We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad - Terrifc Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad - Terrifc Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Riad al Badia made what was a great trip to Marrackech truly special. It is well located, beautifully decorated and a peaceful haven from the utter (but rather marvellous) chaos of the city. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable and the breakfast, which we ate whilst sitting on the roof terrace, was delicious.

What makes Riad al Badia so outstanding, however, is the service. Laurent, Ahmed and all of the team have a real attention to detail but everything is done with a warmth and friendliness that we have never quite experienced at a hotel before. We were made to feel so welcome - Ahmed shared lots of useful information and even walked us to the restaurant we had chosen for our first evening. We were really grateful for this because Marrakech can be rather confusing to start with!

The trips we booked with the Riad were excellent. We had a very informative guide for the first morning. On our last full day we went to the Atlas mountains and the driver was lovely: he kept stopping on the way back to show us some extra sights - not places to spend money, just spots where we might want to take some pictures. If anyone is staying in Marrakech for more than a couple of nights I would recommend one of the Atlas mountain trips - awe-inspiring and a peaceful break from the city.

We don't normally opt to have an evening meal at a hotel we stay at. However, we decided to stay at the Riad on the last evening and we ate what turned out to be the best meal of the entire holiday. We just wish we had realised earlier in our stay!

We have never stayed in a place where we have been begged to email when we had returned home just so they knew we had got home safely. It was such a pleasure to be looked after by people who clearly love what they do.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

I thank you so much for such a lovely review that went straight to our hearts. Ahmed and his all team join me to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia. Once again it was a true delight having you these few days at the riad. We really appreciated your great interest and curiosity to discover Marrakech, the Atlas Mountains and our culture. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future, Samira will be pleased to make you taste more of the home made Moroccan Cuisine ! Take good care of both of you and once again thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    22
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
240
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Staying in a Riad is quite a different experience to staying in a hotel, so if you are going to Marrakech you really should stay in a Riad. We stayed at Riad Al Badia February 2013 and we enjoyed every moment. The personal attention and service was impeccable.
When approaching the Riad from the road / lane outside it does not look promising but once you have passed through the front door you are reasurred by the peace, quiet and tranquility.
The walk to the main square is about 10 /15 minutes all of which are eventful !
Several of the main sites are only a few minutes walk from the the Riad.
Dinner can be ordered the evening before and we ate there once, it was most enjoyable.

The rooms on the roof are smaller and more basic than the rooms lower down . We stayed in both types of room and although it is personal choice we enjoyed the roof room best as it opens directly outside, still quite quiet, a nice seating and lying area.

If I were returning to Marrakech I would stay again at Al Badia.

Room Tip: Rooms on the roof are smaller and more basic but they have the advantage of opening directly to outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

I thank you so much for this lovely review. We all would like to thank you for the deepest of our hearts. It was a great pleasure having you this week at Riad Al Badia. Your interest in our culture, architecture, customs were greatly appreciated and will remain in memories. So thank you for all you gave us and hopefully we will see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

It is almost impossible to express adequately in words the level of service, care and attention we received from all the staff at Riad Al Badia. From our initial contact, via email, to arrange taxi transfers and an evening meal on our first night, until Laurent and Ahmed waved us off in our taxi, we could not have been more impressed. On arrival Ahmed made us feel so welcome. Over mint tea and pastries he carefully explained where to find places of interest and the best places to eat, marking each destination on a map. When it came time for us to venture out he lead us through the streets and set us on our way from a central point, which enabled us to find our way back easily. We dined at the Riad on the first night. The 3 course meal was a delight. Each course, cooked by resident chef Samira, as a "taste sensation". All the staff, lead by Laurent, were helpful, kind and attentive. We would recommend this Riad without hesitation. Badia apparently means "Brilliant" and this Riad definitely lives up to its name! Thank you to Laurent, Ahmed, Samira, Mohamed, Fatima, Hanane and Amal for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in Turquoise Room which was quiet with an extremely comfortable bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Madam,

I thank you so much for such a lovely review. It was a great pleasure having you these few days at Riad Al Badia. Ahmed and the all team join me to thank you from the deepest of our hearts. We really enjoyed receiving you and shared with you Marrakech, our Moroccan Cuisine and our culture. We all would like to thank you also for your extreme kindness, your happiness and smiles everyday, this was just another very nice meeting. We hope to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darfur, Sudan via Charlotte, NC, USA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Riad Al Badia was my first riad. It was a great experience. And it truly was a wonderful respite in the heart of a bustling, headache-y mass of chaotic souks. However, it was well located, relatively easy to find and close to the major sites.

Lovely riad with cozy comfort and pretty designs. The room was small, but somehow airy with quaint Moroccan touches throughout.

The swimming pool in the lounge area was perplexing, but the terrace lounge was quite nice, with a wonderful view of the snow-capped mountains. The terrace area outside Ambre room was also quite relaxing.

Great customer service. Laurent was a great host and Abdel was very helpful and extremely knowledgeable. His recommendations were wonderfully on point for both restaurants and hammam in Marrakech. The hotel-recommended drivers were great - courteous and gave really good mini-tours - they ALWAYS took the scenic route, and were always patient to point out attractions and provide a history of their fair city! The riad even completed our exit forms. Came in very helpful as I struggled to jump line at the airport!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I had Riad Ambre, which had two beds and was on the terrace. Lovely room, although it was right ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Madam,

I thank you so much for your lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We appreciated your enthusiasm, your kindness, your happiness in discovering Marrakech. We keep a very dynamic souvenir of your stay at Riad Al Badia. We hope to see you again in a not too far future. Thank you again for all you gave us and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed one full week at Riad Al Badia and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Marrakech. The hotel is perfectly located in the calmest part of marrakech within the ancient city. Hotel has very nice rooms and a wonderful suite ! Fatima kooks amazingly well for breakfast as well as for dinner (on demand). And most of all, the staff and its director Ahmed is incredibly kind and helpful. They will definitely make your stay unforgettable !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sir,
We all thank you for this lovely review and we are all extremely grateful for your stay at Riad Al Badia for your honeymoon. It was a pure delight having you during this all week and see you discover our culture, through your visits in Marrakech or your food experience at the riad. We thank you also for your enthusiasm, your extreme kindness with everyone of us and we all wish all the best for all these coming years and hopefully we will have the pleasure of receiving you again in a not too far future. Take food care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Taxi from the airport took around 20 mins, and the traffic is absolutely mad. Arrived at the Riad, and first impressions of the area and the narrow alleyway approach were a little disconcerting, but the Riad itself is a little oasis. We were welcomed by Ahmed and immediately given an upgraded room as we were the only couple staying! he gave us a map and pointed out all the prime locations for sightseeing , eating and general immersion into the Morrocan way. The room was very clea, tidy, and the bed was good. Facilities were excellent, and a continental style breakfast on the upper terrace was delightful. All the staff were very pleasant, attentive and made our stay thoroughly pleasant. It is not a large place, but the quaintness and the personal nature made us feel very happy. Nothing but praise for Laurent, Ahmed, Mohammed and all the staff. The appearance of pastries dates and wine in our room on the occasion of my birthday, with a personalised greeting was especially superb. Jake and Deb

Room Tip: All the rooms (6) are pleasant airy and centred around the courtyard, with the upper two being on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We all would like to thank you for your kind review and for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It was a true delight to receive you these few days at the Riad. The all team would like to express you our heartfelt gratitude for choosing Riad Al Badia to celebrate your birthday. Your enthusiasm, your smiles and all your attentions will remain in memories. So thank you for all you gave us and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

First, I have to stay this was the third Riad we visited in our trip to Morocco, second one in Marrakech. We booked it for the second part of our trip when we returned to Marrakech and, being the most expensive and the best rated that we had chosen, we had high expectations. The other Riads we stayed at had been fabulous.

The Riad is perfectly clean and tidy - impecable. Nevertheless, it is much smaller than it looks like in the pictures and it lacks the Moroccan "magic". The decoration is neither traditional nor modern, the environment is sterile. Hard to explain if you haven't been there.

The pool is not heated, so no way to try it as our trip was in the winter. The small patio is covered with a plastic roof which is really detrimental to the space, specially as our room was located above it in the terrace and we lost any relation to the rest of the building. As it was fully booked, we got a standard room for the first two days and a superior one for the other two. It was tiny! You could barely get through the door into the bathroom. Spent there one night thinking - let's get through with this, maybe the superior room we'll get at the end will be better.

We went for breakfast the next morning and the crepes were hard and cold. Everything was so disappointing we didn't even want to complain about it! We couldn't believe we had chosen this over the paradise we had been to at the beginning of the trip.

We went for another rough and great day in the Medina (it's a beautifully crazy place, you always end up exhausted) only to arrive to a nightmare. They had a terrible leak, power was cut off in one of the floors and there was this hammering noise that got to your bones.

Staff apologised and apologised over and over again. Evidently this is not something you expect and we totally understand accidents happen. We went into our room to find that the hammering was next door and it was even louder there. Totally drained and terribly disappointed we had to do something about this. Called our previous Riad - they had one room available! We came out, talked to the manager and cut our stay at this place short, only to go back to paradise. Nightmare was over.

Marrakech is a very crazy city, and you certainly need to have a piece of heaven to retreat and relax for a while. I don't think this one works for that. I feel sorry for the owner and the staff who were always very attentive and are always trying to do their best, but it is not working out.

We won't be coming back here. I don't understand why it is so highly rated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Sir,
What a shock this morning reading your review. The city of Marrakech, like lots of cities in the world do some maintenance of the public equipment. We had this last month works in the street, they are finalizing a full program of refurbishment of underground pipes. This creates unavoidably some nuisance to the environment. The riad suffered as all buildings in the area, we had 1 air conditioning system that did not afford the works, we changed it on the spot, and some vibrations probably created a break in a pipe of hot water in the wall of the Riad. This leak started by 8.30pm, which is very unfortunate and as you recognize it, it unfortunately can happen. We needed to take action on the spot and had to find where this leak was coming from and repair it. What we did in 2 hours, at 10.30pm all was sorted out, cleaned and packed. There again, as you said Riad Al Badia was full, absolutely every single guests, who had probably once in their life experienced such inconvenience, fully understood, went out for dinner and found back the Riad quiet again coming back. You came and told me that you understood what was going on, that this was your job works in building, but you expressed the wish of leaving in order not to have to support this. I was that upset with this inconvenience, I even did not argue or say a word a part from, no problem at all. You gave me the address of Riad Clementine where you wanted to go. We did organize our own driver complementary to drive you there, we cancel with no discussion 3 nights of stay with no charge at all for a 2 hours nuisance for technical reason, we did “apology over and over” which were true apologies, having guests that are not comfortable, just drive us sick and we would do anything to make sure that our guests are well, what we did, I honestly do not see what else we could have done.
It is very hard to hear on top of this tolerance in front of technical matter that once again can happen and has probably already happened to you also, that pancakes were cold when we do make absolutely everything home and at time of serving… It is quite hard to believe that when we do suffer that much, you do not mention it. I will not discuss décor, style… taste is very personal and I can accept that we like or we do not like, this should not create a nightmare and I think we are always available and very open minded in case something does not go right, the standard room is the smallest category, it is clearly mentioned, you did book this small room and got it on arrival. The riad was full at time you made your reservation, no larger room was available, there again, we did deliver what you paid for. Service, the experience we wish to provide our guests is certainly not for everybody, I accept that we cannot suit everybody, it is a matter of sensibility, expectations, education, taste… we do provide a service focused at 400% on guests, this cannot suit everybody, this does not mean that this is good or bad, this is what you are looking for or not. Finally we feel happy that you enjoyed the end of your stay in Marrakech and we thank you for having appreciated all our reactivity and extreme commercial gesture we did to you as we truly were concerned by this situation and your comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#60 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#112 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#26 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#53 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.