We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss | Berrima, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

This review is a bit overdue, as we stayed at this amazing Riad back in November 2010. It was still rather new then, but judging from all the positive reviews since then it looks like Laurent, Ahmed, and the rest of the team are still hard at work making travellers' holidays an amazing experience.

Laurent was the perfect host, and personally sat down with each arriving group for as long as they needed, to explain more about the wonderful city of Marrakech.

Ahmed is an excellent organiser, and was able to help us book restaurants, hamams (follow his recommendation), and hot air ballooning with no issues.

As other reviewers have said, it was a relief to have a home where we could escape to when the sensory overload that is Marrakech gets all too much. A cup of mint tea, feet dangling in the cool indoor pool, and a book was the perfect pick-me-up.

Try the dinner at least once, it was one of the best meals we had in Marrakech (and we visited the supposedly top two restaurants in the city).

Be aware that the Riad is set back from the main road (such as it is) so may be tricky to find upon first arrival, but you will quickly get used to it. Although it isn't on the main road, it is still perfectly safe to get in and out (there was a single female traveller staying with us and she reported no issues).

Great location too as its easily walking distance to most places you will want to go.

More like being a guest in a home than a hotel, very highly recommended.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travelling_smurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Madam,
We thank you so much for such a lovely remember ! What is amazing is that you still remember us after such a long time, so once again thank you. We did not forget you either, we are pleased to read that you are well, and we want to say that we kept a very warm souvenir of your stay with us, among the first guests, thank you for having trusted us and stayed at Riad Al Badia ! I guess you would find few changes from the time you visited, whenever you are coming to Marrakech, please do not hesitate at least to come for a tea, we will make you visit the actual Riad Al Badia, you will be able to tell us what changed ! Thank you once again for this lovely message and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Laurent and all the staff could not do enough for us and made us feel so welcome that we felt right at home.
We spent a week here exploring the city, getting lost and finding ourselves again which was all part of the fun. The riad itself is close to the Palaces and the storks that nest on El Badia Palace were a regular site overhead.
We walked to and from the riad everyday as it isnt that far and you get to explore as you go.....and check out the souks and stalls on the way.
The riad can organise airport transfers and excursions for you and are resonably priced.

We cannot recommend this riad enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Sir,

I thank you so much for such a lovely message. We all would like to express our gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia, it was a great pleasure having you this all week; it went that quickly ! Thank you for your extreme kindness with all of us, your enthusiasm and your fantastic sense of humor.
Your 4 entered our hearts and this is another very nice story in the great book of Al Badia. Thank you for everything and as I said at departure time, do not change a thing, you are fabulous !
Take good care of all of you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We did our research when choosing a Riad and went for this one because of the excellent reviews, they are pretty much bang on as the service is probably the best I have received in any accomodation we have stopped in. Laurent arranged for our transportation from the airport and we were greated by Ahmed on our arrival, with some mint tea and pastries. Ahmed is a great guy, he gave us a good guide to finding our way around Marrakech and some places he suggested to visit and he walked us to the square on our first time out which was a nice touch.
We stopped in the turquoise room, the beds are comfy and I slept well the whole holiday (unusual for me as I'm a light sleeper) - the rooms are also kept spotlessly clean. The breakfast is great in that they will serve is to you (inside or on the terrace) at any time that suits you and they are great in making you feel that nothing is too much trouble. Any spa's, excursions or restaurant meals can be booked by one of the staff.
I'd recommend having dinner at the Riad for one night as the food is excellent. I would highly recommend Riad Al Badia as a place to stay, it really made our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robgetdiverted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Marrakech is a bit overwhelming. How lucky we were to have found a riad so welcoming that all the chaos of Marrakech could be left behind and we could relax with a cup of mint tea by the lovely pool.

We were to spend three days in Marrakech before picking up our tour with Around Morocco Travels. This is the only Riad I booked myself as all others were booked for us, and naturally, I had some concerns about whether I'd selected well. Once there, I never had second thoughts. Nothing was too much trouble. Both the daytime and the nighttime Ahmeds spoke perfect English and guided us though the city. Day Ahmed booked the Mythic Oriental Spa for us on our last day, and that was a total treat.

Though Laurent had 5 Riads to look after, he always seemed to be at Riad Al Badia whenever we needed him. He was enthusiastic, his directions were perfect, and he was the ideal host. We had some company one evening before going out to dinner, and he brought us mint tea, saying that this was our home and our guests should have tea.

The rooms were spotless, by the way, and the bed was very comfortable. The terrace was delightful, and the breakfasts were good and served with good cheer by a lovely staff. All in all, this was a great introduction to Morocco. Thank you Riad Al Badia!

Room Tip: There are rooms around the perimeter of the riad and rooms up above on the terrace. We liked the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tybinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

They went out of their way to make us comfortable and help us enjoy Marrakech. The riad is a few hundred yards from a proper road, so cases need to be manhandled down the little alleyways. All part of the fun.

We especially liked the breakfast on the roof terrace.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Peter,
Thank you so much for such a nice message, we were all delighted to count you among us these few days at Riad Al Badia. It was a great pleasure. We hope to see you again soon, you will always be more than welcome at Riad Al Badia. Take good care of both of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights, and we can only agree with the positive reviews already posted. Fantastic service, which even included providing a bowl of warm water infused with mint and cloves for my partner to soak her sore and blistered feet in -- a great remedy by the way!

There is no TV in the rooms (which was fine). Breakfast was good though a bit monotonous by the final day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edric_DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear David,
We all would like to thank you for your kind message, it was a pleasure to receive you at Riad Al Badia and we are so pleased that you could discover one of our traditionnal & natural remedy ! We do keep a very charming souvernir of your stay among us, we would like to thank you for these lovely moments shared during these few days at Riad Al Badia. Thank you for your kindness and we hope we will get the opportunity of seeing you again soon. Take good care of both of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
213 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Everything good that you read about Riad Al Badia and it's amazing staff on TripAdvisor is true! And more! We found Laurent's riad by accident because our first choice wasn't available. What a wonderfully serendipitous 'accident' that was! From our first email contact to Laurent's insistence that he personally carry our backpacks out to the taxi when we left, our week at Riad Al Badia was the pinnacle of service, relaxation, helpfulness, efficiency, courtesy and wonderful ambiance. Laurent and his lovely team could have written the book on customer service and how to make guests feel like family. They strike a perfect balance between being helpful and engaging, and allowing you to relax. I had let slip that our week in Marrakech was a birthday treat for my wife. What a lovely surprise it was to arrive 'home' on her birthday after a day in the High Atlas to find a specially-made certificate with birthday wishes, a delicious bottle of wine and handmade Moroccan nibbles. This little gesture alone says everything about this Riad and the team that make it so special. We will recommend Riad Al Badia wholeheartedly whenever we can. And when we come back to Marrakech this will be our first choice. Thank you again Samira, Amal, Hanane, Ahmed, Adil, Ahmed & Laurent for making my introduction to Morocco such a joy – and reminding my wife why she loved your country so much when she was here 12 years ago. If you are trying to decide which riad to book, don't hesitate, just choose Al Badia. You will be treated like royalty.

Room Tip: We spent most of our stay in one of the (slightly) smaller rooms on the roof terrace, before experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Jan, dear Al,
Thank you so much for your very touching message. We all would like to thank you for giving so much kindness and attention during your stay, it was a real pleasure having you at Riad Al Badia every day smiling, asking questions about our culture, being so interested. in Marrakech. We kkep a very charming souvenir of both of you and we hope to see you again. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#26 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss | Berrima, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Badia is located in the southern part of the Medina, in the district of Berrima, the district of the storks and the palaces. Riad Al Badia offers six rooms of three different categories, a lounge, a dining room, a patio with refreshing bassin -swimming pool and two terraces. Riad Al Badia offers a Moroccan experience through its hospitality, the opportunity to discover our oriental culture, our traditional and fresh home-made Moroccan cuisine at «La Table Al Badia» but also the traditional Moroccan materials, such as bejmat, zellij or tadelakt used in the decoration of Riad Al Badia and finally, we do provide a daily assistance to let you apprehend Marrakech and Southern of Morocco. Staying at Riad Al Badia is to discover and to experience the genuine Morocco where the "Tailor-Made" service is our daily philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing