an indicator of a bad hotel.

In this case the hotel manager more than made up for their mistake. Not only did they profusely apologize and explain what happened, but they quickly and easily lodged us in the Riad next door. It was hardly an inconvenience when the staff took such good care of us. Everyone were incredibly polite and nice to talk to. They also arranged a taxi to the airport the next day.

The new Riad we stayed in was just as nice, though I would've like to dip my toes in that pool they have. Maybe next time!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you for your kind review and once again the all team wish to apologize for the double booking, which is extremely rare but as we saw, it can happen. We really would like to expressour heartfelt gratitude for your understanding, we are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our riad partner and we all hope to see you again soon, just send us a short mail would be easier than websites where anybody can book from worldwide within 3 minutes !! Than you so for your understanding and we wish you both all the best for the future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We just returned home from our stay at Riad Al Badia. We had a lovely time staying at this Riad. An oasis of calm in busy Marrakech. Laurent, Ahmed and their team were great - very helpful and the service was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend staying here. Great location in the Medina, close to many of the cities main attractions.Thank you all so much for such an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for this very kind review, Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our gratitude for this stay at Riad Al Badia. It was a pure delight having these few days among us. Your extreme kindness, your interest in our culture, your smiles everyday were just a sun shine. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future and we wish you all the best for the nearest future. Thank you again for everything you gave us and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Laurent and the team couldn't have been more welcoming during our stay. From organising our airport transport, to talking us through what to do/where to go in Marrakech, to late-night mint tea runs, staying at Riad Al Badia was a real delight. We stayed in a Junior Suite, which was very comfortable, with a large shower to see refuge in from the heat! The rooms were air-conditioned, which was also a plus. There is also a small indoor pool you can dip into in the main foyer. Wi-Fi available, plus a lovely roof terrace to watch the sensational sunsets from. The team also organised day-spa visits and a trip to Essaouira for us. Finally, last but not least, THE FOOD - the breakfast spread was delicious and I'd definitely recommend having a traditional Moroccan meal at the Riad. Some of the best and freshest local cuisine we had in our time in Marrakech. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for this lovely review and Ahmed and his all team are very grateful for your stay in Marrakech. We remember all your extreme kindness, your sense of humor, your happiness, your interest in Marrakech, South of Morocco and our culture. We really keep a fresh souvenir of all of you and we hope to have the pleasure to receive you again in a not too far future. We wish you all the best and take good care of all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Staying in a riad was the right option; staying at Riad Al Badia was the best option!
The rooms were very nice, our bathroom was even better - lovely colours and so tasteful! The small pool was calm and very nice.
The riad's atmosphere was very relaxing, helping our fiew days in Marrakech to be a success.

Laurent, Ahmed and all the team were incalculably helpful and made us feel very special. They had allways a good tip for our day, fruit when we lacked it, mint tea when we arrived tired, fine suggestions for restaurants and were allways ready and helpful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We all thank you from the deepest of our hearts. It was a true pleasure receiving you at Riad Al Badia, you sense of humor, your interest, your happiness, your extreme kindness with everyone of us were very much appreciated and will remain in memories. We all hope to see you next year to start the Sahara trip and we all wish you all the best for the nearest future. You are all fabulous so do not change a thing, you are all just perfect. This is a pure delight having you at the Riad. Take good care of all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Tonight is my last night here and i just could not wait to share my experience. From the moment we entered this diamond in the rough i have experience service that is beyound 5 stars and I work in the travel industry for over 16 years and i have traveled to many parts of the world stayed in many hotels and the service here sets this place apart. Situated in a bustling part of marrakesh yet you walk in the doors and you immediately feel a world away from whats outside. The riad is nicely decorated very clean well kept. We had the pleasure of dinning on the elagantly decorated roof top and had the best meal i had in my 16 days of travel in the most tranquil atmosphere. I highly reccommend this riad for your stay in marrakesh if you appreciate excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
You left the Riad 45 minutes ago and we all saw now your review published. I thank you so much for such a touching review and the all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for everything you gave us during these few days at Riad Al Badia. Your kindness, your enthusiasm, your smiles to both of you were just a pure delight. We already miss you both and we will keep a very warm and elegant souvenir of your stay with us. Please send us a short note when you are home safe and sound and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future. We wish you all the best and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.