We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad al Badia - A Jewel in the Medina of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Riad al Badia - A Jewel in the Medina of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Anyone looking at the reviews for this Riad may have noticed that it is very highly praised, and for good reason, I can only echo and add to the sentiments of previous reviews….

My husband and I visited Marrakech to celebrate my 40th Birthday, and we chose Riad al Badia because it sounded amazing……It was!
From the moment we arrived to the second we (sadly) left Laurent and his team did everything possible and more, to ensure our visit to his Riad and to his city of Marrakech was an unforgettable and fantastic experience.
When the front door opens and a delicious waft of scented oils caress your senses, we knew that this was definitely the place for us - it is calm and serene the moment you walk in, a haven from the heat and crowds in the Medina.
The Riad is spotlessly clean and very tastefully appointed with great attention to detail; the décor is contemporary Moroccan.
It is very well situated for all the sights of the Medina. It is approximately a 10-minute walk to Jemaa el Fna, and the Souks with fascinating sights, smells and sounds along the way. 5 minute walk to El Badi Palace, Place des Ferblantiers, and about 7 minutes to Bahia Palace and the Mellah.
But what really makes Riad Al Badia outstanding is the excellent customer service; from the first moment when we arrived to a very warm and friendly greeting accompanied by Moroccan Mint tea and little pastries, and a divine Moroccan evening meal prepared by Samira. (We highly recommend you dine at the Riad, by pre-arrangement, the food is delicious and the ambience of dining on the rooftop terrace is lovely)

We stayed in the Emeraude room, on the Terrace floor; it opened directly onto the terrace where we had breakfast each morning. The room was very clean, simple and elegantly furnished, the bed was very comfortable, and we had a safe too. The bathroom was delightful, quite traditional sink unit, lots of lovely toiletries, with little wooden double doors leading into it, the shower was large and very good, always hot.

Breakfast consisted of breads and pastry items; and an absolutely delicious home made yoghurt – which was my highlight! Freshly squeezed orange juice, mint tea and regular tea and very good coffee. It was quite a simple breakfast, but for me it was more than enough, particularly as you don’t tend to want lots of stodgy food when it’s very hot.

On our first morning, Laurent The Manager gave us a very comprehensive lesson and map of the main sights, he spent time explaining where things were, what there was to see, what to expect in different situations, he also was able to tell us about various restaurants and eateries. This was followed by Laurent accompanying us on a walk to Place des Ferblantiers, to help us orientate ourselves with the maze of alleyways! Can you seriously imagine any hotelier in the UK or anywhere in Europe taking the time to personally help you find your way round, and feel at ease in their city?
It is abundantly clear that Laurent loves his city, and his ‘job’ – he even said that his job is like being on holiday everyday! He and his team all take a great pride in ensuring you are well looked after at the Riad and enjoy your experience, his enthusiasm and knowledge for his city can not help but enthuse and inspire you to see as much of Marrakech as possible whilst you are there.
Each morning as we left genuine enquires were made as to plans for the day, followed by nuggets of advice and tit-bits of information not found in guidebooks, which ensured all our forays were excellent experiences. Upon returning to the Riad, we were always met with warm greetings and smiles, from everyone.

We would have absolutely no hesitation in highly recommending this Riad to anyone wishing to stay in Marrakech. Riad al Badia is not only a beautiful Riad – there are I’m sure many beautiful Riads in Marrakech. This one shines like a jewel in Aladdin’s cave because of the attention to detail and the genuine care and interest shown by Laurent and his team – Ahmed, Samira, Amal, Hanane, Ahmed, Abdellah & Fatima

Room Tip: We had a terrace room which was lovely - it was compact but well appointed, and we loved that it ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Ahmed, the all team and I deeply thank you for such a lovely message, it went straight to our hearts. This is again once again, one of these very special meeting, that will remain in memories and make us understand why we do love what we are doing everyday. We were all very glad to receive you at Riad Al Badia, your happyness, your kindness, your smiles everyday, your enthusiasm for Marrakech, our culture was such a delight. We all would like to express our heartfelt gratitude for your stay and for everything, you gave us so much.
Take good care of both of you and happy birthday again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    20
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
210
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A real gem in the middle of the madness, oozes with charm and character. From the moment we arrived Laurent made us feel at home. Morroco is known for its hospitality but Laurent takes it to another level. Firstly, an introduction to Marrakesh with sights, places to visit, eat etc. Then Laurent accompanied us to the surrounding areas of the Riad so that we are well acquainted with the area. The breakfast was amazing although a slight variety would be most welcome. Have breakfast on the terrace, the views are amazing with the medina and the Atlas mountains. We stayed in the Emeraude room, clean and fresh. We had a slight problem with a shower blockage which was resolved immediately by Laurent and the team. Overall a fantastic Riad, would highly recommend Riad Al Badia to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Sir,
we all would like to thank you for this comment and for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We are so glad that you enjoyed your Moroccan experience and the Moroccan hospitality at Riad Al Badia. We all hope to see you again ain a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I couldn't imagine a more perfect Oasis from which to explore the Medina of Marrakech.

The streets outside are bustling and frantic but step inside and you intantly relax and fall in love with the place!

Beautiful place and spotlessly clean.

We are a gay couple and had expected to have to act quite closeted on our trip to Marrakech. We were automatically given a double bed

and the staff didn't seem bothered in the slightest.

The room was basic and rustic but thouroughly charming and very comfortable.

One of our favourite parts of the stay was breakfast which was served right outside our bedroom door on the roof terrace. Such a

beautiful and tranquil setting sat in the morning sun. The breakfast was total carbicide washed down with mint tea, coffee and freshly

squeezed orange juice... awesome!

The staff were incredibly helpful with explantions of how to navigate the city and which sights were worth seeing!

Utterly delightful and I would definately return!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Sir,
We all would like to thank you for such a lovely comment, for your stays at Riad Al Badia. It was a great pleasure having you at the riad during these two stays. We will keep an elegant souvenir of your stay. Thank you for your kindness with everyone of us and you will be welcome at anytime. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous honeymoon experience at the Riad.

Laurent and his team could not do enough for us. From organsing flowers and champagne on arrival to arranging trips and excursions.

Both my wife and I felt totally relaxed on this trip and this is down to there hospitality.

We will definitely be returning.

Thanks Sean & Nicola

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We all want to express our heartfelt thanks for such a lovely message. It was so enjoyable to meet with you. You left a large place empty at the riad. We will remember your laughs, your happyness, your enthusiasm, you great sense of humor. You are a fabulous couple, impacting people around you, so thank you again. We wish you all the best once again for the long route in front of you and we hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again in a not too far future at Riad Al Badia. Take good care of both of you and thank you again for everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Riad al Badia was a bit of heaven in hot and crazy Marrakech. Laurent and his staff were warm and welcoming every minute. Ahmed met our van from the airport then sat with us in the courtyard with mint tea and oriented us to the city and some of the key sites. Samira cooked a wonderful dinner the evening we dined at the riad. She prepared three Moroccan salads, a lovely tagine, and bananas with orange caramel sauce. Everything was delicious and it was our favorite dinner in Marrakech. Laurent was full of practical suggestions and local knowledge, and he really went the "extra mile" in helping us. He picked up our train tickets to Fez, and walked with us to get a taxi to the train station the morning we left. He even talked to the driver to agree on a fair rate. When the first taxi wanted too much, Laurent let him go and agreed with the second one. When we were unable to return to Marrakech a few days later as planned he was very gracious about canceling our reservation for that last night.

The riad itself is lovely and very comfortable. There is a small pool in the courtyard and we took advantage of it to cool off almost every afternoon. The rooftop offered great views of Marrakech and we loved having breakfast on the terrace. The breakfasts were as delicious as the dinner (the homemade yogurt was a particular favorite). The riad is located in a regular neighborhood in the medina, which we enoyed. It was very quiet. The location is great for walking to many of the main sites in the medina. Place Jemaa el Fna is a 15-minute walk. The Bahia Palace, the Dar Si-Said museum, and the Saadian tombs are all an easy walk from the riad. We loved Riad al Badia and were sorry to miss out on our last night there.

Room Tip: We traveled with our two teens and large room upstairs was just right for us as they brought in an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Sir,
I thank you for much for such a lovely message. Ahmed, the all team and I would like to express the four of you our heartfelt thanks for your stay at Riad Al Badia, it was once again a true delight having you these days, you are a fantastic family. We will remind your happy family and your mint tea ! We all hope to see you again soon and take good care of all of you. Thank you again for everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

From the minute we arrived we were absolutely spoilt. Mint tea and Morroccan Pastries, advice on where to go, help with booking restaurants, and best of all Ahmed escorted us all the way to our restaurant on our first night so we could get our bearings. The whole team were so kind and helpful.

The temperatures in Marrakech were approaching 50'c when we were there and the city was bustling, but the Riad al Badia was an oasis of calm and coolness!

Many thanks to Laurant, Ahmed and the team for a fabulous first trip to Marrakech - we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I think we were in the only twin room which is on the second floor, which was great as it had the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Madam,
Ahmed, the all team and I would like to express our heartfelt gratitude for such a lovely message after the delight of having you at the riad. We all wish to say thank you to both of you, your smiles, your kindness will remain in our memories. Samira's Aubergine dish will always be available whenever you come back to Marrakech ! Take good care of both of you and once again, thank you for everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Arriving at Riad Al Badia was like being welcomed home after a long and hot walk on the Marrakech streets! Impeccable service, (many thanks Ahmed) spotless rooms, a delightful breakfast and lovely setting - we were fortunate to meet with the owner Laurent who gave us a wonderful recommendation for an restaurant when we had overdosed on tangines!

So accommodating, we left for a 4-day trek and when we returned it was like we never left! One night when we walked back the power in the area had gone out, but when we arrived at the Riad it was already well lit with candles and everyone was in good spirits!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Sir,
We all would like to express our heartfelt thanks for such a lovely message. We keep a very warm souvenir of your stay among us these few days, thank you for your extreme kindness with everyone of us, it was just a delight. Take good care of both of you and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.