We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in the heart of Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Heaven in the heart of Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here in October and was not disappointed. We found it a little difficult to find at first, but paid a local boy to walk us to the door. It is quite easy to get lost in the Medina, but that was the most fun!

Once we walked through the door, we were given a warm welcome by Laurent and taken up to the terrace for some mint tea. We were given a map of the city and shown key points of interest around the city. Our room was on the ground floor next to reception and was very nicely decorated. The rooms were equipped with air conditioning and a safe, and the bathroom was very clean. It was nice to sit and dip your feet in the plunge pool in the central courtyard.

We enjoyed some wine on the terrace at night, and breakfast again on the roof in the morning. Breakfast consisted of yoghurt, orange juice, mint tea and traditional Moroccan pastries.

Laurent was very helpful in filling out our departure cards for the airport and the staff were very friendly.

Overall, we would highly recommend here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Madam,
We all would like to thank you for your kind review, it was a real pleasure having you this few days at the riad. Once again, thank you for your extreme kindness with everyone of us, your smiles remain in memories . We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad and Marrakech. Once again, for any future travelers , to make things easier at Riad Al Badia, as at 98% of Riads or hotels in the Medina, I can not recomment enough that guests send the hotel or the riad a short mail in order to get the directions to come or to organize a driver to take you right to the door of the Riad. Our streets are very easy but so differents, arriving it can seem to be very difficult when it is not at all.
Otherwise, as you experienced it you will always have kids by the Mosquee of Berrima to take you to the Riad…
Once again we all thank you so much for all you gave us and we wish you all the best for this new year 2013.
Take good care of both of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
189
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I'm so sorry that it has taken me so long to write this review - i have been meaning to write since our return from holiday (23-25/oct) because i just want to tell everyone that every review on this place is right - it is FANTASTIC. I echo everything that everyone has said - the staff were great, from greeting us on arrival, to the gorgeous food and the hospitality. I booked this Riad purely on what was said on tripadvisor - i was very nervous about going as i wanted the holiday to be just right as we were staying as a family of 4. 2 adults and 2 children (age 5 & 9) and i did not want to be stuck in Marrakech with a young family as i had read some nightmare reviews about other Riads. But Riad AL Badia was just great. I booked the taxi,from the airport, through the Riad. The taxi picked us up, as organised (i was worried it wouldn't be there!) and took us close to the Riad. The driver walked us to the Riad and there was no problem over paying as we just dealt with the Riad direct. Once inside this beautiful Riad we were welcommed by the staff over mint tea and juice for my girls. Ahmed was great and showed us how to get to the main square and was full of advice and guidance. The first night we had a wonderful tagene that Samia made for us - one of the best meals we had all holiday! My girls loved Samias cooking - especially the breakfasts and sweets!! Our family room was beautiful and spotless, the roof terrace was wonderful and as other people have said you do feel as if you are in an Oasis in the middle of the madness of Marrekech! Laurent and his team were fab hosts, i really can't say enough about everyone and this wonderful gem of a Riad. Thank you from all in the Jones faily xxxx

Room Tip: Pearle suite was beaultiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Madam,
This is my turn to apologize for the delay in responding you, Christmas & New Year… We all would like to express our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been such a delight having you four among us. We keep in memories your happiness, your kindness, the education of your two daughters, already ladies, we really appreciated every moment shared with you and this was another nice story in the great book of Riad Al Badia.
We wish you all a very happy new year 2013, full of success and happiness , and hopefully we will be able to see you again.
Thank you again for everything, take good care of all of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just returned from an enjoyable few days in Marrakech. Stayed in this Riad having booked it on the basis of reviewers coments and was not disappointed.

The owner and his staff were very helpful and attentive to the point of booking tables in restaurants and filling departure forms for you, making the stay even more enjoyable.

Breakfast on the sunny roof terrace in the morning with views of the snow covered Atlas mountains in the distance was a delight even on a December day.

As with most, if not all, of the Riads in the medina area of Marrakech they have a daunting approach to them, an unremarkable entrance but once inside an oasis of calm in a crazy bustling city

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
With a bit of delay due to the activity of this end of year , I would like to thank you for such a lovely review. We all would like to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia and for the precious moments shared. We all would like to thank you for everything you gave us during these few days and we hope to see you again in a not too far future.
Take good care of both of you and all the best for you and your family for this New Year 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I can only echo everything that has already been written here! Riad Al Badia is a demonstration in perfect customer service and just what a difference that personal touch can make to a holiday. Laurent is a fantastic manager and nothing is too much trouble - from the welcome with mint tea and pastries and orientation to the local area on foot to the organisation of the activities that we wanted to undertake - everything was exemplary. The Riad is so peaceful either overlooking the city from the roof or sitting with a drink downstairs by candlelight. Our room was not the most luxurious or fanciest that we've stayed in but was immaculately cleaned and turned down every day. The typical moroccan breakfast is delicious and is served at your convenience (location and time!). It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the main square so is central to everything - being that brief walk away is no bad thing with quite how overwhelming it can be in the souks! I will be strongly recommending that friends stay here and would definitely stay if I ever returned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for your lovely review that went straight to my heart. We all would like to thank you for your stay, this was again a very nice meeting and a pure delight for us having you at the Riad. Your happiness, your enthusiasm, your interest in our culture was deeply appreciated. So thank you once again for everything you gave us and hopefully we will be able to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Not sure what else to say about this property that has not already been said. The location is fantastic and the service is equally, if not even more fantastic. Staying in the medina can be quite a daunting proposition with the constant activity, noise, etc. However, each time I stepped into the Riad, I felt as I had been transported into a different world.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Sir,
We all wish to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia, even if i twas a bit short, it was a great pleasure having you among us and we did really appreciate your interest in Marrakech and your extreme kindness with everyone of us. So thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again in the future, Riad Al Badia remains your oasis. Thank you for everything and take good care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were so well looked after by Laurent and his team. Don't change a thing Laurent. You are fantastic. From the minute we arrived to our departure time, we felt so welcome. The rooms were lovely, the food fantastic and the location perfect for exploring the Medina. We especially loved the lavish Moroccan breakfast, served whenever we surfaced in the morning. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Ladies,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review, Ahmed and his all team join me to express you all our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We had lots of pleasure meeting with you and receiving you at Riad Al Badia these few days. We remind your happiness, your enthusiasm, your interest in our culture and our cuisine, these was a real great time for us. We hope that you are all well overthere and we hope to see you again in a not too far future. You are all home at Riad Al Badia you know it, and for you aswell do not change a thing, you are all fabulous. Take good care and all the best for the nearest future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the lovely Riad al Badia during November 2012. Hospitality at the Riad al Badia is indeed truly outstanding, the best we have encountered. From the moment we arrived, we were made welcome with mint tea and pastries served on the roof terrace, while Ahmed pointed out various locations on a map of Marrakech. When we were ready to go out, he kindly walked with us part of the way to help us get our bearings. Our room (Ivory) was pleasantly furnished, clean and comfortable. For authentic Moroccan home cooking, we strongly recommend dining at the Riad in the evening. Samira is a great cook and her 3 course dinners were delicious! Just let her know what you would like in advance. Unlike many restaurants in the Medina, there is also a wine list. The service at breakfast and dinner was both expert and friendly.
Riad al Badia is located in a quiet residential area in the southern Medina, but with easy access to a road which facilitates transportation to and from the airport (Laurent arranged this for us). Most attractions, including the Jamaa el Fna, are within a level 5-15 min stroll.
Riad al Badia provides a calm and restful haven from the hustle and bustle of the Medina, and the roof terrace, which has lovely views of the mountains, is a great place to relax in the sun. Laurent and the team took really good care of us and this added greatly to the enjoyment of our holiday. To really experience Marrakech, you have to stay in the Medina. Why take chances with your accommodation? You won’t be disappointed with the Riad al Badia. Book now!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you both our heartfelt gratitude. It was a true delight having you these few days at the riad. We all were extremely and deeply touched by your kindness with everyone of us and especially Samira. She will be pleased to cook again for you and go even further in making you discover our home made Moroccan Cuisine. We will keep an elegant and very warm souvenir of your stay, so thank you for everything you gave us during this stay . Take good care of both of you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.