We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem of calm and beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem of calm and beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

A highly recommended hotel for those seeking a quiet, quaint and friendly place to stay within the historic Medina:

This boutique luxury hotel is in the heart of a quaint but vibrant neighbourhood within the historic center of Medina. Upon entering the hotel, we were greeted by incredibly courteous, friendly, helpful, and kind staff. The service was unparalleled from the moment we entered the hotel - Fet, the gentleman helping us upon arrival, spent a good 15 minutes explaining all the different sites to see, then even made the effort to walk us out of the hotel down to the local square for a bite to eat and to show us our way. He gave us great tips, booked all the necessary things we wanted to do, and was calm and courteous in all his interactions - a nice contrast to the mayhem and madness of Marrakesh! Furthermore, breakfast was absolutely phenomenal - lots of little Moroccan breads, jams, tasty orange juice, and Moroccan tea - all home made and delicious. The icing on the cake is that the hotel has an amazing rooftop space where you get to eat breakfast in the morning sun, or where you can come to relax and take in sun later in the day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
193
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

This was our 4th visit to Marrakech and the Riad Al Badia is the best place we have stayed in while visiting this vibrant city. We would love to return to Riad Al Badia one day.

As everyone else has said this is a really nice riad (traditional house) with six great modernised guest rooms. They have a very comfortable lounge area with a small decorative pool with settees round where you can relax and chill out if the weather is not good enough to enjoy the sun on the roof terrace.

What really makes the riad stand out is the staff - Samira (the cook), Amal, Hanane, Adil (housekeeping), Bouchra (night manager), Fath-Allah (Riad Manager) & Laurent. They are all extremely helpful, friendly and always smiling. The service the provide guests is excellent and they provided a few special treats, including some lovely home made almond cake, to my partner on her birthday as well as decorating our bed in rose petals.

The breakfasts include freshly squeezed orange juice, crepes, pastries, home made jams, yogurt. What more could you want to start the day. Also the staff went out of their way to make sure breakfast was available for those who didn’t rise until late mid morning.

The riad is about 10-12 minutes walk from Jamaa el Fna Square, just behind the Royal Palace on Rue Berrima and about 5 minutes walk from Place des Ferblantiers.

As the riad is a traditional Moroccan house there are some things to bear in mind. You are close to Berrima Mosque so you will hear the call to prayer early in the morning plus the neighbourhood cockerel starts crowing quite early.

The very busy road from Place des Ferblantiers back to the riad does not have pavements so you have to be slightly careful. There have also been some recent instances of bag snatching in Marrakech so you do need to be aware and don’t have personal items on display which could easily be snatched.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Where to start?!

We asked Laurent to arrange airport transfers for us, to save the stress of getting last after a long flight. Although our flight was delayed and it took an age to clear passport control, our driver was waiting for us and met us with a smile, drove us to the Riad and carried our bags to the Riad for us.

As we entered, we were met by Fatallah and Bouchra, who arranged some mint tea for us and took our bags up to our room while we relaxed. We were welcomed into the Riad as residents, and told to make the place our home during our stay.

After a quick freshen up, Bouchra served up the most incredible meal we've tasted in ages.
Every meal in the Riad was a dream, and we couldn't get enough of Bouchra's cooking, but forced ourselves to dine elsewhere to experience the rest of the city. Breakfasts were served at whatever time we wanted and were equally delicious.

Aside from the food, the Riad itself is located very close to the Metal Worker's market and the Berrima Mosque, but is an oasis of luxury and calm in the midst of the hustle and bustle.
Fatallah proved to be a great source of information on where to eat, what to see, where to go for Hammam treatments, and was a great help in arranging reservations for us.

At the end of a long day of walking and sight-seeing, it was a joy to come home to Bouchra's smiling face and warm welcome with mint tea, and then to discover the flowers on our bed, or our laundry neatly folded and left in the room for us and our bed neatly turned down for the night.

We can't thank Laurent and his team enough for their hospitality and for being our home in Marrakech during our visit, and we can't recommend them enough to you.

If we do return to Marrakech, we would certainly book with them again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The service and the hospitality in this Riad are second to none. The attention to detail is all you can wish for. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They even filled in our departure cards for the airport. The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. Breakfast on the roof terrace was a real treat. All in all we are very glad to have found this Riad on the internet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Dear Maria, Thank you so much for such a lovely message. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Al Badia. The all team was delighted to have been able to receive you at the Riad. We keep a lovely souvenir of your stay, this was a great pleasure for the all team/ Take care of both of you and we hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We only stayed for four nights but from the fist moment we arrived we were welcomed like old friends by Laurent and his staff. The Riad itself is a beautiful, calm moment located in the south of the Medina, close to the Royal Palace. Everyone at the Riad went ouf of there way to make sure we felt comfortable in the Riad and made us confidant about exploring the often confusing alyout of Marrakech! Laurent kindly showed us around town on our first day, and was always there to give advice regarding trips, local restaurants and anything requiring local knowledge. We would absolutely recommend the Riad to anyone looking for a calm place to relax with wonderful service in a fantastic setting and location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Niok, Thank you so much for such a touching comment. We are so pleased you enjoyed yoru stay at Riad Al Badia. Thank you for your enthousiasm, your interest in our culture and our city, thank you for you. We keep a shining souvenir of your stay at the riad, you are home at the riad and we hope we will see you again soon. Take care the both of you and once again thank you so much. Samira, Amal, Hanane, Mehdi & Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed in the Riad Al Badia for 5 lovely days. The Riad offered us the opportunity to live close to the Moroccan people but with a 5*- very personal service from Laurent and his friendly staff. The location is close to the many beautiful places Marrakech has to offer but still in a quiet area.

We really enjoyed our stay: the excellent information from Laurent on our first day about the city, the sunny breakfast on the terraces, the home-made yogurt and juices, the beautiful decoration of the Riad and the room, Samira's lovely dinner, the transfer between the airport and the Riad, …. It was perfect in any detail!

When we come back for another visit of Marrakech surely we will return to this Riad. In the meantime, we will recommend the Riad to all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Sabine, dear Luc, Thank you so much for such a lovely message. We waited a long time to meet with you, and we have been extremely delighted to receive you at Riad Al Badia. Thank you for your kindness and happyness, for your interest in Marrakech and in our culture. We keep such a warm souvenir. You are home at Riad Al Badia, anytime you will always be welcome. All the best for you and your all family. Samira, Amal, Hanane, Mehdi & Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosheston, South Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

From the moment we arrived until the very last moment the service and kind hospitality of the Riad and its most fantastic team of staff was absolutely excellent. We have travelled to some very elite establishments and would rate this Riad as one of the best finds. Our room and facilities were first class. We chose to eat in the Riad one night which was beautiful and lovely meal on the terrace. Samira you are amazing as are all the staff we encountered whilst staying there. A big thank you to Laurent for making sure that our short stay was one that will stay as a cherished memory for a while until we visit next time - which we most certainly will.

Room Tip: We loved our twin room allocated on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Lesley, dear Shan. You left an empty space at departure. You entered in our hearts and will remain this is sure. The all team did not stop telling me how lovely persons you are during your short stay. This is an other so memorable story that will remain in our memories. It was easy for Samira to cook dinner for you, she put all her heart in cooking your dinner as much as you gave us all. We all would like to thank you so much for your kindness, your happyness, your interest in our culture. You are both a delight. We would be extremely proud, honored and happy to see you again soon. Riad Al Badia is your home, friends and relatives are welcomed ! We all kiss you Lesley and Shan and take care. Mint tea is ready whenever you need to vary a bit from Earl Grey ! Lots of love from the all team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Badia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.