We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If all customer service could be like this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If all customer service could be like this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My friend and I spent 5 nights last week at this Riad and could not have asked for more. Laurent certainly knows customer service and the staff have taken it all on board. The place was very clean and the food excellent. The staff were wonderful and could not help enough from breakfast when you wanted, an evening meal at your time of choosing, explaining the maps, walking you to the square, ordering taxis and sorting out trips and restaurant reservations. As 2 women we both felt very safe and I would certainly travel on my own and stay here. Do not hesitate to book in here.
A tip get your spices from the Jewish market!!!
Please thank all staff from Colette and Marilyn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Ladies,
I thank you very much for your lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. Samira was that pleased to cook for you and make you discover the home made traditional Moroccan Cuisine. We all keep a very fresh souvenir of your stay with us and your fine sense of humour. As two women, as single woman, you will always be more than welcome in Marrakech and at Riad Al Badia. We all hope to see you both again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
189
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you arrive to this Wonderful Riad you know your stay is going to be perfect. Every little detail has been thought of, and the staff are the most kind, courteous and extremely helpful that I have ever found in a small hotel. You are instantly made to feel like it is your home. I ask that you do at least stay for an evening meal to sample true Moroccan hospitality and delicious home cooked food made by Samira, the most amazing cook.
All the staff, Samira, Amal, Hanane, Fatima, Daidda, Noureddine and Ahmed all worked so hard in making our stay so fantastic. We could not go without giving a big special thank you to Laurent, the Riad Manager, what an amazing person, he will stay in our hearts for a lifetime. If only every holiday destination had a Laurent. Thank you all once again for making us feel so welcome and hopefully we will see you all again one day.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you from the deepest of my heart for your lovely review. It was once again one of these meetings that goes over words. We did enjoy every moment while you were at the Riad. Your extreme kindness, your sense of humor, your happiness, your interest in our culture and your interest in discovery the true home made Moroccan Cuisine from Samira was just a delight. Samira enjoyed very much making you discover the traditional cuisine that you will not find always in restaurants and got inspired everyday at the market for you. We keep a very fresh souvenir of your stay at Riad Al Badia, your are home here, you know it, so we hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Riad Al Badia for a couple of nights in June and it was absolutely perfect. Laurent and his team were incredibly helpful before we had even arrived - arranging airport transfers and transport to and from Essaouira for us.
On our arrival, we were welcomed with delicious mint tea and a tour of the Riad. We were then given a thorough introduction to Marrakesh and fantastic tips on where to visit during our stay.
The food in the Riad was wonderful - the best tagine we had all holiday!
Our room was impeccably clean and beautifully decorated.
I could not recommend this Riad more! Thank you to Laurent and his team for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Ladies,
I thank you so much for your kind review. We are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Al Badia and it was a pleasure for us to organize your stay before your arrival, a short mail and this is very easy for us to organize your transfers, train or bus tickets, that was just nothing. We keep a very dynamic and fresh souvenir of your stay among us, your kindness with everyone of us was greatly appreciated. We all hope to be able to receive you again at some stage at Riad Al Badia. Take good care of all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I will not belabor all the great things that have already been written on Tripadvisor about the Riad al Badia. They are all true. What I want to share with the readers is a specific example of how the staff at the Riad exceeded our expectations for customer service.

Because of a general strike in Portugal where we were prior to going to Marrakech, we had to be rerouted and our luggage did not arrive with us. Upon checking into the Riad al Badia, Laurent (the manager) assured us that he would take care of the matter. I don't know how many calls he made but I do know he went to the airport at least twice to find out the status of our luggage. And the day after we arrived, he triumphantly brought the luggage to our room. Not once did I have to make a call to the airline or check the airline website regarding our lost luggage.

We are not in the habit of losing our luggage so I cannot say what other residence managers would do in a similar situation, but as far as I am concerned, this was an example of customer service of the highest level. And it is indicative of how well you will.be treated by Laurent and his staff.

So if you are going to Marrakech, for the cultural experience, the comfort and convenience, consider a stay at a Riad. And if you decide on a stay at a Riad, strongly consider a stay at the Riad al .Badia. You will be glad you did. And if you do go, have a home-cooked dinner at the Riad and always drink the mint tea they bring out for guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you for much for such a lovely review that went straight to my heart. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia, i twas a pure delight to receive you and no trouble to chase for your luggage. It was a pure delight all of us to receive you these few days at Riad Al Badia and share all these moments with you. Your interest in our culture, your extreme kindness, your patience and your smiles everyday were greatly appreciated. This was a very nice meeting and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future at Riad Al Badia. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My (adult) daughters and I spent five wonderful nights at Riad Al Badia, and we couldn't recommend it more highly. Before our arrival, I was in touch with Laurent who arranged for their driver to meet us at the airport, and even though our flight was about 3 hours late (and we didn't arrive until after 11pm), the driver was there to meet us - and the four-course meal that we had ordered/booked in advance was still served to us on the rooftop terrace, despite the late hour. It was delicious. The staff of the riad couldn't be more welcoming, helpful and friendly: as well as giving us a sort of 'orientation' on the first morning, they gave us lots of useful advice and tips during our stay, and helped with booking bus tickets to Essaouira etc. The room was clean and pretty, and a welcome respite from the heat and bustle of Marrakesh. We have lived and traveled all over the world (including several other African countries), and we all agreed that this was one of our most memorable and enjoyable hotel/guest-house stays.

We will be going back!

Room Tip: We had a "junior suite", which slept three adults comfortably. There was no wifi in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Ladies,
I thank you from the deepest of my heart for this lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our hearfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. Despite airplane delays our booked driver will wait for you and drive you to the door of the riad, what makes things easier. We will keep in memories your extreme kindness with everyone of us, your delicate smiles every day this was a pure delight. Thank you so much for everything and hopefully we will see you again in a not too far furture.
Take good care of the three of you and we wish your daughter traveling a fantastic experience discovering new places in the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I have been lucky enough to travel often and stay in some nice places, but we have never experienced the hospitaity and attention that we received at Riad al Badia. Even before our trip commenced, Laurent answered questions, set up a late dinner on the night of our arrival (absolutely delicious meal), booked transfers from the airport, and set up a day trip to the Atlas Mountains. I thought we were prepared for the trip, but sitting down with the hotel staff looking over a map of Marrakech and having someone walk with us and set us up on our way on our first morning was invaluable. They also took great care of our traveling companions who fell ill on the last day of the trip, going out for medicine and letting them stay in an extra room. We also listened to their restaurant recommendations and never had a bad meal! In addition to this, the hotel was impeccably clean and beautifully decorated and the breakfast each morning on the terrace was a delightful start to our day. We would never stay anywhere else in Marrakech

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you for your lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. A was a great pleasure for us to organize ahead anything you needed and even better, it was a real pleasure meeting you on arrival. We all hope that your friend recovered by now and we really hope to see you again in a not too far future. Riad Al Badia is always open for you. Thank you for everything you gave us and take good care of all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Middlesex, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have travelled extensively, but we have never experienced such personal service from a hotel. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and right from the start we were able to arrange some details directly with the hotel by email, such as champagne in the room.

The food was outstanding and the staff explained each dish of our amazing homemade three course evening meal which we ate sitting on the beautiful terrace. Daily breakfast was also remarkably good with flat breads, home made jams and freshly squeezed orange juice. The staff were extremely attentive, helpful and nothing was too much trouble - always greeting us with a smile and very keen to make our stay very special.

Ahmed offered valuable tourist advice and we enjoyed a beer round the small pool whilst making use of the free wifi. We stayed in the Coral room which was perfect in every way, right down to the room safe. The Riad was impeccably clean, and well kept, offering a serene and beautiful sanctuary from the hubbub that is Marrakech.

The short walk to the main square took us through the most interesting parts of the city, so the Riad could not be in a better location. We loved Marrakech itself and found the people to be lovely. We felt very safe and at home there. Shopping in the Souks is a great experience so make sure you have plenty of room in your suitcase for your flight home!

All in all, a perfect break - but the thing that sets this trip apart was the warmth, welcome and genuine personal attention from all the staff. It was as if we were staying with family or close friends.

A massive thank you to Laurent, Ahmed, Mohammed, Samira, Fatima and all the team for making our trip so very special from Claire and Philippe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Madam , dear Sir,
I thank you ever so much for such a lovely review. It was a very nice meeting once again. We felt very privileged to organize and to receive you for such an important anniversary. We will remind your happiness, your harmony, your extreme kindness and your enthusiasm to discover our culture and our gastronomy were just delightful. We feel so glad that you understood so well our culture, our way of live and way of being. You are home at Riad Al Badia and we do consider you as being part of the « Friends of Riad Al Badia » so hopefully we will see you again in a not too far future. We all wish you all the best for at least the next 25 years and please do not change a thing, you are both just fabulous. Take good are of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;