We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a really lovely Riad that I recommend highly. Laurent, the patron, has a great passion for the building and the city, which he shares most generously with all his guests. It is an incredibly intimate setting, and one is made to feel genuinely at home - nothing is too much trouble. As others have noted, the breakfasts are stunning with an amazing selection of homemade jams, accompanying the feast. Thanks to laurent and all the staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you very much for such a lovely review. The all team joins me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We were really pleased to receive you and your family at the riad. Your extreme kindness, your interest in our culture and the South of Morocco, our conversations will remain in memories as well as the very good education of the children, i twas a pure delight having you among us. We hope to have the pleasure of meeting you again soon, and thank you again for everything. Take good care of all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    21
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
53
218
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We had one night here. Managed by Laurent who also looks after Road Nafis. Wonderful hospitality from Laurent and his team. A great way to finish our stay in Morroco. A more modern twist on a Road than some other places.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you very much for your lovely comment. It was a great pleasure for the all team to receive your small family at Riad Al Badia. This last night was a true delight even short but was a nice meeting . Thank you for all you gave us accross your two stays and we all hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again in a not too far future. Take good care of all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our first time in Marrakech was made truly memorable by Laurent and the staff at Riad Al Badia.
Check-in is a remarkable experience, beginning with mint tea and home-made pastries, ending with a personal escort from the owner through the winding alleyways of Marrakech to ensure that you'll be able to find your way back to the Riad at the end of your day's "adventure".
The personal, professional and insightful touches are there at all times - arranging restaurant, spa and trip bookings, to authentic breakfast and evening meals "whenever you want them", to invaluable road safety and haggling tips.
The Riad is a beautiful setting offering both an authentic flavour of, and calm respite from, a vibrant, amazing, but sometimes crazy city. I have stayed in hotels all over the world - this is without doubt the friendliest and most welcoming, where they - quite literally - go the extra mile to make your stay special.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Turquoise Room - perfect for two. There's no way of escaping the 5am call to pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review. The all team join me to express your our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We keep a very warm souvenir of your stay among us these few days, your smiles everyday, your extreme kindness were greatly appreciated. You are home at Riad Al Badia and hopefully we will have the pleasure to receive you again in a not too far future. It was a pure delight meeting with you for everyone of us. Thank you again for everything you gave us. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales,UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I had read many reviews of this Riad before booking. All of the positive reviews were correct. The service at the Riad Al Badia is second to none. We have stayed at high class hotels in many parts of the world but none have given the service we received at the Riad Al Badia. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. If we return to Marrakech we will not stay anywhere else. When you leave a hotel and are on first name terms with all of the staff you know it has been a special stay and our stay was certainly that.

Room Tip: For an extra special occasion book the Perle suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you also for your lovely review that went staight to our hearts. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. Every moment spent with you and your friends were a pure delight and will remain in memories. The 6 of you were absolutely fabulous persons, it was greatly appreciated by everyone of us. We all hope to see you again at Riad Al Badia in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have just returned from a 4 night stay in Marrakech where we stayed in the Riad al Badia. The welcome we received and the service throughout our stay was quite simply superb. The whole team were curteous, proffesional and went out of their way to help in so many ways. Nothing was too much trouble. We ate there the first night and the food was excellent. The location is very good and the hotel were good enough to arrange a number of trips , guides and even booking other restaurants. Their advice and recommendations were invaluable.
Thank you Lauren, Ahmed and Mohammed and the rest of the team for all your efforts.
I have stayed in literally hundreds of hotels on business and pleasure and I can honestly say this was the best service I have ever experienced David Jones

Room Tip: I stayed in a standard room which was fine. Friends stayed in the superior which was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review. We all would like to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia, this was again a very nice meeting. We were so honored that you choose with your friends Riad Al Badia to celebrate your wedding anniversaries. Your kindness, you enthusiasm, your happiness will remain in memories. We all hope to be able to receive you again in a not too far future, Riad Al Badia is your home in Marrakech. Take good care of both of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Amazing treatment. Well located, in the center of the Medina (5 min. walking to Jamma Lfna Square). It is a small hotel so they treat you as a person of their family. We had a really early check out and they woke up us so early with the breakfast in the terrace table ready. All the staff is very professional. When we got there, the owner of the hotel show us all the hotel facilities and he invited us to go to the terrace with him and we had a tea with some amazing cakes while he was explaning all the main city atractions with a map.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in the top floor which it has a big terrace. There were just 2 rooms in that flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you for your lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt thanks for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We keep a warm souvenir of your stay among us at Riad Al Badia. You are definitely part of the great family of Riad Al Badia and we hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again in a not too far future. You are home at Riad Al Badia, you know it. Thank you again for everything you gave us and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

It is hard to add anything that has not already been said about this very special little hotel. A very nice property, located very well. Excellent food. But the soul of Riad Al Badia is its staff, who made our vacation in Morocco very special. Above all, being made to feel at home, a warm smile here, a friendly question about our wellbeing there, and all of it being absolutely genuine and natural. We stayed here first for 7 nights, then went up north before coming back for a final night. We would go out and our room was immediately made up. All our wishes, even if not expressed, were anticipated at all times. Ahmet and Laurent helped us arrange an excursion to Essaouira (not to be missed) and train tickets to Fes (also not to be missed), and begin our plan for a return visit to include an extensive trip to the Atlas mountains and the desert beyond. There is absolutely no such thing as "being too much trouble" at this Riad. We asked to leave some luggage while we went away for several nights, no problem. When we came back our bags were awaiting us in our room. We were very sad to leave Morocco, and part of the reason for this was having to leave this wonderful hotel with its wonderful staff. Jacky and Knut, Seattle, WA, USA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir
I thank you for much for such a lovely review. Ahmed and the all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. What a beautiful meeting, once again. Every moment was a delight, all our conversations, your kindness, we are so happy that you enjoyed Marrakech and our culture and we are very looking forward to assisting you in your future trip to South of Morocco and the desert. Thank you to both of you for the fantastic moments you offered, you will remain in memories and in our hearts. Finally congratulations to your family and our best wishes go to new baby just arrived in your family. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.