We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I couldn't imagine a more perfect Oasis from which to explore the Medina of Marrakech.

The streets outside are bustling and frantic but step inside and you intantly relax and fall in love with the place!

Beautiful place and spotlessly clean.

We are a gay couple and had expected to have to act quite closeted on our trip to Marrakech. We were automatically given a double bed

and the staff didn't seem bothered in the slightest.

The room was basic and rustic but thouroughly charming and very comfortable.

One of our favourite parts of the stay was breakfast which was served right outside our bedroom door on the roof terrace. Such a

beautiful and tranquil setting sat in the morning sun. The breakfast was total carbicide washed down with mint tea, coffee and freshly

squeezed orange juice... awesome!

The staff were incredibly helpful with explantions of how to navigate the city and which sights were worth seeing!

Utterly delightful and I would definately return!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Sir,
We all would like to thank you for such a lovely comment, for your stays at Riad Al Badia. It was a great pleasure having you at the riad during these two stays. We will keep an elegant souvenir of your stay. Thank you for your kindness with everyone of us and you will be welcome at anytime. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
189
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous honeymoon experience at the Riad.

Laurent and his team could not do enough for us. From organsing flowers and champagne on arrival to arranging trips and excursions.

Both my wife and I felt totally relaxed on this trip and this is down to there hospitality.

We will definitely be returning.

Thanks Sean & Nicola

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We all want to express our heartfelt thanks for such a lovely message. It was so enjoyable to meet with you. You left a large place empty at the riad. We will remember your laughs, your happyness, your enthusiasm, you great sense of humor. You are a fabulous couple, impacting people around you, so thank you again. We wish you all the best once again for the long route in front of you and we hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again in a not too far future at Riad Al Badia. Take good care of both of you and thank you again for everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Riad al Badia was a bit of heaven in hot and crazy Marrakech. Laurent and his staff were warm and welcoming every minute. Ahmed met our van from the airport then sat with us in the courtyard with mint tea and oriented us to the city and some of the key sites. Samira cooked a wonderful dinner the evening we dined at the riad. She prepared three Moroccan salads, a lovely tagine, and bananas with orange caramel sauce. Everything was delicious and it was our favorite dinner in Marrakech. Laurent was full of practical suggestions and local knowledge, and he really went the "extra mile" in helping us. He picked up our train tickets to Fez, and walked with us to get a taxi to the train station the morning we left. He even talked to the driver to agree on a fair rate. When the first taxi wanted too much, Laurent let him go and agreed with the second one. When we were unable to return to Marrakech a few days later as planned he was very gracious about canceling our reservation for that last night.

The riad itself is lovely and very comfortable. There is a small pool in the courtyard and we took advantage of it to cool off almost every afternoon. The rooftop offered great views of Marrakech and we loved having breakfast on the terrace. The breakfasts were as delicious as the dinner (the homemade yogurt was a particular favorite). The riad is located in a regular neighborhood in the medina, which we enoyed. It was very quiet. The location is great for walking to many of the main sites in the medina. Place Jemaa el Fna is a 15-minute walk. The Bahia Palace, the Dar Si-Said museum, and the Saadian tombs are all an easy walk from the riad. We loved Riad al Badia and were sorry to miss out on our last night there.

Room Tip: We traveled with our two teens and large room upstairs was just right for us as they brought in an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Sir,
I thank you for much for such a lovely message. Ahmed, the all team and I would like to express the four of you our heartfelt thanks for your stay at Riad Al Badia, it was once again a true delight having you these days, you are a fantastic family. We will remind your happy family and your mint tea ! We all hope to see you again soon and take good care of all of you. Thank you again for everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

From the minute we arrived we were absolutely spoilt. Mint tea and Morroccan Pastries, advice on where to go, help with booking restaurants, and best of all Ahmed escorted us all the way to our restaurant on our first night so we could get our bearings. The whole team were so kind and helpful.

The temperatures in Marrakech were approaching 50'c when we were there and the city was bustling, but the Riad al Badia was an oasis of calm and coolness!

Many thanks to Laurant, Ahmed and the team for a fabulous first trip to Marrakech - we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I think we were in the only twin room which is on the second floor, which was great as it had the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Madam,
Ahmed, the all team and I would like to express our heartfelt gratitude for such a lovely message after the delight of having you at the riad. We all wish to say thank you to both of you, your smiles, your kindness will remain in our memories. Samira's Aubergine dish will always be available whenever you come back to Marrakech ! Take good care of both of you and once again, thank you for everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Arriving at Riad Al Badia was like being welcomed home after a long and hot walk on the Marrakech streets! Impeccable service, (many thanks Ahmed) spotless rooms, a delightful breakfast and lovely setting - we were fortunate to meet with the owner Laurent who gave us a wonderful recommendation for an restaurant when we had overdosed on tangines!

So accommodating, we left for a 4-day trek and when we returned it was like we never left! One night when we walked back the power in the area had gone out, but when we arrived at the Riad it was already well lit with candles and everyone was in good spirits!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Sir,
We all would like to express our heartfelt thanks for such a lovely message. We keep a very warm souvenir of your stay among us these few days, thank you for your extreme kindness with everyone of us, it was just a delight. Take good care of both of you and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Riad Al Badia is a calm oasis of tranquility amidst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. We recently stayed here for 4 nights and were completely blown away. We were welcomed so warmly into the Riad by the manager and his staff, with home-made Moroccan pastries and mint tea as the manager kindly gave us a run-down of the Riad, sights to see in Marrakech etc. The service staff are truly wonderful, very attentive and just fabulous with children. The little touches that they provide definitely make the difference - like lighting lanterns around the pool in the evenings, no set time for breakfast, when you take a dip in the pool the staff immediately bring you towels. Our 6 year old fell quite ill the day before we were due to go, and the staff were so attentive and caring towards her. The Riad is a short 10 minute walk away from the main square, and within a 5 minute walk to the Palais Bahia and Saadian Tombs. We truly had a wonderful stay here, and cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Madam,
We all would like to express our heartfelt thanks for such a lovely message. We keep a very warm souvenir of your stay in family for these few days. It was a true pleasure having you at the riad. We want to thank you all for your extreme kindness with everyone of us, your interest in Marrakech, your happiness, you are just a fabulous family and it was extremely appreciated. Take good care of all of you and we hope to see you at some stage back to the riad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just spent a wonderful week at this beautiful Riad.Great breakast to start the day off with every morning before venturing out into the souks.Riad was excellent and could not be faulted in any way and was so peaceful and tranquil compared to the hustle and bustle of the souks.Laurent is a true gent and charmer and absolute mine of information.His staff cannot be praised enough as they in effect really make the the Riad what it is.You are always greeted with a smile and truely pampered with your every request catered for.This may be a small Riad but the service is certainly 5 star hotel standard.Cannot recommend this Riad enough and guarantee that anyone who stays here will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Sir,
I thank you so much for such a lovely message. We all would like to express our heartfelt thanks for your stay. It was a great pleasure for all of us to receive you and your fabulous small family for this week. We all would like to thank you for your extreme kindness with everyone of us, your interest in Marrakech and our culture, your smiles everyday wqas fantastic. Take good care of all of you and we hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again soon at Riad Al Badia..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.