We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cannot say enough good things about their hospitality&service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cannot say enough good things about their hospitality&service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

In addition to what everyone else is describing: 1) they dissuaded us (correctly) from taking a long long one-day trip, even though it was in their "catalogue"; 2) on a Sunday, they responded to our frantic emails immediately and took care of arranging transportation for us to a show we booked on the web (not with them); 3) they are shipping me my jacket, which I left behind.

As far as sights, we recommend a trip to the coastal town of Essaouira (esp. when the temperature in Marrakech becomes too hot) -- a very pleasant and interesting experience, including choosing and eating your fresh seafood at the barbies in the harbour. And at the Majorelle Berber Museum take the time to watch the 10-15 minute movie about making a piece of jewelry: it will greatly increase your appreciation of the handicrafts you see everywhere.

A&A, NJ, USA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

I thank you so much for such a lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It was a pure delight having these few days among us. Your smiles, your enthusiasm, your extreme kindness with everyone of us were much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon and we wish you all the best for the nearest future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
189
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at Riad Al Badia for 4 nights last weekend, and can highly recommend it to anyone who wants to experience the real Marrakech and be looked after like royalty.

I booked the trip as a surprise present for my husbands 65th birthday as i wanted something that was going to be memorable - it was certainly that and so much more. We both fell in love with Marrakech and this Riad, which really is something very special.

The Riad is beautiful, peaceful, and spotlessly clean throughout. The roof terrance is idyllic, rooms comfortable and nicely decorated, and the homecooking just wonderful. We were fortunate to sample breakfast, lunch and dinner, all of which were fantastic. What made each meal so special (apart from the taste) was the explanation we were given about each dish, so not only did we know what it was, but also the history behind it and when it would be eaten by a Morrocan family. This really added to the authentic feel of our visit.

Outside of the hotel our favourite restaurant was the Kosybar which is close by and has an amazing chilled out atmosphere, great food and terrific views.

We loved Marrakech itself and found the people to be lovely. We felt very safe and at home there. Shoping in the Souks is a great experience so make sure you have plenty of room in your suitcase for your flight home!

I am really struggling to sum up just how special the team at this Riad are. They want you to have an amazing time whilst you are with them, and share their local knowledge to ensure this happens. This really is priceless.

From start to finish they went out of their way to be the perfect hosts (and guides), from mint tea and pastries on arrival (along with an explanation of where you are and how to get to where you want to go), an escort when you first venture out so you get your bearings, recommending and booking restaurants, phoning the airport to check flight times (and then rearranging lunch and taxi when it our flight was delayed).

The staff here are a very dedicated and loveable team of people who take great pride in providing an exceptionally high level of service to their guests.

So if you are looking for somewhere very special to stay book this Riad.

So from Jacqueline and James in the UK a massive THANK YOU to Laurent, Ahmed, Mohammed, Samira, and all the team for making our trip so very special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
What else can be said after reading your very touching review that went straigh to our hearts. It was right from the first email contacts, ahead of your arrival, we could already feel that this would be a very special meeting. And it has been. We would like to express from the deepest of our hearts our heartfelt gratitude for having given us this opportunity to meet with you, to receive you for such a special « surprise trip », and to have understood so well our culture and South of Morocco. We are so pleased that you felt in love too with Marrakech and the people here, we are also in love with our area and it was very special for us to see you discover and understand a bit more everyday our culture and our cuisine ! Samira enjoyed very much cooking for you and make you discover classical dishes of the Moroccan Cuisine as well as less known or a bit forgotten ones. Your happiness was just the icing on the cake for us, all these precious moments shared will remain in memories and we all hope that life will bring you back to Marrakech one day and at Riad Al Badia. As you said, Marrakech is very welcoming, safe and very open minded , we will always be pleased to see you again and keep on sharing these very interesting conversations we had. So thank you ever so much for everything you gave us, Happy birthday again and see you very soon again. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordhoek, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Spent 6 nights at this beautiful riad while attending a conference - I was travelling alone for the first 4 nights (my husband only joined once my conference had ended) and I was very well looked after - in fact Laurent even arranged excursions for my colleagues who were not staying at the Riad.

I loved the walk from the Riad to the square, amazing breakfast on the terrace (my waistline has increased), wonderful suggestions from team in terms of restaurants - hope that one day my travels bring me back here.

Room Tip: i stayed in a room on the terrace and loved that I could sit outside in the evening and enjoy the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review. It was a real pleasure for us to receive you at Riad Al Badia, these few working days and then in family. Your extreme kindness, your energy and your interest in Morocco and our culture were much more appreciated. We all also hope that time wil bring you back to Riad Al Badia, you are home here, you know it. We all remain at your disposal while you are still visiting south of Morocco our drivers and especially little « Oulik » remain available, just contact us and once again, our heartfelt gratitude to both of you for everything you gave us. Our best wishes for the nearest future and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have meaning to leave a review for the last 6 months - how time flies! We stayed in the Riad in November to celebrate my husbands up and coming 40th. The Riad was a tranquil escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. We enjoyed thepersonal service offered by the friendly and helpful staff. The meal we had cooked for us in the Riad was the best meal we had during our whole stay. We managed to have breakfast on the rooftop which was a real treat. The rooms were clean and decorated nicely. Thank you Ahmed and all the staff at Riad Al Badia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review, especially when time files and good souvenirs remain !
Ahmed and his all team were very touched that 6 months later you still think about us and we did not forget you either. It was a pure delight and a pride to receive you to celebrate this coming 40th birthday. Thank you ever so much for everything you gave us during this short stay and take good care of both of you. We all hope to be able to see you again in a not too far future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We both loved the place, the hotel has all you need, and the rooms are clean/tidy (rest of the hotel as well of course). The hotel has a great rooftop terras and breakfast is excellent. But the absolute plus of this place is the service. The staff is very kind, proactive (but definitely not in a disturbing way), fast and creative. They are determined to make you walk around with a smile all day and in our case more than succeeded. From small things like arranging a charger (which i forgot) to advices on how to spend your day and where to eat; eg we wanted to relax a day near a pool and they came up with the great & inexpensive place where we spend a wonderful day. They really made our citytrip feel like a holiday, as we were truly able to relax and enjoy Marrakech. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review. Ahmed and the all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We were delighted to count you among us these few days and we keep a fresh souvenir of your stay at the Riad. Your enthusiasm and your energy were very much appreciated. Thank you so for everything and we hope to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Al Badia last week for 5 nights. We want to thank Ahmed and all the staff for a wonderful stay. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and we felt throughly looked after the whole time we were there. The Riad is beautiful, modern with a traditional twist and a tranquil haven from the hectic rush of the streets. We ate at the Riad twice and the food was AMAZING! The best meals we had on our whole trip. Thank you again for making our holiday so special and memorable.
Angela

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you for this lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. Your interest and you kindness were very much appreciated and Samira was touched by your comment about her home made Moroccan Cuisine. She will always be enthusiastic to cook for you and make you discover the delicacy of our vegetables, spicies, tajines, salted or sweet, what make the Moroccan food. We all hope to see you again in a not too far furture. Thank you so for everything and take good care of the both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here last week - clean, comfortable, good food, good location, friendly and helpful staff - would love to be back there now! Thank you Ahmed for looking after us,being so helpful and to all the staff because from what we observed you worked very much together as a team. Very relaxing atmosphere and loved the copious amounts of mint tea - we are hooked!

Room Tip: We had the blue room (superior) but can't compare with any others as we didn't look inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you very much for this lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. Your interest in our culture and our mint tea… was very much appreciated. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future and waiting the pleasure of meeting with you for my part, take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.