We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Scunthorpe
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Welcome hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just returned from an enjoyable few days in Marrakech. Stayed in this Riad having booked it on the basis of reviewers coments and was not disappointed.

The owner and his staff were very helpful and attentive to the point of booking tables in restaurants and filling departure forms for you, making the stay even more enjoyable.

Breakfast on the sunny roof terrace in the morning with views of the snow covered Atlas mountains in the distance was a delight even on a December day.

As with most, if not all, of the Riads in the medina area of Marrakech they have a daunting approach to them, an unremarkable entrance but once inside an oasis of calm in a crazy bustling city

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
With a bit of delay due to the activity of this end of year , I would like to thank you for such a lovely review. We all would like to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia and for the precious moments shared. We all would like to thank you for everything you gave us during these few days and we hope to see you again in a not too far future.
Take good care of both of you and all the best for you and your family for this New Year 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
180
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I can only echo everything that has already been written here! Riad Al Badia is a demonstration in perfect customer service and just what a difference that personal touch can make to a holiday. Laurent is a fantastic manager and nothing is too much trouble - from the welcome with mint tea and pastries and orientation to the local area on foot to the organisation of the activities that we wanted to undertake - everything was exemplary. The Riad is so peaceful either overlooking the city from the roof or sitting with a drink downstairs by candlelight. Our room was not the most luxurious or fanciest that we've stayed in but was immaculately cleaned and turned down every day. The typical moroccan breakfast is delicious and is served at your convenience (location and time!). It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the main square so is central to everything - being that brief walk away is no bad thing with quite how overwhelming it can be in the souks! I will be strongly recommending that friends stay here and would definitely stay if I ever returned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for your lovely review that went straight to my heart. We all would like to thank you for your stay, this was again a very nice meeting and a pure delight for us having you at the Riad. Your happiness, your enthusiasm, your interest in our culture was deeply appreciated. So thank you once again for everything you gave us and hopefully we will be able to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Not sure what else to say about this property that has not already been said. The location is fantastic and the service is equally, if not even more fantastic. Staying in the medina can be quite a daunting proposition with the constant activity, noise, etc. However, each time I stepped into the Riad, I felt as I had been transported into a different world.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Sir,
We all wish to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia, even if i twas a bit short, it was a great pleasure having you among us and we did really appreciate your interest in Marrakech and your extreme kindness with everyone of us. So thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again in the future, Riad Al Badia remains your oasis. Thank you for everything and take good care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were so well looked after by Laurent and his team. Don't change a thing Laurent. You are fantastic. From the minute we arrived to our departure time, we felt so welcome. The rooms were lovely, the food fantastic and the location perfect for exploring the Medina. We especially loved the lavish Moroccan breakfast, served whenever we surfaced in the morning. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Ladies,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review, Ahmed and his all team join me to express you all our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We had lots of pleasure meeting with you and receiving you at Riad Al Badia these few days. We remind your happiness, your enthusiasm, your interest in our culture and our cuisine, these was a real great time for us. We hope that you are all well overthere and we hope to see you again in a not too far future. You are all home at Riad Al Badia you know it, and for you aswell do not change a thing, you are all fabulous. Take good care and all the best for the nearest future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the lovely Riad al Badia during November 2012. Hospitality at the Riad al Badia is indeed truly outstanding, the best we have encountered. From the moment we arrived, we were made welcome with mint tea and pastries served on the roof terrace, while Ahmed pointed out various locations on a map of Marrakech. When we were ready to go out, he kindly walked with us part of the way to help us get our bearings. Our room (Ivory) was pleasantly furnished, clean and comfortable. For authentic Moroccan home cooking, we strongly recommend dining at the Riad in the evening. Samira is a great cook and her 3 course dinners were delicious! Just let her know what you would like in advance. Unlike many restaurants in the Medina, there is also a wine list. The service at breakfast and dinner was both expert and friendly.
Riad al Badia is located in a quiet residential area in the southern Medina, but with easy access to a road which facilitates transportation to and from the airport (Laurent arranged this for us). Most attractions, including the Jamaa el Fna, are within a level 5-15 min stroll.
Riad al Badia provides a calm and restful haven from the hustle and bustle of the Medina, and the roof terrace, which has lovely views of the mountains, is a great place to relax in the sun. Laurent and the team took really good care of us and this added greatly to the enjoyment of our holiday. To really experience Marrakech, you have to stay in the Medina. Why take chances with your accommodation? You won’t be disappointed with the Riad al Badia. Book now!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you both our heartfelt gratitude. It was a true delight having you these few days at the riad. We all were extremely and deeply touched by your kindness with everyone of us and especially Samira. She will be pleased to cook again for you and go even further in making you discover our home made Moroccan Cuisine. We will keep an elegant and very warm souvenir of your stay, so thank you for everything you gave us during this stay . Take good care of both of you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nouakchott
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in this Riad on what was supposed to be a short trip to Marrakesh. In november 2011, we finally got some free time for the honeymoon, and living close to Morroco, that was the choice destination. On the eve of our travel I contacted the riad and Laurent, the manager, actually got us a room, even on such a short notice. Thanks to our train from Casablanca being late, we got to the riad after 8pm. No problem! They were waiting for us.
We were received with the traditional morrocan tea and cookies. Delicious! They showed us on a map all the points of interest, and the following morning took us on the short walk until the square.

The first night we spent at the amber room. It's fantastic, with direct access to the terrace. Unfortunatelly, it has 2 single beds. Being our honeymoon, we wanted one bed only. Too bad. They were great about it and moved us to another room on the next day. But if I ever return with enough time, I'd probably ask for the emeraude room.

Because of a local holliday, our idea of going to essaouira couldn't happen. Again, they were great and got us to stay longer. After the amber room, we were in the turquoise room, that is very good (really, you can't beat the rooms on the terrace!). Staying longer, we moved into the ivoire room for one night. I have to say, it's the only room I didn't love. It's on the ground floor, so you get some noise from the ouside. Plus, it was the week of the eid and, because of tradition, there had been many burning goat heads in town. The smell got into the room, and it wasn't pleasant.

The next night, we moved into the perle room. It's a bigger room (if you want to stay 3 people in a room, that's probably the way to go!) and just lovely!

I might add that all the room changing was done without any trouble for us. We would just leave the luggage closed and leave for a day in the city. By the time we got back, the people from the riad had already taken our things to the next room and left it all tidy up!

I don't know if all the riads are so costumer-friendly as this. But if I ever go back to Marrakesh, that's definetly where I want to stay!

Room Tip: The only room I wouldn't recomend is the ivoire one. I would definetly recomend the emeraud room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review and the all team and I are extremely touched that 1 year later you still think about us and that you kept such a clear memory of your stay at Riad Al Badia. We have not forgotten you either, it was a very nice meeting and we were very honoured to receive you for your honeymoon. We just past 1 year already so happy anniversary and really thank you so much for all you gave us last year. We wish you all the best for the long coming years and hopefully we will see you again in a not too far future. Give us some news from time to time, we will always be pleased to know that you are both well. Thank you again and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Riad Al Badia 4th - 8th November 2012 in the beautiful, relaxing Corail room. Everything that has been said about this wonderful Riad is true and it even surpassed our already high expectations. The welcome is genuinely friendly and within minutes you feel at home. The Riad maintains a high level of cleanliness and the staff cater for every need imaginable. Highly recommend a meal at the Riad as the setting on the roof terrace is matched by both the high quality of the food and the warm, friendly service. I am vegetarian and was delighted by my tasty veggie tagine, The location is great, easily accessible and close to the main square. Transfers were very smooth and any queries or information we needed was provided by the knowledgeable staff. I have travelled extensively and can honestly say that this is the most genuinely friendly place I have stayed. Go and see for yourself!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for your lovely review, the all team join me to express our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It was a pure delight having you these few days, your enthusiasm, your interest in our culture and our cuisine will remain in memories. Samira had a great pleasure cooking for you, and will do it again anytime ! Thank you also for your kindness with everyone of us, it was once again a lovely meeting. We hope to see you again in a not too far future and we wish you both all the best for the nearest future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech
Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.