We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We won't be coming back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We won't be coming back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

First, I have to stay this was the third Riad we visited in our trip to Morocco, second one in Marrakech. We booked it for the second part of our trip when we returned to Marrakech and, being the most expensive and the best rated that we had chosen, we had high expectations. The other Riads we stayed at had been fabulous.

The Riad is perfectly clean and tidy - impecable. Nevertheless, it is much smaller than it looks like in the pictures and it lacks the Moroccan "magic". The decoration is neither traditional nor modern, the environment is sterile. Hard to explain if you haven't been there.

The pool is not heated, so no way to try it as our trip was in the winter. The small patio is covered with a plastic roof which is really detrimental to the space, specially as our room was located above it in the terrace and we lost any relation to the rest of the building. As it was fully booked, we got a standard room for the first two days and a superior one for the other two. It was tiny! You could barely get through the door into the bathroom. Spent there one night thinking - let's get through with this, maybe the superior room we'll get at the end will be better.

We went for breakfast the next morning and the crepes were hard and cold. Everything was so disappointing we didn't even want to complain about it! We couldn't believe we had chosen this over the paradise we had been to at the beginning of the trip.

We went for another rough and great day in the Medina (it's a beautifully crazy place, you always end up exhausted) only to arrive to a nightmare. They had a terrible leak, power was cut off in one of the floors and there was this hammering noise that got to your bones.

Staff apologised and apologised over and over again. Evidently this is not something you expect and we totally understand accidents happen. We went into our room to find that the hammering was next door and it was even louder there. Totally drained and terribly disappointed we had to do something about this. Called our previous Riad - they had one room available! We came out, talked to the manager and cut our stay at this place short, only to go back to paradise. Nightmare was over.

Marrakech is a very crazy city, and you certainly need to have a piece of heaven to retreat and relax for a while. I don't think this one works for that. I feel sorry for the owner and the staff who were always very attentive and are always trying to do their best, but it is not working out.

We won't be coming back here. I don't understand why it is so highly rated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Sir,
What a shock this morning reading your review. The city of Marrakech, like lots of cities in the world do some maintenance of the public equipment. We had this last month works in the street, they are finalizing a full program of refurbishment of underground pipes. This creates unavoidably some nuisance to the environment. The riad suffered as all buildings in the area, we had 1 air conditioning system that did not afford the works, we changed it on the spot, and some vibrations probably created a break in a pipe of hot water in the wall of the Riad. This leak started by 8.30pm, which is very unfortunate and as you recognize it, it unfortunately can happen. We needed to take action on the spot and had to find where this leak was coming from and repair it. What we did in 2 hours, at 10.30pm all was sorted out, cleaned and packed. There again, as you said Riad Al Badia was full, absolutely every single guests, who had probably once in their life experienced such inconvenience, fully understood, went out for dinner and found back the Riad quiet again coming back. You came and told me that you understood what was going on, that this was your job works in building, but you expressed the wish of leaving in order not to have to support this. I was that upset with this inconvenience, I even did not argue or say a word a part from, no problem at all. You gave me the address of Riad Clementine where you wanted to go. We did organize our own driver complementary to drive you there, we cancel with no discussion 3 nights of stay with no charge at all for a 2 hours nuisance for technical reason, we did “apology over and over” which were true apologies, having guests that are not comfortable, just drive us sick and we would do anything to make sure that our guests are well, what we did, I honestly do not see what else we could have done.
It is very hard to hear on top of this tolerance in front of technical matter that once again can happen and has probably already happened to you also, that pancakes were cold when we do make absolutely everything home and at time of serving… It is quite hard to believe that when we do suffer that much, you do not mention it. I will not discuss décor, style… taste is very personal and I can accept that we like or we do not like, this should not create a nightmare and I think we are always available and very open minded in case something does not go right, the standard room is the smallest category, it is clearly mentioned, you did book this small room and got it on arrival. The riad was full at time you made your reservation, no larger room was available, there again, we did deliver what you paid for. Service, the experience we wish to provide our guests is certainly not for everybody, I accept that we cannot suit everybody, it is a matter of sensibility, expectations, education, taste… we do provide a service focused at 400% on guests, this cannot suit everybody, this does not mean that this is good or bad, this is what you are looking for or not. Finally we feel happy that you enjoyed the end of your stay in Marrakech and we thank you for having appreciated all our reactivity and extreme commercial gesture we did to you as we truly were concerned by this situation and your comfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
188
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I really can't think of anything wrong about this riad, the second one we stayed at during our trip to Marrakech. It is small and charming, with a little courtyard and swimming pool and the breakfast room at one end. My room was very tastefully decorated with blue accents and the bed was extremely comfortable - I slept like a rock almost every night I was there.

The staff, including Ahmed and Laurent, were extremely helpful in all ways and gave us excellent recommendations on where to eat, and directions on how to get places. We are particularly grateful for Ahmed recommending the restaurant Aicha No.1, an outdoor covered restaurant in Place Jemaa el Fna, the main square.

I would like to thank the staff for their warmth and attentiveness!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Madam,

I thank you very much for this lovely review, Ahmed and his all team join me to express you and your parents our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia, it was a pure delight. This is once again a short but beautiful short story and a very pleasant meeting. Your extreme kindness and your interest in our culture will remain in memories. Thank you again for everything you gave us and take good care of the three of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Five of us stayed here in January 2013 for four nights, we had three doulble rooms and each room was unique.It was an oasis of calm in the middle of madness! The accomodation was fabulous, clean, fragrant and had all the modcons yet kept its Moroccon feel. The staff cannot do enough for you and will endeavour to try and answer all your questions and arrange any trips outside in Marrakech.
The breakfast was lovely, homemade pancakes, coffee, freshly squeesed orange juice and mint tea, we didnt get chance to have an evening meal but I would imagine it would have been excellent.
A welcome break from the busy streets and hustle and bustle, Laurent and his team have got it spot on..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Madam
I thank you so much for this lovely review. We were all that pleased to receive you at Riad Al Badia, even if 1 member for this adventure was missing, this is just postponed and we are very looking forward to meeting with him very soon. We all would like to say thank you for your happiness, your sense of humour, your smiles and enthusiasm everyday were just the icing on the cake for us. I we said when you left, do not change a thing, you are all 5 just fabulous. So thank you for everything you gave us during your stay and we hope to see you in a not too far future. We wish you all a very happy new year 2013. Take good care of all of you and we hope the missing gentleman will recover very quickly in order to come and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed for four nights, with two kids. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts delicious, the riad itself very lovely. The room was rather small for the four of us (junior suite), so next time I would have chosen two rooms instead. The walk to the riad from the street is a bit of a cultural shock, so the surprise of seeing the serene place behing a door is even greater. Would definitely recommend to someone looking for comfortable adventure (as opposed to leisurely vacation in luxury)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Madam,
Ahmed and his all team join me to thank you for this lovely review and we would like to express our gratitude for your stay among us during this few days. It was a great pleasure having you and your family and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future. We wish you and your family our best wishes for this new year 2013. Take good care of all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in December and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Al Badia. Laurent and his team is amazingly friendly, attentive and very much contributes to making this a special place to stay. The little extra's like helping us get bus and train tickets and having the tickets waiting when you get back after a long day in Marrakech was highly appreciated. We didn't eat dinner here on our visit, but the breakfasts were great. The only negative is that it is a slight walk to the main square.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you very much for this review. Ahmed and his all team join me to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia, for your extreme kindness and attention with everyone of us, your smiles and interest for our culture were really appreciated. We hope to see you again in a not too far future and maybe this time you will discover the Moroccan Cuisine of Samira. We wish you both a happy new year 2013. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Family holidays at Al Badia where fantastic. Perfect contact, perfect service, perfect organization.It was not so obvious because we where 13 persons between 10 and 70 ! Al Badia organized the Christmas dinner with Moroccan musicians and belly dancers, a trip for all of us to Essaouira, transfers to the airport ...The refinement of the Riad and the service was well above our expectations.The patio is covered and heated in winter. The size of the Riad (6 rooms) is perfect for our family, large enough and intimate at the same time.Very well exposed terrace has a beautiful 360 ° view on the Atlas, Coutoubia ...The service was perfect while being discreet. Moroccan food was varied and delicious, including the gargantuan breakfast.The nearest minaret is far enough away not to be awakened by the Muesin ...Special mention to Laurent, our host, who took care of us like friends. He was part of the success of this great family time!In May we return to Marrakech and did not hesitate to book here again!

Room Tip: 1 room on the patio, 2 on the terrace, 3 at the first floor with 1 suite. All very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Laurence,
We all thank you from the deepest of our hearts for this lovely review. What else can be added? We were all so privileged to receive you and your all family at Riad Al Badia to celebrate Christmas. Once again I I already said, this was such a delight for us having you at the riad, this was such a nice meeting with fabulous guests, all generations. This is where once again we really appreciate and understand why we decided to operate in the hotel industry. Thank you again for everything you gave us during this few days and we are very looking forward to being in next May to be able to see you both again. We also wish you all the best, full of success, happiness, health for you and your all family during this new year 2013. Take good care of both of you and see you in May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
224 hotel reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

In the south of the Medina in Berrima, the Riad is a 6 bedroom house in a pleasant building. we were welcomed with sweet mint tea and pastries - ask if you prefer sugarless. Very friendly staff though occasionally oversolicitous. In December the building is rather cold. We had the Turquoise room: queen bed, table & chairs, dreadful painting and fairly plain decor. The shower lacked pressure - and the water wasn't always warm, but a pleasant bathroom overall. The breakfast consisted of pastries, flat bread, juice and yoghurt - all very good but the coffee was only 'catering' standard. The A/C in our room was broken, and the bedrooms were never made up until the afternoon. The worst thing was its position - to be honest I would have given it a 4 star rating if it had been closer to restaurants or Djemaa. The walk to it involved a long walk along a busy trafficked road by palace walls, and then through narrow puddled alleys. Fair enough it is the Medina - but the problem was going out at night and looking for restaurants - they were a good way away. At the end the staff were tremendously helpful carrying our luggage to a taxi which they hired for us at a sensible price. Finally they responded quickly to my email that I had left my Sigg water bottle behind and it was there a week later when I came back to pick it up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you for this review. I feel a bit frustrated that you mentioned all this points “not bad but...” after leaving. I suppose this is a matter of expectations. We are very focused on service to our guests and would like to provide them with the all information, tips, knowledge in order to insure they do get the best out of Marrakech, such a different place. Most of our guests I choosing riad Al Badia for the reason as it is mentioned by quite some guests in their review, it means that we have a contact with our guests but of course we do not want to be too present, if you felt so, we do apologize as we just wanted to know that everyting was goind well. What we though as you did not mention something special. We are located at about 10 – 12 minutes walk from Jemâa El Fna, at 5 minutes walk from the Ferblantier square by the Badii Palace and Bahia Palace. Of course it is always difficult to give distance as it really depends on how quickly everyone will walk. This indication mentioned on our website and all on line travel agencies is based on a gently walk speed. This is true that your A/C broke during your stay and it has been completely changed and replaced by a new motor and new machine the same day. Technical matters will not always give notice before breaking down, I hope we took action quickly enough and we do apologize again for the inconvenience you suffered with this technical break. I guess the work of finalizing the refurbishment of underground pipes in the street, made by the city of Marrakech participated to the feeling you had of this dusty long walk to restaurants and Jemâa El Fna, it is finishing within the end of January and yes, this is always a bit disturbing but must be done. I remember that you told me that you experienced this yourselves also for 6 weeks in your home street in the UK.
At the end we all would like to say that it was a pleasure for us to receive you at Riad Al Badia, and we would like to thank you for your stay with us. We wish you a very happy new year 2013, full of happiness and health.
Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.