We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Wales,UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I had read many reviews of this Riad before booking. All of the positive reviews were correct. The service at the Riad Al Badia is second to none. We have stayed at high class hotels in many parts of the world but none have given the service we received at the Riad Al Badia. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. If we return to Marrakech we will not stay anywhere else. When you leave a hotel and are on first name terms with all of the staff you know it has been a special stay and our stay was certainly that.

Room Tip: For an extra special occasion book the Perle suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you also for your lovely review that went staight to our hearts. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. Every moment spent with you and your friends were a pure delight and will remain in memories. The 6 of you were absolutely fabulous persons, it was greatly appreciated by everyone of us. We all hope to see you again at Riad Al Badia in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
190
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have just returned from a 4 night stay in Marrakech where we stayed in the Riad al Badia. The welcome we received and the service throughout our stay was quite simply superb. The whole team were curteous, proffesional and went out of their way to help in so many ways. Nothing was too much trouble. We ate there the first night and the food was excellent. The location is very good and the hotel were good enough to arrange a number of trips , guides and even booking other restaurants. Their advice and recommendations were invaluable.
Thank you Lauren, Ahmed and Mohammed and the rest of the team for all your efforts.
I have stayed in literally hundreds of hotels on business and pleasure and I can honestly say this was the best service I have ever experienced David Jones

Room Tip: I stayed in a standard room which was fine. Friends stayed in the superior which was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review. We all would like to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia, this was again a very nice meeting. We were so honored that you choose with your friends Riad Al Badia to celebrate your wedding anniversaries. Your kindness, you enthusiasm, your happiness will remain in memories. We all hope to be able to receive you again in a not too far future, Riad Al Badia is your home in Marrakech. Take good care of both of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Amazing treatment. Well located, in the center of the Medina (5 min. walking to Jamma Lfna Square). It is a small hotel so they treat you as a person of their family. We had a really early check out and they woke up us so early with the breakfast in the terrace table ready. All the staff is very professional. When we got there, the owner of the hotel show us all the hotel facilities and he invited us to go to the terrace with him and we had a tea with some amazing cakes while he was explaning all the main city atractions with a map.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in the top floor which it has a big terrace. There were just 2 rooms in that flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you for your lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt thanks for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We keep a warm souvenir of your stay among us at Riad Al Badia. You are definitely part of the great family of Riad Al Badia and we hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again in a not too far future. You are home at Riad Al Badia, you know it. Thank you again for everything you gave us and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

It is hard to add anything that has not already been said about this very special little hotel. A very nice property, located very well. Excellent food. But the soul of Riad Al Badia is its staff, who made our vacation in Morocco very special. Above all, being made to feel at home, a warm smile here, a friendly question about our wellbeing there, and all of it being absolutely genuine and natural. We stayed here first for 7 nights, then went up north before coming back for a final night. We would go out and our room was immediately made up. All our wishes, even if not expressed, were anticipated at all times. Ahmet and Laurent helped us arrange an excursion to Essaouira (not to be missed) and train tickets to Fes (also not to be missed), and begin our plan for a return visit to include an extensive trip to the Atlas mountains and the desert beyond. There is absolutely no such thing as "being too much trouble" at this Riad. We asked to leave some luggage while we went away for several nights, no problem. When we came back our bags were awaiting us in our room. We were very sad to leave Morocco, and part of the reason for this was having to leave this wonderful hotel with its wonderful staff. Jacky and Knut, Seattle, WA, USA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir
I thank you for much for such a lovely review. Ahmed and the all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. What a beautiful meeting, once again. Every moment was a delight, all our conversations, your kindness, we are so happy that you enjoyed Marrakech and our culture and we are very looking forward to assisting you in your future trip to South of Morocco and the desert. Thank you to both of you for the fantastic moments you offered, you will remain in memories and in our hearts. Finally congratulations to your family and our best wishes go to new baby just arrived in your family. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Riad al Badia made what was a great trip to Marrackech truly special. It is well located, beautifully decorated and a peaceful haven from the utter (but rather marvellous) chaos of the city. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable and the breakfast, which we ate whilst sitting on the roof terrace, was delicious.

What makes Riad al Badia so outstanding, however, is the service. Laurent, Ahmed and all of the team have a real attention to detail but everything is done with a warmth and friendliness that we have never quite experienced at a hotel before. We were made to feel so welcome - Ahmed shared lots of useful information and even walked us to the restaurant we had chosen for our first evening. We were really grateful for this because Marrakech can be rather confusing to start with!

The trips we booked with the Riad were excellent. We had a very informative guide for the first morning. On our last full day we went to the Atlas mountains and the driver was lovely: he kept stopping on the way back to show us some extra sights - not places to spend money, just spots where we might want to take some pictures. If anyone is staying in Marrakech for more than a couple of nights I would recommend one of the Atlas mountain trips - awe-inspiring and a peaceful break from the city.

We don't normally opt to have an evening meal at a hotel we stay at. However, we decided to stay at the Riad on the last evening and we ate what turned out to be the best meal of the entire holiday. We just wish we had realised earlier in our stay!

We have never stayed in a place where we have been begged to email when we had returned home just so they knew we had got home safely. It was such a pleasure to be looked after by people who clearly love what they do.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

I thank you so much for such a lovely review that went straight to our hearts. Ahmed and his all team join me to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia. Once again it was a true delight having you these few days at the riad. We really appreciated your great interest and curiosity to discover Marrakech, the Atlas Mountains and our culture. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future, Samira will be pleased to make you taste more of the home made Moroccan Cuisine ! Take good care of both of you and once again thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Staying in a Riad is quite a different experience to staying in a hotel, so if you are going to Marrakech you really should stay in a Riad. We stayed at Riad Al Badia February 2013 and we enjoyed every moment. The personal attention and service was impeccable.
When approaching the Riad from the road / lane outside it does not look promising but once you have passed through the front door you are reasurred by the peace, quiet and tranquility.
The walk to the main square is about 10 /15 minutes all of which are eventful !
Several of the main sites are only a few minutes walk from the the Riad.
Dinner can be ordered the evening before and we ate there once, it was most enjoyable.

The rooms on the roof are smaller and more basic than the rooms lower down . We stayed in both types of room and although it is personal choice we enjoyed the roof room best as it opens directly outside, still quite quiet, a nice seating and lying area.

If I were returning to Marrakech I would stay again at Al Badia.

Room Tip: Rooms on the roof are smaller and more basic but they have the advantage of opening directly to outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

I thank you so much for this lovely review. We all would like to thank you for the deepest of our hearts. It was a great pleasure having you this week at Riad Al Badia. Your interest in our culture, architecture, customs were greatly appreciated and will remain in memories. So thank you for all you gave us and hopefully we will see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

It is almost impossible to express adequately in words the level of service, care and attention we received from all the staff at Riad Al Badia. From our initial contact, via email, to arrange taxi transfers and an evening meal on our first night, until Laurent and Ahmed waved us off in our taxi, we could not have been more impressed. On arrival Ahmed made us feel so welcome. Over mint tea and pastries he carefully explained where to find places of interest and the best places to eat, marking each destination on a map. When it came time for us to venture out he lead us through the streets and set us on our way from a central point, which enabled us to find our way back easily. We dined at the Riad on the first night. The 3 course meal was a delight. Each course, cooked by resident chef Samira, as a "taste sensation". All the staff, lead by Laurent, were helpful, kind and attentive. We would recommend this Riad without hesitation. Badia apparently means "Brilliant" and this Riad definitely lives up to its name! Thank you to Laurent, Ahmed, Samira, Mohamed, Fatima, Hanane and Amal for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in Turquoise Room which was quiet with an extremely comfortable bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Madam,

I thank you so much for such a lovely review. It was a great pleasure having you these few days at Riad Al Badia. Ahmed and the all team join me to thank you from the deepest of our hearts. We really enjoyed receiving you and shared with you Marrakech, our Moroccan Cuisine and our culture. We all would like to thank you also for your extreme kindness, your happiness and smiles everyday, this was just another very nice meeting. We hope to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.