We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the middle of the hectic city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the middle of the hectic city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Not sure what else to say about this property that has not already been said. The location is fantastic and the service is equally, if not even more fantastic. Staying in the medina can be quite a daunting proposition with the constant activity, noise, etc. However, each time I stepped into the Riad, I felt as I had been transported into a different world.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Sir,
We all wish to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia, even if i twas a bit short, it was a great pleasure having you among us and we did really appreciate your interest in Marrakech and your extreme kindness with everyone of us. So thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again in the future, Riad Al Badia remains your oasis. Thank you for everything and take good care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
190
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were so well looked after by Laurent and his team. Don't change a thing Laurent. You are fantastic. From the minute we arrived to our departure time, we felt so welcome. The rooms were lovely, the food fantastic and the location perfect for exploring the Medina. We especially loved the lavish Moroccan breakfast, served whenever we surfaced in the morning. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Ladies,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review, Ahmed and his all team join me to express you all our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We had lots of pleasure meeting with you and receiving you at Riad Al Badia these few days. We remind your happiness, your enthusiasm, your interest in our culture and our cuisine, these was a real great time for us. We hope that you are all well overthere and we hope to see you again in a not too far future. You are all home at Riad Al Badia you know it, and for you aswell do not change a thing, you are all fabulous. Take good care and all the best for the nearest future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the lovely Riad al Badia during November 2012. Hospitality at the Riad al Badia is indeed truly outstanding, the best we have encountered. From the moment we arrived, we were made welcome with mint tea and pastries served on the roof terrace, while Ahmed pointed out various locations on a map of Marrakech. When we were ready to go out, he kindly walked with us part of the way to help us get our bearings. Our room (Ivory) was pleasantly furnished, clean and comfortable. For authentic Moroccan home cooking, we strongly recommend dining at the Riad in the evening. Samira is a great cook and her 3 course dinners were delicious! Just let her know what you would like in advance. Unlike many restaurants in the Medina, there is also a wine list. The service at breakfast and dinner was both expert and friendly.
Riad al Badia is located in a quiet residential area in the southern Medina, but with easy access to a road which facilitates transportation to and from the airport (Laurent arranged this for us). Most attractions, including the Jamaa el Fna, are within a level 5-15 min stroll.
Riad al Badia provides a calm and restful haven from the hustle and bustle of the Medina, and the roof terrace, which has lovely views of the mountains, is a great place to relax in the sun. Laurent and the team took really good care of us and this added greatly to the enjoyment of our holiday. To really experience Marrakech, you have to stay in the Medina. Why take chances with your accommodation? You won’t be disappointed with the Riad al Badia. Book now!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you both our heartfelt gratitude. It was a true delight having you these few days at the riad. We all were extremely and deeply touched by your kindness with everyone of us and especially Samira. She will be pleased to cook again for you and go even further in making you discover our home made Moroccan Cuisine. We will keep an elegant and very warm souvenir of your stay, so thank you for everything you gave us during this stay . Take good care of both of you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nouakchott
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in this Riad on what was supposed to be a short trip to Marrakesh. In november 2011, we finally got some free time for the honeymoon, and living close to Morroco, that was the choice destination. On the eve of our travel I contacted the riad and Laurent, the manager, actually got us a room, even on such a short notice. Thanks to our train from Casablanca being late, we got to the riad after 8pm. No problem! They were waiting for us.
We were received with the traditional morrocan tea and cookies. Delicious! They showed us on a map all the points of interest, and the following morning took us on the short walk until the square.

The first night we spent at the amber room. It's fantastic, with direct access to the terrace. Unfortunatelly, it has 2 single beds. Being our honeymoon, we wanted one bed only. Too bad. They were great about it and moved us to another room on the next day. But if I ever return with enough time, I'd probably ask for the emeraude room.

Because of a local holliday, our idea of going to essaouira couldn't happen. Again, they were great and got us to stay longer. After the amber room, we were in the turquoise room, that is very good (really, you can't beat the rooms on the terrace!). Staying longer, we moved into the ivoire room for one night. I have to say, it's the only room I didn't love. It's on the ground floor, so you get some noise from the ouside. Plus, it was the week of the eid and, because of tradition, there had been many burning goat heads in town. The smell got into the room, and it wasn't pleasant.

The next night, we moved into the perle room. It's a bigger room (if you want to stay 3 people in a room, that's probably the way to go!) and just lovely!

I might add that all the room changing was done without any trouble for us. We would just leave the luggage closed and leave for a day in the city. By the time we got back, the people from the riad had already taken our things to the next room and left it all tidy up!

I don't know if all the riads are so costumer-friendly as this. But if I ever go back to Marrakesh, that's definetly where I want to stay!

Room Tip: The only room I wouldn't recomend is the ivoire one. I would definetly recomend the emeraud room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review and the all team and I are extremely touched that 1 year later you still think about us and that you kept such a clear memory of your stay at Riad Al Badia. We have not forgotten you either, it was a very nice meeting and we were very honoured to receive you for your honeymoon. We just past 1 year already so happy anniversary and really thank you so much for all you gave us last year. We wish you all the best for the long coming years and hopefully we will see you again in a not too far future. Give us some news from time to time, we will always be pleased to know that you are both well. Thank you again and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Riad Al Badia 4th - 8th November 2012 in the beautiful, relaxing Corail room. Everything that has been said about this wonderful Riad is true and it even surpassed our already high expectations. The welcome is genuinely friendly and within minutes you feel at home. The Riad maintains a high level of cleanliness and the staff cater for every need imaginable. Highly recommend a meal at the Riad as the setting on the roof terrace is matched by both the high quality of the food and the warm, friendly service. I am vegetarian and was delighted by my tasty veggie tagine, The location is great, easily accessible and close to the main square. Transfers were very smooth and any queries or information we needed was provided by the knowledgeable staff. I have travelled extensively and can honestly say that this is the most genuinely friendly place I have stayed. Go and see for yourself!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for your lovely review, the all team join me to express our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It was a pure delight having you these few days, your enthusiasm, your interest in our culture and our cuisine will remain in memories. Samira had a great pleasure cooking for you, and will do it again anytime ! Thank you also for your kindness with everyone of us, it was once again a lovely meeting. We hope to see you again in a not too far future and we wish you both all the best for the nearest future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Riad Al Badia 19 through 23 October 2012. Arriving in Marrakech and travelling into the Medina for this first time is a daunting experience. Upon arriving at the Riad we met Ahmed. He immediately took charge of our luggage and then sat with us over a glass of mint tea and Moroccan cookies and thoroughly went over a map highlighting significant routes and points in the Medina and the surrounding city of Marrakech. We asked him about the time for breakfast and he assured us whenever we wanted it we could have it. Also we were dinning in the Riad our first night and asked about that, he said whenever we were ready we could have dinner. (I recommend at least one dinner in the Riad, the meal was outstanding) Frankly, I was unaccustomed to this much customer focused latitude, but everything at Riad Al Badia is about the customers. After giving us time to unpack and settle in Ahmed led us from the Riad and walked with us to a point about half way to Jamaa El Fna Square. He assured us we couldn’t get lost. With trepidation we ventured on to the square and indeed did easily find our way back the tranquil oasis of the Riad. If you are going to Marrakech you miss the point if you don’t stay in the Medina and you’ll miss a great place to stay with outstanding service if you don’t stay at Riad Al Badia. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable and considering the madness outside the Riad is absolutely quiet and peaceful. The staff does everything they can to make you comfortable and to accommodate your needs. It felt like home away from home. Little touches like fresh roses in our room every day made us fall in love with this place. The breakfast is simply wonderful. Homemade yogurt that tastes more like custard, fresh squeezed orange juice along with coffee, tea, mint tea, toast, crepes, a Moroccan pancake and jams and marmalade. It just doesn’t get any better. It’s unlikely that we’ll ever be back in Marrakech again, but if we are without a doubt we’ll stay at Riad al Badia. By the way it’s amazing how relaxing and refreshing a glass of hot mint tea can be after a day in the hot Marrakech sun.

Room Tip: Any room will do, but if the Perle Room is available go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Madam,
I thank you very much for your absolutely lovely review, Ahmed and his all team join me to express our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It was a true and pure delight for the all team to receive you and make you experience our service. Thank you for all the attentions you gave to the all team and your extreme kindness, our return was just well deserved. Even if you think that it is unlikely that you come back to Marrakech, just keep in mind that you have a home here, whenever you come back, who knows, we will be extremely happy to receive you again. Thank you ever so much for everything and take good care of both of you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Riad Al Badia from September 23rd to the 27th. I have to say this riad was amazing. There were about seven of us staying at the riad and two others that stayed at a riad a few blocks away. The host, Ahmed, and owner, Laurent, were most hospitable. They were so kind that even our friends that stayed at a DIFFERENT riad left gratuity for their kindness and hospitality! We truly had an amazing time at the riad and it made our trip memorable.

PROS: Staff is amazing/ Clean!/Great breakfast/away from the craziness of the market/ It's not really a con, but it is a decent walk to the the central markets. But the walk is enjoyable

All in all, if we were ever to return to Marrakech you can bet that we would DEFINITELY stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sir,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to thank you so much for your stay at Riad Al Badia. Your all party remains in memories, we were that touched by the kindness of everyone of you, your happiness all together was a pure delight. We hope that baby is fine as every one of you . We were that pleased to have you with us during these few d ays, thank you all for all you gave us, it was truly a lot. Take good care of all of you and hopefully we will have the pleasure of receiving you again in a not too far future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.