We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great, friendly experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I really can't think of anything wrong about this riad, the second one we stayed at during our trip to Marrakech. It is small and charming, with a little courtyard and swimming pool and the breakfast room at one end. My room was very tastefully decorated with blue accents and the bed was extremely comfortable - I slept like a rock almost every night I was there.

The staff, including Ahmed and Laurent, were extremely helpful in all ways and gave us excellent recommendations on where to eat, and directions on how to get places. We are particularly grateful for Ahmed recommending the restaurant Aicha No.1, an outdoor covered restaurant in Place Jemaa el Fna, the main square.

I would like to thank the staff for their warmth and attentiveness!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Madam,

I thank you very much for this lovely review, Ahmed and his all team join me to express you and your parents our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia, it was a pure delight. This is once again a short but beautiful short story and a very pleasant meeting. Your extreme kindness and your interest in our culture will remain in memories. Thank you again for everything you gave us and take good care of the three of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
188
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Five of us stayed here in January 2013 for four nights, we had three doulble rooms and each room was unique.It was an oasis of calm in the middle of madness! The accomodation was fabulous, clean, fragrant and had all the modcons yet kept its Moroccon feel. The staff cannot do enough for you and will endeavour to try and answer all your questions and arrange any trips outside in Marrakech.
The breakfast was lovely, homemade pancakes, coffee, freshly squeesed orange juice and mint tea, we didnt get chance to have an evening meal but I would imagine it would have been excellent.
A welcome break from the busy streets and hustle and bustle, Laurent and his team have got it spot on..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Madam
I thank you so much for this lovely review. We were all that pleased to receive you at Riad Al Badia, even if 1 member for this adventure was missing, this is just postponed and we are very looking forward to meeting with him very soon. We all would like to say thank you for your happiness, your sense of humour, your smiles and enthusiasm everyday were just the icing on the cake for us. I we said when you left, do not change a thing, you are all 5 just fabulous. So thank you for everything you gave us during your stay and we hope to see you in a not too far future. We wish you all a very happy new year 2013. Take good care of all of you and we hope the missing gentleman will recover very quickly in order to come and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed for four nights, with two kids. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts delicious, the riad itself very lovely. The room was rather small for the four of us (junior suite), so next time I would have chosen two rooms instead. The walk to the riad from the street is a bit of a cultural shock, so the surprise of seeing the serene place behing a door is even greater. Would definitely recommend to someone looking for comfortable adventure (as opposed to leisurely vacation in luxury)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Madam,
Ahmed and his all team join me to thank you for this lovely review and we would like to express our gratitude for your stay among us during this few days. It was a great pleasure having you and your family and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future. We wish you and your family our best wishes for this new year 2013. Take good care of all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in December and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Al Badia. Laurent and his team is amazingly friendly, attentive and very much contributes to making this a special place to stay. The little extra's like helping us get bus and train tickets and having the tickets waiting when you get back after a long day in Marrakech was highly appreciated. We didn't eat dinner here on our visit, but the breakfasts were great. The only negative is that it is a slight walk to the main square.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you very much for this review. Ahmed and his all team join me to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia, for your extreme kindness and attention with everyone of us, your smiles and interest for our culture were really appreciated. We hope to see you again in a not too far future and maybe this time you will discover the Moroccan Cuisine of Samira. We wish you both a happy new year 2013. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Family holidays at Al Badia where fantastic. Perfect contact, perfect service, perfect organization.It was not so obvious because we where 13 persons between 10 and 70 ! Al Badia organized the Christmas dinner with Moroccan musicians and belly dancers, a trip for all of us to Essaouira, transfers to the airport ...The refinement of the Riad and the service was well above our expectations.The patio is covered and heated in winter. The size of the Riad (6 rooms) is perfect for our family, large enough and intimate at the same time.Very well exposed terrace has a beautiful 360 ° view on the Atlas, Coutoubia ...The service was perfect while being discreet. Moroccan food was varied and delicious, including the gargantuan breakfast.The nearest minaret is far enough away not to be awakened by the Muesin ...Special mention to Laurent, our host, who took care of us like friends. He was part of the success of this great family time!In May we return to Marrakech and did not hesitate to book here again!

Room Tip: 1 room on the patio, 2 on the terrace, 3 at the first floor with 1 suite. All very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Laurence,
We all thank you from the deepest of our hearts for this lovely review. What else can be added? We were all so privileged to receive you and your all family at Riad Al Badia to celebrate Christmas. Once again I I already said, this was such a delight for us having you at the riad, this was such a nice meeting with fabulous guests, all generations. This is where once again we really appreciate and understand why we decided to operate in the hotel industry. Thank you again for everything you gave us during this few days and we are very looking forward to being in next May to be able to see you both again. We also wish you all the best, full of success, happiness, health for you and your all family during this new year 2013. Take good care of both of you and see you in May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
224 hotel reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

In the south of the Medina in Berrima, the Riad is a 6 bedroom house in a pleasant building. we were welcomed with sweet mint tea and pastries - ask if you prefer sugarless. Very friendly staff though occasionally oversolicitous. In December the building is rather cold. We had the Turquoise room: queen bed, table & chairs, dreadful painting and fairly plain decor. The shower lacked pressure - and the water wasn't always warm, but a pleasant bathroom overall. The breakfast consisted of pastries, flat bread, juice and yoghurt - all very good but the coffee was only 'catering' standard. The A/C in our room was broken, and the bedrooms were never made up until the afternoon. The worst thing was its position - to be honest I would have given it a 4 star rating if it had been closer to restaurants or Djemaa. The walk to it involved a long walk along a busy trafficked road by palace walls, and then through narrow puddled alleys. Fair enough it is the Medina - but the problem was going out at night and looking for restaurants - they were a good way away. At the end the staff were tremendously helpful carrying our luggage to a taxi which they hired for us at a sensible price. Finally they responded quickly to my email that I had left my Sigg water bottle behind and it was there a week later when I came back to pick it up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you for this review. I feel a bit frustrated that you mentioned all this points “not bad but...” after leaving. I suppose this is a matter of expectations. We are very focused on service to our guests and would like to provide them with the all information, tips, knowledge in order to insure they do get the best out of Marrakech, such a different place. Most of our guests I choosing riad Al Badia for the reason as it is mentioned by quite some guests in their review, it means that we have a contact with our guests but of course we do not want to be too present, if you felt so, we do apologize as we just wanted to know that everyting was goind well. What we though as you did not mention something special. We are located at about 10 – 12 minutes walk from Jemâa El Fna, at 5 minutes walk from the Ferblantier square by the Badii Palace and Bahia Palace. Of course it is always difficult to give distance as it really depends on how quickly everyone will walk. This indication mentioned on our website and all on line travel agencies is based on a gently walk speed. This is true that your A/C broke during your stay and it has been completely changed and replaced by a new motor and new machine the same day. Technical matters will not always give notice before breaking down, I hope we took action quickly enough and we do apologize again for the inconvenience you suffered with this technical break. I guess the work of finalizing the refurbishment of underground pipes in the street, made by the city of Marrakech participated to the feeling you had of this dusty long walk to restaurants and Jemâa El Fna, it is finishing within the end of January and yes, this is always a bit disturbing but must be done. I remember that you told me that you experienced this yourselves also for 6 weeks in your home street in the UK.
At the end we all would like to say that it was a pleasure for us to receive you at Riad Al Badia, and we would like to thank you for your stay with us. We wish you a very happy new year 2013, full of happiness and health.
Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My daughters and I just stayed at the beautiful Riad Al Badia and I can't say enough good things about Laurent and his staff. We felt completely at home here with immaculate and welcoming rooms, wonderfully delicious breakfasts and support in every activity that we did while in Marrakech. I will return again and again. Thank you so much Laurent for such a memorable stay.

Terry from Santa Barbara, California

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
My dearest,
We all would like to thank you all from the deepest of our hearts for your stay at Riad Al Badia. What a meeting, so emotional, so interesting, I really appreciated our conversations, and we all remember any moment of your stay among us. There again, difficult to find the words that will describe this impacting meeting, it was a pure delight for us and hopefully we will see you again soon. We hope that 2013 will bring you back to the Riad, for leisure or for business, anytime this will be a source of happiness for us to see you again. We wish you all a very successful new year 2013 and thank you again for everything you gave us all.
Take good care of all of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.